Read This Before Applying For Your Vietnam Visa!

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

If you're planning on traveling to Vietnam, read this before you apply for the visa!

Hopefully it can help you so you're more aware of what you're actually getting into.

Don't let the visa fees fool you. Plan on spending double what you think you're going to pay.

The process is kind of confusing, because there are so many websites that you can get a visa from. Some of them are official, some of them are not.

This one is legit. I know because a friend used it and everything worked out ok:

https://vietnamvisa.govt.vn/apply-online/

There is one more form you will need to fill out at the airport. Just ask for it at the visa counter, you'll see other people filling it out. The process was super painless and easy.

@for91days says you can also get an e-visa here: https://evisa.xuatnhapcanh.gov.vn

So, you pay $25 for a single entry visa for 3 months and $50 for multiple entries. If you plan on staying in Vietnam the whole 3 months, just got for the single.

That's what I'm doing because there's so much to see in Vietnam that even 3 months probably isn't enough.

I applied online and paid.

Then I got an e-mail saying I need all of these things... so, here ya go.

🌴 Vietnam Visa Checklist 🌴

"This approval letter is valid to obtain your visa stamp at Vietnam airports only."

  1. Original passport (valid at least 6 months beyond the date of arrival);
  2. One completely written form NA1 to save your time at Vietnam airport - downloaded at: https://vietnamvisa.govt.vn/form-on-arrival.pdf
  3. 02 passport sized photos - (4cmx6cm)
  4. Official Visa Approval Letter (all pages printed in color or black&white)
  5. Visa stamping fee: $25.00 USD for Single entry & $50.00 USD for multiple entry/ cash only in USD according to letter. But, you can also pay VND in cash if you have it.

So, I have to go run around Bali finding a place to take passport photos, somewhere to print a letter and then also find USD because I've been in Asia for 4 months and don't have any.

So, just prepare for that before you leave if you can. Because in the US it's definitely more convenient because you can bring extra USD with you, without getting charged extra at the atm for using a currency other than the local currency of where you're at.

Also, you can obviously get passport photos and printer all in the same place. Bonus for getting photos here instead of the US, though: it's way cheaper.

Actually, that reminds me...I brought 2 photos from the US with me...haha, of course, I lost them and forgot all about it. Just remembered while typing this. They cost $15 USD which is way too much I think. Here I think you can get it for a dollar.

Really Imporant Thing To Note

I've never seen anything as whack as this...

... but in the e-mail they sent me, the approval letter actually has a list of 7 people total who are approved to go to Vietnam for the same dates as me.

Now, I'm not traveling with 7 other people....so...I had to do a double take to make sure I was seeing it right.

Yup. I was right.

They freaking put my personal info IN the email that they ALSO sent out to 6 other people!!! My name exactly as it is on my passport, and the worst part....my passport number. 😮 😱

I'm not sure if you can AVOID that by going through a different website, but if you happen to know...please drop some info bombs in the comments because I think it could really help someone else who's super freaked out about having their passport info handed out like Halloween candy. 🎃

So, with all of that knowledge in mind, just make the best decision that works for you!

I'm excited to go to Vietnam soon and hopefully meet some people from Steemit since there is a big Vietnamese community there! Also can't wait to see Halong Bay and stuff!!

Love, @nomadicsoul

Sort:  

Welcome to Vietnam. Hahaa. And the last one which made you confused. Yea. That’s right. Vietnamese Immigration always put every one who needs to entry at the same time on the same list. It is quite weird but totally fine. No worry

Ok good! As long as no one tries to steal my identity haha

Vietnam now also has an e-Visa so you don't have to go through the process of an agency.

That's amazing! Thanks for sharing! Do you mind sharing how to do the e-visa?

We went last year we still had to go through an agent, visa on arrival -apparently this is the official site https://evisa.xuatnhapcanh.gov.vn

They did the same with me. The email had my personal info, plus the info of a bunch of other people. Not very cool, but probably not a big deal.

For photos, you can use a regular print from a home printer on normal paper. Just make sure the photos are the right size.

wow thanks! cool tip!!!! I appreciate it!

I've been looking at all requirements for each asian countries as we are planning long travels as well. I'll bookmark this article to check I've got the same website.
The name & passport number showing is just a weird "privacy" issue but not entirely surprising :/

yeah just a weird "please don't hack me but you're probably good people and most likely won't" issue lol. The process was smooth and painless at the airport!

Sounds good then- and with all other travelers reporting it's "normal" I guess sometimes you just have to go with the flow

Yes! You really have to learn to go with the flow if you travel

Vietnam is an incredible place you'll love it !!

thanks! I wanna know some of your favorite things! Have you been to Hanoi?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42