A Muggy Beginning & Lost ATM Card

in #travelfeed5 years ago

[Image adapted from @brazentravelthoughts]

It was midnight when my plane landed. I had just endured my first long haul flight to the other side of the world. 18 hours and precisely 8,350 miles later (13,440km), I found myself in muggy Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam and I was determined to make it through my first obstacle in one piece – getting to the hotel.

I had played over this moment over and over in my mind. I had absolutely no experience traveling in a foreign country alone. Would I get into the wrong taxi? Would I get ripped off by my driver? Would I get my bags stolen along the way?

The air was thick and had a distinct smell of gas, sweat, and endless possibilities. There was incessant honking filling my ears and chatter all around me. I was shocked at the level of activity, considering how late it was.

I stopped at the ATM to grab my first withdrawal and took out enough cash to last me at least two weeks. Being acutely aware of my surroundings, ensuring no one would jump me right after, I was on my way after the money dispensed.

I successfully checked into my hotel, a little pod bed I was excited to stay in cause it was "so Asian" and excitedly drifted off to sleep. The next morning I slowly woke up and started planning out my day. I sifted through my Dong, allocating enough for the day, when I realized my debit card was missing.

Heat creeped into my throat and my head got dizzy. Where could it be?! I checked every nook and cranny of my pod, every crevice of my backpacks. I checked my pockets and my jackets to no avail. I was crushed. How could I make such a massive mistake on DAY ONE?!

As a novice traveller, this felt like the ultimate mistake. I had tried so hard to make it from the plane to the hotel without any mishap, that I failed to realize that ATM's worked backwards from the United States. Cash first, then card.

After several minutes of self-pity, I utilized my greatest travel tool – Google. I typed in "How do I get a new Schwab card while abroad?" into the search engine and several blogs popped up with fruitful advice. Luckily for me, I had been smart in my pre-trip planning by choosing Schwab, arguably the best travel debit card one can use, and found an international number on their website. I used the front desk phone to dial and was met with a human on the other line who swiftly set me up with a new card.

Relief swept over my young baby traveler heart. I was secure and planned out until I could get my card back. Knowing this, I showered up and brazenly stepped out into the 90º day ready to take on the world. I spent the next three days checking out museums, eating Pho, and acclimating to the new climate. I learned how to say Hello, Goodbye, and Thank you in Vietnamese and met up with a college friend. Thankfully, that was one of two times I've lost my card... but I'll save that story for another time.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mforster34
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-muggy-beginning-and-lost-atm-card


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 139 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @mforster34! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38