The Standing Stones Groups in North-Eastern Bulgaria

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Pobiti_kamani_ph008_s.jpg

It was hard to find a translation of the Bulgarian name for this place. Побити камъни in Cyrillic, it means 'stone that were battered into place' by some force. I also read 'The Stone Forest' on the map but I was not happy with it. Although it does look like one, doesn't it?

Ask Groot!

I_am_Groot_s.jpg

I am Groot.

See?

The area is not far from the Shumen - Varna highway, much closer to Varna. And you have to get off the highway and on a much smaller road near the village of Slunchevo. Then go south for a few kilometers.

I started from Shumen that morning, though, before sunrise. I was already sick (not sleeping for a night, in winter, and then travelling seven hours by train does that to me from time to time... as you will also see in one of my next stories) and with a bad cough and soar throat so I went through my photography plan with less excitement than usual. Saving both physical and mental energy, yet still moving. It was the first and so far only time that I visited the place, so I had to do the best I could.

That land has been part of the bottom of the sea during some old geological age. And it shows. Terrain tells stories. Nearby hills are shaped as if by water although now they are at least twenty kilometers inland. It was most likely water that shaped Groot and his neighbors as well.

It was wind that shaped me. I had a ride by car from the town of Shumen to the spot and then again from there to the major port of Varna. I was about to continue by train through the mountain and to my home town of Karnobat for a short visit to my family. Before the train, though, I had time enough to go for a walk and I decided to get by the harbor and go see a lighthouse or something.

I had fever during the voyage by the train and I thought it was the longest journey I had ever made. Which felt true until next day when I had to catch another train back to Sofia. With even worse fever and cough.

What was I writing about? Oh, yeah, I remember I saw some standing stones, too...

Pobiti_kamani_ph010_s.jpg

Pobiti_kamani_ph001_s.jpg

Pobiti_kamani_ph003_s.jpg

Pobiti_kamani_ph010a_s.jpg

Pobiti_kamani_ph004_s.jpg

Pobiti_kamani_ph005_s.jpg

Pobiti_kamani_ph006_s.jpg

Pobiti_kamani_ph009_s.jpg

Pobiti_kamani_ph009a_s.jpg

... And a lighthouse.

Vn_LghtHs_V_s.jpg

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Congratulations @manoldonchev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

very nice photos...

Have you been there yourself???

Posted using Partiko Android

Asking me? Sure, I made the photos and told the story about being there ;)

Wow they are beautiful, and the photos.are gorgeous. Hope you.are feeling better now!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, thank you. I am somewhat sorry that I did not pay enough attention then. Because I am sure I could have explored a little more. Maybe I will visit again next year or ... something like that.

Very impressive place. Did you ever found more info about the place? What were the stones build there for? Any rumors or local folklore?

Formed naturally - by weather or long ago while on the seafloor - those are the major hypotheses.

Well the eternal question.. whether it is natural or man-made - this has a man made feel for me..

Dear @manoldonchev,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

That one rock looks like a fist!

I have been recently only to Sofia ....Bulgaria definitely has much more to offer as you show in your post!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86