Hello French Riviera, good to see you!

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Can you see my boat? No, not that one, the one towards the back next to the one white one. See the 9th mast from the left? Go across 3 masts from there and that's it...My sail boat. She's a beauty!

I took this image in Nice, France. The Cote d'Azur they call it and it lived up to its name. I intended to get a great picture of my boat but there were so many others in the way...

OK, so it's not my boat at all but you probably worked that out already I suppose. I did take this picture though and it was in Nice, which is one of my favourite places!
We'd been a fairly long walk from our hotel on Promenade des Anglais and ended up at the park called Colline du Cháteau which offers awesome views back over the city and over the hill to the Nice port on the other side which is where I took this photo. Once around the port we stopped at a lovely seafood restaurant called Le Pass'port. It was a really nice day, around 22 degrees and we enjoyed the walk. 👫💜

We spent a week in Nice and explored Monaco above and Antibes and Cannes down below, all equally amazing. One of the best places we visited was Eze, a small commune not far from Nice which remains largly unchanged from it's original appearance. We also visited the Fragonard perfumery in Grasse and yes, we did some shopping there. In fact, I still wear their fragrances to this day. It's rare that I come across someone with the same ones which is cool I think. I get a lot of comments and whilst they can be bought online it's difficult to know what to buy without smelling them first. I feel sort of exclusive when I wear them...Which is every day. The image below was taken inside the Fragonard museum. 😎

Euro 2011_1339.jpg

This is an image looking back over the main beach and Promenade des Anglais from the park called Colline du Cháteau. There's some Roman ruins up there and a pretty cool waterfall. It was nice and cool being quite shaded in places too. A lovely spot to revive with a cool drink and ice cream after the long walk up.

We found this market just in time for some snacks...We'd been walking for about an hour or so and some sustenance in the form of cold cuts, cheese, olives and crusty bread was a life saver! The girl is looking at flowers but I pushed her on towards the food section before long... 😜

This image of the lovely waters of the French Riviera was taken at the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild located outside of Nice in Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat. if you are in the region take the time to visit, trust me.

Here's another showing the villa itself.

I may not have a sail boat, that was just a dream I guess, but what I do have is some amazing memories to take home from the French Riviera. It treated us well, made us feel welcome and is somewhere we would certainly return to in the future. For those in Europe it's probably quite easy to get to being a lot closer. For us down here in Australia it's more difficult and costly however it well-worth the effort. We cannot wait to return! Besides, I gotta find my boat!

Sort:  

Dear @galenkp,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

I've never been there, but it sounds amazing. Hope to get to it someday :D Your wife is really pretty ;)
Also, I love male perfume, I always have, it's like an obsession. There's something very safe about it. :D

You'll get there HD, someday. It's a beautiful place. Happy, or it was when I was there. I think my Australianess rubbed off on the locals.

Your wife is really pretty

Haha, she is huh? Don't know what she's doing with a bum like me. I always wondered...

Also, I love male perfume, I always have, it's like an obsession. There's something very safe about it.

I think they call it cologne for men but I know what you meant. :) So, explain what you mean by safe please. Curious.

Hmm I don't really know what I mean. I imagine my father wore cologne when I was younger so maybe I associate it with that, I have no idea. I just love the smell of it, I suppose. Always have..it somehow makes me feel okay, you know, grounded.

I get it...A great perfume drifting on the wind from a passerby will make me turn my head...I have a few favourites that women wear. ;)

The olfactory sense is such a powerful trigger I guess...

The view off the Starboard side of my boat. She's a real beauty.

Looks good Matt, I don't earn enough to have one so have to pretend. Still, I have a good imagination...

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.271 which ranks you at #2652 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2653).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 310 contributions, your post is ranked at #41.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 52.13% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63