Travel adventures - Trier - Germany

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Have you ever been to Trier in Germany? I was planning to go there for a long time and I finally had a chance to visit this charming city for one day last week..

Trier is a city in southwestern Germany, near the border with Luxembourg. The city dates back to 17 BC and it is the oldest city in Germany. The founding date is estimated from the age of the wooden pilings of the first Moselle bridge found in the mud of the river Moselle.

One day in Trier is not enough (especially when it's raining for a several hours in the afternoon), so let's start the tour so that we manage to see as much as possible!

DSC_0063.jpg
ISO 100 1/125 sec. f/7.1 18 mm

swoosh stretched.png

Porta Nigra

The Porta Nigra ('Black Gate') is the most famous building in Trier and has become its symbol. It dates back to the 2nd century. It was built during the time of Marcus Aurelius and 7200 blocks of stone were used for its construction. It was supposed to be built with two towers, but for an unknown reason the second tower was never built.

DSC_0089.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/7.1 22 mm

It was part of the city wall and it assumed that the main purpose of the Porta Nigra was to impress visitors as it was built during the peaceful times. The windows in the gate were built to place catapults. Even though there was no danger during that time, people didn't know when the city will be attacked, and this is the reason why these windows were included in the construction of the gate.

DSC_0004.jpg
ISO 100 1/125 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

The Porta Nigra had to defend the city on many occasions. In the 11th century it served as home for the monk Simeon, who lived there as a hermit. On his death the city gate was converted into a church, which was of the reasons of its survival. There were many renovations of the gate over the centuries. In 1803 under Napoleon's rule the church was dissolved, and orders were given to restore its ancient design.

The Porta Nigra is included on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage list.

DSC_0091.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/7.1 18 mm

Let's go to the Hauptmarkt (Main Market Square) now!

swoosh stretched.png

Hauptmarkt

The Hauptmarkt is the main square in Trier and it has been in this place since the 10th century when Archbishop Heinrich I moved the Market Cross from the river to its present site. Today, it is a lively square with many cafes, restaurant, and various markets.

Trier lies within the important Moselle wine region and there were many producers of local wine selling their grapes and bottles of wine. I have to disappoint you and say that I forgot to buy a bottle when I was there!

DSC_0006.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

The Hauptmarks is dominated by the St. Gangolf church towering above the main square. The church tower dates back to the 14th century and the church was built in the 15th century.

DSC_0012.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

The Petrusbronnen or Marktbrunnen (Petrus or Market Fountain) has been created by renaissance sculptor Hans Ruprecht Hoffmann in the 16th century.

The Market Fountain shows St. Peter, the patron saint of the Cathedral as well as the city, standing on top, surrounded by the four cardinal virtues of good city government, Justice, Strength, Temperance, and Wisdom.

These are however replicas of the original statues that are kept in the city museum from 1976 to protect them from pollution.

The Main Market Square is very colorful and the fountain fits there perfectly with its rich golden decoration and detailed design.

Have you noticed that this photo has clear sky unlike other photos? I came to the city center twice. It was cloudy and very cold in the morning. It was also very crowded, so I decided to come back later in the afternoon. And I was lucky! It stopped raining in the afternoon and the sky was clear, so I walked around the square again 😊

Our next stop will be the Cathedral!

swoosh stretched.png

Trier Cathedral

Trier has been the seat of a bishop since he second half of the 3rd centuryt and it is the older bishop's church in Germany. Trier Cathedral together with the adjacent Church of Our Lady was included on the list of UNESCO World Cultural Heritage in 1986.

DSC_0019.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

This is the Church of Our Lady that is built on the right side of the Cathedral. It looks very impressive but inside it is very simple and not exactly what I expected. I was a little bit disappointed.

Among all the cathedrals north of the Alps, Trier Cathedral is the oldest one.

In the 3rd century there was a small church in the place where the Cathedral stands now. This church was expanded into a monumental structure in the 4th century. The Cathedral was heavily damaged in the 5th and 9th century. The extensive restoration work took place in the 19th and 20th century.

Do you know why such buildings are called 'Cathedrals'? The name 'Cathedral' for a bishop's church is derived from the bishop's seat in the church, called 'cathedra'.

The most precious relic of Trier Cathedral is the Holy Robe - the Tunic of Christ. Legend says that the Tunic was brought to Trier by the Emperor's mother Helena. In 1512, the high altar was opened in the presence of Holy Roman Emperor Maximilian, initiating the first pilgrimage to the Holy Robe.

Today, the Holy Robe has been kept behind the glass in the Holy Robe chapel that is not accessible to visitors.

Shall we go inside of the Cathedral?

The interior is rather simple, but the space is impressive anyway.

DSC_0051.jpg
ISO 400 1/125 sec. f/4 18 mm

There are many altars and burial monuments in the Cathedral.

On the left we can see the Altar of the Three Magi and burial altar for Johann Hugo von Orsbeck.

On the right we can see the Cross Altar and the grave plate for Archbishop Richard von Greiffenklau.

The cloister was built in the 13th century. Let's walk around the cloister and transport ourselves back to the past!

