You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tripreport 6 - Ko Lan (เกาะล้าน) , Thailand

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Fantastic post, bro! I love the photos you get of people. It's really different than how I shoot and it's something I want to get better at. How do you approach it? Do you just talk to them and ask them if you can take their photo? What are there reactions? Like the bus driver. Did he wonder why you were taking it? These are all the questions I ask myself and then usually decide to just stick with buildings and landscapes hahaha

I love your fine art photo (the one with color). It's a great composition and the three shades of blue look so good together. It's such a simple photo but I think it's SO good. My favorite from the post for sure.

It looks like a fun island! I'd love to visit. I've never been to Thailand but one of my friends live there for many years. I have other friends there too.

Thanks so much for sharing! I loved following along on your journey. Cheers!

Sort:  

Hey Buddy! Thanks a ton for your nice comment! Well when I started to take pictures of People (especially in Thailand) I felt quite shy at the beginning, but now im totally comfortable with it. In 99% of the cases I do not ask. But I'm quick, I do not hold the camera in someones face for long. Body language Plays a big part in that Kind of photography I think- So I just smile, click - and I'm gone :D .. I also asked Thai People about it and they sayed thats ok, you don't Need to ask. Just do it with respect and don't be rude. Never anyone complained since then!
Hope you have a great day! Cheers !

Body language is a great point. I think my awkwardness can sometimes give off a creepy feeling lol and that's never a good thing. I've occasionally asked permission and the person is always receptive. On the other hand I've had times where I wasn't even trying to take a picture of someone and a group of people tried to stop me so I guess it just depends on the situation.

Well thanks again for the info! It's something I'm totally working on because I'd love to get more humans in my shots. I used to do portrait photography and had some fun with it. I like that street feel though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83