Campervanning in France

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Another day in our campervanning adventures around the South of France started with an early morning dog walk, as we had a long drive ahead of us.

On the way, we stopped off to see the village of Rocamadour which sits on the side of a cliff and is renowned for its religious buildings. Unfortunately, we thought it was far too hot to walk the pooch around the streets so we decided to just view it by parking at the l’Hospitalet. It is quite magestic looking and amazing how it clings to the side of the cliff.

l'Hospitalet is the site of an old hospital originally built for pilgrims who stopped over on their way to Santiago de Compostela. The ruins are still there as is the small chapel, which was restored in the 15th century. I love to walk around ruins. Unfortunately, the chapel gates were locked so I couldn't get in to walk around the yard.

As it was the pooch's birthday, we also stopped at the side of a river that we had spotted along the way to let the pooch have a good swim and a cool off.

We then realised that most of the campsites would be closed by the time we got to our destination so we decided to book ourselves into a hotel for the night.

A welcome meal and a proper shower was most appreciated. Some of the campsite showers are fine but they switch themselves off after a minute so you spend all your time switching them back on again!

Anyway, we are all nice and clean and ready for tomorrow.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I love the view. It is beautiful seeing houses on a mountain

It is beautiful but I think my vertigo wouldn't like it if I lived there. 😃

It is hard when the weather is so hot and you need to think about your pets and their wellbeing.

Yes, they definitely come first.

Sure looks pretty there!

It's lovely. Glad I visited.

What a beautiful place! I've always loved the buildings on the side of a cliff thing, but I don't think I would be able to live there either. What if I dropped my keys?

I'm terrible with keys. There's no way I'd be able to go looking for them on that cliff! I'd have permanent vertigo if I lived there.

I'm terrible with keys. There's no way I'd be able to go looking for them on that cliff! I'd have permanent vertigo if I lived there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50