Vienna - Part 2 - Hospitality

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I published the first part of my journey, if you missed it, you should check it out here -> Vienna - Part 1 - Public Transport. Today I'm back with another episode called Hospitality.

New folder.jpg

I've been to Germany a few times and don't have a positive experience as far as hospitality is concerned. I don't speak German but I'm able to understand quite a few words. The younger generation is different, some of them spoke English and was willing to help but I met people that turned their back on me without answering my question. This happened in a train station where thousands of people are coming and going every day.

With this in mind I had some concerns but I knew we're going to be fine as Vienna is a big city, the capital of Austria and it's full of foreigners/tourists. After three days in Vienna I can say I had the best and the nicest surprise ever.

IMG_20190711_185832a.jpg

First of all almost everyone spoke English and who didn't also tried to help. There were two cases, one at a parking lot and the other at a cafe. Both people tried to explain me what I wanted to know the best way they could in German. I was able to understand both of them without any problem.

Another case that I won't forget ever happened while traveling with the underground. At some point a young woman came to me and said we are not from Vienna, right? I said right, we are foreigners. She came to warn us that there are construction works in progress along the line and the underground stops at the next station and goes back. We didn't know that, of course. We got off and the young woman came with us to the map to show us what alternative we have to get to our destination.

IMG_20190727_154328a.jpg

While we were in front of the map discussing possibilities, a metropolitan worker saw us and came to give us these small maps to have in case we need them.

The day before at another underground station we were looking for a map to see which U we have to take to go to where we wanted. A woman approached us and told us something in German. I told her we don't speak German and turned out she didn't speak English. I tried to explain her we were not lost, we knew what to do just wanted to see the map to double check it, thanked her for her kindness and went away. After a minute I saw her approaching two underground security guys and asked them to help us. I went over there ant told the guys we are fine and thanked them and the lady again for their kindness. There are no words to express how I felt. You don't find people like these two ladies everywhere, I can guarantee you.

At the restaurant the waiter was very nice, explaining us everything we wanted to know. Museum workers also speak English.

Overall people are friendly and ready to help, most of things are written in English as well, so no worries if you don't speak German. I would go back gladly any time.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I also had a good experience in Vienna but the most helpful and cheerful people weren't Austrians but foreigners. The cleaning lady at my hotel was Indian and extremely interested and helpful. 😀

You're right, they are nicer as they don't have a choice, must be nice in order to keep their job. But I can't complain, natives (I believe they were) were also nice. 😀

Yes, but usually they are just indifferent. This lady walked that extra mile to put a smile on my face. 😊

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=erikah
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=vienna-part-2-hospitality


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!

You got a 36.14% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I am so glad to hear your experiences... I am from Vienna and when a tourist speaks nice of my home city, I am very happy. Thanks for the nice story!

This is all true, I had a very good time and came home with good memories.

I am glad you did! Thanks for sharing your experiences loved reading it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30