Prague Adventure of a September Years AgosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Prague_OTSq_New_n1_s.jpg

I used to hate flying with airplanes.

The chance to travel to Prague came as a surprise. I had just returned to Sofia from a trip to the Black Sea and there I found and e-mail waiting for me. It said I had just won a photo contest and I could choose my prize that would be photo equipment no more than a certain cost but I also would have to fly to Prague and receive it there at a ceremony in the Czernin Palace. The contest organizers would pay for my flights, for my stay for two nights and also give me spending money.

And I was young and stupid enough to hesitate. Really. At first I thought I would rather receive my prize by mail or something. Because I thought I hated flying for the waste of fuel that it was. Still is. And because I had never tried it.

I was that kind of a person. I accepted new things with great difficulty. Only recently did I learn to overcome barriers and what's more - to seek and destroy barriers.

Back to the trip - I still knew I wouldn't decline it. I was not that stupid. A trip to Prague would be a tremendous experience and at the same time an opportunity to make some interesting photos. Even though I knew next to nothing about the city. I had heard it attracted tourists from all over the world but so did any place interesting enough.

I had not expected the scale. Neither had I expected to love the feeling when the plane first got off the ground and I saw the world from a different point of view. Live was much better than in movies, of course.

So... Scale...

Tower_upon_Tower_s.jpg

Prague_Palace_Nightshot_s.jpg

Prague_View_From_the_Bridge_01_s_BW.jpg

I realized they weren't joking when they said that Gothic architecture dwarfed people.

My hosts had planned my flights in such a way that I would be able to see as much of the city as possible in my spare time. I had almost three full days. I walked outside all the time except for about an hour or so when I had to wait for the ceremony at the palace now functioning as a base of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic.

exh_02_s.jpg

My award winning photo - to the right - in the inner courtyard.

Twice I tried to get up early enough for a beautiful sunrise photography and on the second morning I was lucky and prepared after failing the first time. I have shared the best results of that enterprise on my blog already but I just have to show them here again:

Prague_Sunrise_II_m.jpg

Prague01.jpg

And during the rest of the time... I tortured my feet, never stopping, crossing streets again and again, ranging the park near my Questenberk hotel, looking for topics to explore.

I had no tripod, I was doing all shots hand held. I had no plan, I just roamed. I returned to some places more than once. I did not have the time to return to others. I saw crowds and crowds of tourists from all around the world. Those were busy September days. Warm and sunny. Warm nights.

There was so much you could pay attention to... I could not reach a point with a good angle towards the bridges. But I found so much anyway.

Sculptures,

Prague_al01_ph028_s.jpg

Prague_al01_ph024_s.jpg

prd_06_s.jpg

streets,

prp_07_s.jpg

Tourists_s.jpg

prp_18_s.jpg

PRague_Streets_New_01__s.jpg

stairs,

Leaving Early s.jpg

museums,

MMA_BW_s.jpg

... And that is far from all but that is all for now.

Of course I have more photos to prepare but what is more important... I have more photos to take. I should go there again. No hesitation at all.

Take care and until next time!

Manol

Sort:  

Dear @manoldonchev,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thank you, @archisteem,

I would be honored to join. Since my material is done I would like to receive and explanation as to how I may still be part of your project.

Waiting for further details.

Yours,

Manol

Thanks @manoldonchev, we appreciate that a lot!
For this post, you just need to add #archisteem as one of your tags. This applies to your future posts too which are related to our project.

We look forward to read more stories from you! Steem on.

Thank you. When I received your reply I was frozen due to low RC before the patch but now everything works quite fine. I edited one of my tags to what you suggested and I hope that helps.

Awesome, we saw that and appreciate that very much.
Hope to read more of your stories. Steem on!

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, community, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.

If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Shares - Curation Service

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Wonderful sunrise captures! And yes, Prag is definitely worth entering an airplane for.. 😉

Congratulations @manoldonchev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

It would be very stupid to hesitate if the invite was legitimate!! Hopefully you are older and wiser now 😉

Now... perhaps. Well, the hesitation was the result of the feeling that I had to cross a border - not only literally. I had to go out of my comfort zone, of what I had planned, of what I knew. It felt as if I was invited to take a big leap. Perhaps I was a bit intimidated by success if that makes sense.

Sure, I do feel different now.

Success deserves to be celebrated and it seems yours was.

Sometimes we just need that push to get out of our comfort zone.

Yup. Thank you for your words. I receive such pushes gladly.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #331. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47