The ultimate Athenian walk!

in #travelfeed5 years ago

I have lived most of my life in Athens, the chaotic but in many ways beautiful, capital of Greece. It was only five years ago when I denied the urban lifestyle and made a fresh start on the island of Crete. Since then, I am visiting Athens once every year, usually around Christmas, and I stay for about a month. During this period of time I have established a personal "tradition" to visit the ultimate Athenian landmark on the first Sunday of the new year. And this year's visit is the theme of this post!

_MG_1955.jpg

During all those years that I was living there, I had visited the Acropolis of Athens only two or three times but now that I am away I have a more "touristic" attitude regarding my birth town! The funny thing is that the last years of my stay in the city, I was living only 1 km away, I was looking the Parthenon every single day while I was walking the dog and yet, I never bothered to make a few more steps and actually go there! I guess it was so close and so easy that I was thinking that I'll do it the next day or the day after, but I never did! The good think is that I can still use the same house as a residence during my visits, so I get the chance to make up for all the lost opportunities right from the same spot! So with no further delay let's start our walk!

_MG_1907.jpg

The beginning is at Philopappos hill which is a few meters away from my place and a definite must do, if you ever visit Athens. The whole area around Acropolis including the hill was part of a big landscaping project executed by one of the greatest Greek architectures (Dimitris Pikionis) during the fifties. Unfortunately nowadays it is left to decay but even like that when you walk there you can see the genius of a visionary man! He made brilliant constructions integrating the ancient remains, he was working on site without plan and used skilled workers who shaped the surfaces of the paved walks by hand, with very simple tools. On top of that he respected the local vegetation of shrubs and olive trees and enriched it with plants that the ancient Greeks used to have in the area (pomegranate, laurel, myrtle etc). Again the picture that you'll see today is miles away from the Athenian "garden of Eden" that Pikionis envisioned but the view and the vibe of the place will make it up for you!

_MG_1901.jpg

_MG_1844.jpg

_MG_1892.jpg

_MG_1906.jpg

_MG_1903.jpg

_MG_1863.jpg

After a nice stop on the top of Philopappos hill (picture above) enjoying the view, I took the walk to my final stop. During the winter, on the first Sunday of each month there is a free entrance to all the archeological sites, the monuments and the museums of the country and it is usually the natives that take advantage of this offer but keep that information in mind if you ever come here off-season, you are most welcome to join the party! So it was on a Sunday like that when I climbed the steep stairs to the ancient citadel that is commonly known as the Acropolis!

_MG_1922.jpg

_MG_2059.jpg

_MG_1921.jpg

_MG_1918.jpg

The whole place has an amazing energy and the realization that I was walking among constructions that were built 25 centuries ago was breathtaking. But it was in front of the Parthenon that I was absolutely mesmerized. The former temple of Athena, the favorite goddess of the Athenians, was built between 447-438 BC and it is the most important building of Classical Greece that still stands! The history around these columns is huge but the way the sunlight caresses them is magical! I spent almost three hours in front of them and I just couldn't go away. It was the first time that I was there to take pictures and the way the winter sun was moving around this columns was a feast for my eyes. I don't know if I managed to capture with my photos,the feeling of those hours, but I am sure that I am not going to forget it!

_MG_1999.jpg

_MG_1966.jpg

_MG_1977.jpg

_MG_2004.jpg

_MG_2023.jpg

_MG_1972.jpg

_MG_1974.jpg

_MG_1975.jpg

_MG_2020.jpg

And the view is great, too :)

_MG_1938.jpg

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and resteeming are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

I have always wanted to visit Acropolis. I haven't been such a fan of visiting Athens as a city but I would love to walk in this historical place. Greek history has always been fascinating to me. I love your photos! It's such an amazing place and I'm sure that I will visit it one day. It's not far away but I have somehow preferred other destinations until now.

I know what you mean when you say that you didn't pay attention to what you had around you. I was living in Prague for 6 years and I also somehow didn't look into historical sites and didn't take my time to learn about them. Once I left I realized that I should have done it. Luckily I do travel there very often so I have caught up on what I wanted to see but now I do it differently. I enjoy Switzerland as much as possible so that I will not regret not seeing anything once I leave :)

Thank you for sharing and have a great Thursday!

Yes, it is common to ignore what we have in front of our eyes! I am glad you took your lesson, I am trying too :)
You should give a chance in Athens, it doesn't have the beauty of Prague or the tidiness of Switzerland but I am sure you'll find things to enjoy and yes Acropolis is definitely one of them!
Thanks for stopping by!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for your support!

Wow what great pictures love that winter sun and blue sky! It brought me back to when I was there walking those same places and seeing these things. Great post.

Thank you Sara! Yes, that winter sun was amazing, I am glad you like it :)

Such an amazing historic place, and you are right to visit it when you can! Definitely impressive :-)

Amazing, indeed! Thank you for stopping by :)

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @smeralda and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thanks a lot for your support :)

Woow! How beautiful photos! I'm delighted!
I was there one time, but long time ago, about seven years and I see that nothing has changed, everything is beautiful as before.
The Parthenon is my favorite place there, so you got me with this photos.
Thanks for sharing. I hope you will be rewarded for this nice post. Just keep with it, wish you all luck. :)

Thank you @nesni996, I am glad you like it!
The Parthenon is an all time classic, indeed :)

I like the first shot the best, excellent composition and lighting. Dynamic!

Yes, I think it is the best!
Thank you for stopping by :)

Hey here @lizanomadsoul swinging by.
Wow, you are making great travel posts. It would be nice to see one of those linked to our map one day so we can feature them and upvote your post :)

Go to Steemitworldmap
Click the code slider at the bottom
Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
Copy and paste the generated code in your post
Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @lizanomadsoul, thank you for your nice words, I am really glad you like my posts :)
Steemitworldmap looks like a great idea and potentially a very useful tool that could have a very fruitful commercial use! I can't find though anything written about the goals and the intentions of the people behind this great idea. Could you enlighten me on that?
Thank you for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63