You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel: 🇨🇦 Van-life is Wicked 🇨🇦

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Have fun on your trip!! These are all beautiful places. Lake Minewanka is
very beautiful but I agree so many different lakes it's hard to pick a favorite. 10 years of traveling there and I am still in awe of the places I find. Feel free to check out my older blog posts for suggestions all over the area. Kananaskis and Peter Lougheed provincial park, Spray provincial park, they have great scenery and hikes of all kind both near Canmore. The long way , via the three sisters parkway in Canmore is a nice drive(rough road tho and no cell reception or internet)), it is very natural but there isn't much for infrastructure, it's more of a local heaven but just as beautiful. Still in the Banff area, Johnston Canyon and hiking a little further to the inkpots, the drive to Lake Louise and Moraine Lake(both on the same mountain at different Elevation) via the Bow Valley Parkway, including a stop near Castle mountain, I believe there might be a trail to climb it as well.

Sort:  

Thank you for this! This is exactly why I prefer to listen to the locals. I love to take photos, so I make sure I go to Moraine Lake. Lake Louise is something my gf wants to see, but people tell my it is really touristy. Anyway, thanks and I hope you like my future posts as much as I like yours. I make sure I'll read them all eventually.

Posted using Partiko Android

Moraine lake is also very touristy, they are 10-11 km apart on the same mountain and it is possible to visit both in the same day. I believe the town of Lake Louise also has a gondola by the ski hills. May I suggest to look into getting a shuttle from the overflow parking lot to visit both lakes , the parking lot for both get extremely full very fast. You may get lucky if you get a head start and go in the morning before the afternoon, rush (1 pm -6pm) are the busiest times for all the touristy spots but to view the lakes in their best and most colorful state, it's best to go in peak sun to get the refraction from the minerals at the bottom (what gives it it's blue/green color). I highly recommend both, they are the most beautiful lakes in the Rockies. I'm sure I will enjoy reading your blog!

Thanks again!
I'm writing a post as we speak! I hope I have it ready on Tuesday!
Your recommendations have been helpfull already.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63