My trip to Portugal. Part 3: On the road!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travelfeed5 years ago

For the third part of the trip we rented a car and drove a few hundreds kilometers around south Portugal. If you have missed the rest of the story you can check out Part 1: Lisbon and Part 2: Evora

_MG_0295.jpg

We started from Evora on a rainy Saturday morning heading northeast. We avoided the highway in order to take a good look to the countryside but the rain confided us in the car and my attempt to take pictures through the window was a total disaster :)
Nevertheless I managed to take a couple of shots decent enough to present them here!

_MG_0294.jpg

_MG_0434.jpg

The first think I noticed was cows, a lot of them but it was the cork oaks that really fascinated me. Apparently Portugal is producing large quantities of cork, it is kind of a national product but I had never seen the tree from which cork actually comes from! It looks like a regular oak tree but when it is time to harvest it they remove the bark leaving the trunk "naked" and red! They even put a number on the tree so that they'll know when it should be harvested again (I think every 9 years). I don't know about you but I found it very interesting, I even took a couple of seeds to plant them on Crete!

_MG_0336.jpg

A couple of hours later we arrived at the small town of Marvão which is known for the well-preserved medieval castle and for the amazing view over the whole region, since it is built on the top of a steep hill. Two surprises where expecting us there! The first and unpleasant one was the fog that covered the place and the rain that started shortly after we had arrived (it had stopped earlier). No amazing view for us!

_MG_0409.jpg

_MG_0397.jpg

_MG_0358.jpg

_MG_0343.jpg

_MG_0389.jpg

Of course this wasn't enough to stop us from going all the way up to the castle and to wonder around the town. It was during this wondering around when run into the second and much more pleasant surprise! That was no other than the annual Chestnut Festival and Fair of Marvão, a big celebration with a lot of chestnuts and plenty of wine. Lucky us!

_MG_0346.jpg

_MG_0372.jpg

Wet from the rain, dizzy from the wine and completely satisfied from an absolutely memorable day, we took our way back. Many thanks to our sober driver who took us safely home, through the dark and rainy roads :)

The next morning the weather was much better and we decided to drive south. About an hour later we arrived to Beja. I hadn't heard of it before but we all felt like stretching our legs and a random googling about it showed that it should be interesting. And interesting it was!

_MG_0458.jpg

_MG_0452.jpg

_MG_0446.jpg

_MG_0472.jpg

_MG_0454.jpg

As it was Sunday morning we didn't ran into many people but either way, the walk around the medieval roads was absolutely charming and I got the feeling of a very intimate and pleasant vibe! Maybe it was because of this friendly doggie who come to greet us!

_MG_0464.jpg

_MG_0468.jpg

_MG_0486.jpg

After this short stop we continued our way south-east through the "Parque Natural do Vale do Guadiana" on a route almost parallel to the borders with Spain and 3 hours later we reached Faro. It was a wonderful ride through the mountainous scenery but for one more time I found out that taking pictures through the window of a moving car is much more difficult than it seems!

_MG_0519.jpg

Faro is the southernmost city of Portugal and one of long history! I found the historical center completely fascinating although the city outside the medieval walls was rather disappointing!

_MG_0542.jpg

_MG_0504.jpg

_MG_0516.jpg

_MG_0543.jpg

_MG_0518.jpg

_MG_0575.jpg

_MG_0565.jpg

The sunset was the chance for the last nice shots of the day! After that it was the quest for food and the return to our base at Evora. One more day that filled us with images and memories came to an end!

_MG_0572.jpg

20181111_MG_0539.jpg

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and resteeming are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Everytime I see Portugal in pictures, I feel like visiting this place. It has always fascinated me since long.

Blue houses, architecture, sea, people in celebration and almost everything kind of attracts me, though don't know why. And, I always feel that there's something special there.

Glad you shared about the trip. It was cool to scroll the page down 😀
Loved all the pictures.

Thank you @himalayannomad, it is good to know that my pictures are traveling around the globe and are appreciated in distant countries like India :)

Good work is appreciated wherever it travels ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

I love Portugal! People are so friendly, architecture is beautiful but the weather sucks a bit. I went there last year in June and it was much colder than in Switzerland and raining most of the time. And the wind there is so strong from the ocean! I see that you had similar issues with the rain..

Oh and why don't you pull over when you want to take a photo? When I drive somewhere I pull over all the time and it's frustrating to take photos through a window while the car is moving..

You still managed very well. Your photos are very nice! And I didn't know that there was a special tree for cork! I thought it was some kind of a byproduct :)

I'm sorry to hear about the fog but it does make your photo looks mysterious and magical, so it was not that bad :)

You were lucky with that Chestnut festival! :) Chestnuts are yummy :)

Thank you for sharing your suberb photos! Happy travels and have a nice weekend! :)

Thank you @delishtreats for your nice comment!
Indeed I should have made more stops but when I am not traveling alone I don't want to abuse my fellow travellers's time :)

on the way of trip, there are always unpleasant surprises but there will be a pleasant surprise.

The photo of the end your trip story is brilliant. Beautiful photo.

Thanks for sharing @fotostef

Thank you @anggreklestari for stopping by!
It was a beautiful sunset, indeed, finishing a wonderful day :)

What a beautiful place portugal is. Hope I can get there someday. All the pictures are gorgeous. Cheers!

Thank you!
Cheers @jonsnow1983 :)

How many people are living there? Seems like there are only few.
Hope I can visit there anytime soon. Place seems peaceful and a dream place to live in.

Congratulations @fotostef! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wooaw you seem to be a trip guy. I really love your pictures and Portugal is really a great place to be always.
I love every single word in there and wait to see more adventures from you soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @ferrate, I am glad you liked it!

You are welcome handsome

Posted using Partiko Android

Portugal is beautiful no matter where you are! I particularly love their places of worship. It was great to learn about the cork tree, I did not know that, so I found it fascinating. Especially, seeing the tree so red without the bark. And by harvesting do you mean cutting it down? 😥

Yes, Portugal is very beautiful and their architecture just amazing!
The cork tree was a revelation for me too. And no, they don't cut it down, they just peel the bark of the tree and then wait for 9 years for it to grow back! I am sorry I didn't take more pictures of the procedure, it could have made a nice post on its own :)

Hi @fotostef, congrats for these amazing photos and description. As far as I'm concerned, this is the blog of the day! There are so many wonderful photos and themes here I don't even know where to start. I've never seen a cork oak before. It's interesting but it hurts a bit to see those trees left naked.
The place looks amazing. Those old houses are so cute, I love scenes like this, and the usual mosaic cover on the wall is a plus. Those are famous in Portugal. Well done!

Thank you @erikah for your supportive comment, I am really glad you liked it!

My pleasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 64750.39
ETH 3148.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58