DSC_0061.jpg
ISO 100 1/125 sec. f/4.5 18 mm

It was already raining so I stayed inside. There were some people going outside and looking at the graves of former bishops and archbishop but I preferred to stay dry 😊

DSC_0057.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 18 mm

I couldn't find who created these sculptures of angels but I admire the way how the modern art fits into the old architecture.

DSC_0079.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/7.1 18 mm

You can enjoy beautiful views of the Trier Cathedral and the Church of Our Lady while walking around the cloister...

I think that now it's the right time to return back to the city..

swoosh stretched.png

Kurfürstliches Palais

The Kurfürstliches Palais (Electoral Palace) is considered one of the most beautiful rococo palaces in the world. The palace was built in the 17th century by Electoral Prince Lothar von Metternich, and the rococo facade of the building was commissioned by the Archbishop and elector of Trier Johann Philipp von Walderdorff in the 18th century.

DSC_0101.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/7.1 18 mm

The palace was badly damaged during the World War and it was later restored to its current appearance. Since 2000 it has been the seat of the Supervisory and Service Directorate (ADD).

In front of the palace there are beautiful gardens with statues that represent classical gods and mythological figures. Some of the are very bizarre if you ask me. Look at the statue on the right to understand what I mean..

DSC_0104.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/7.1 18 mm

There were still a few flowers blooming in the garden..

20180921_180544.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

20180921_180701.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

swoosh stretched.png

It was a very cold, windy day but I have enjoyed the tour of Trier. There are still so many places to see in this city but it is impossible to visit them all within one day.

I hope you have enjoyed this excursion of the oldest city in Germany. Standing in front of the Porta Nigra was an experience that I can't even describe with words.

You must experience it yourself to understand it, so make sure to put Trier on your travel list!

All pictures are taken by my Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II (except of the ones indicated in the text)

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

another beautiful post Martina and I love those 2 flowers at the end... the colors are stunning against the green grass!

Thank you Dave! Everybody is talking about the cathedral and then here you are! I'm really glad that you liked the flowers! Those are my favorite photos! :)

What a wonderful blog ( again!) I love the photos. The palace and gardens look amazing for a day out exploring. I can see why it is classed as one of the most beautiful of the rococo period.
Those statues are fabulous too. It looks such nice weather it’s funny to read you saying it was cold and windy. We airchair viewers just get the best fro m your blogs with none of the cold wind 😉 Thanks as always Martina for a beautiful blog, classy photos and you R text, as only you could write it! pure magic. 🌈🦋🌴💛🍀

What a lovely mix of old and present " The city of Trier" @delishtreats. For sure never heard it before and thanks for sharing something very unique from different part of the world.
One thing quite surprised me is with 'Porta Nigra'...the windows looks quite familiar. Do check out on HawaMahal of Jaipur in India. It has same a numerous windows...however built only for the queens and other palace ladies. It was built to lookout to the kingdom market place....

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @steemflow! I wanted to get there for so long because of the Porta Nigra and I was very glad went we finally had a chance. Well, for one day only, but it is better than nothing :)

Really? I didn't know about that! I will have a look! How cool is that?! I didn't know that queens and their female companion had their own palace! I would love it! I would enjoy saying: Please meet me at my palace for ladies! :D

Do check out..it is worth watching....hawa mahal, jaipur india...you will find many similarity with height and the windows....let me know how you find them

Posted using Partiko Android

wow this is wonderful place, love the castle, and you take very awesome angle. love your style and god bless you.

Thank you for your kind words! I'm glad that you like it!

Nice photos with informative explaination. Thank for sharing. This post also makes me realize that I barely know anything about German besides that Nazi thing. Lol

Thank you for stopping by! Well, there is much more to Germany than the Nazi 3rd Reich :) And actually, they take care of all the sites that remained after the war. I love visiting Germany. You should visit it when you get a chance :)

Everything does look very well taken care of. i love the old building, that are really dramatic and are hiding the sense of beautifulness in them

Thank you for stopping by Edgar. Oh yes, in Germany, they take care of their historical sites as they don't have as many as they had before the war. I'm glad you enjoyed my post!

Have not been there but have heard a lot about their history and those old buildings and these photos did the rest, now i am sure Germany is as historical and beautiful as people say

Thank you for stopping by.

Yes, Germany has long history. There are so many beautiful sites to see. You should visit it when you get a chance. I am sure you will love it!

Apologies for being late to reply and I guess you know the reason already :D
Steemit was being a bad kid to us all :D

Anyways, Germany yes is really beautiful and has got history. I will surely visit it if I get a chance one day <3 See you

It's not a problem at all, no apologies needed :)

Thank you for getting back to me :)

That's very nice of you :)
and You're welcome, have a good weekend ahead :)

howdy there delishtreats! wow. totally amazing. I love the cathedrals almost as much as the castles and I also love that big fountain! so impressive and the pictures are stunning and the details of the building is excellent! another perfect job.

Thank you for stopping by cowboy! :) If you love cathedrals you should go to the Vatican city. You would love it! This one was rather simple in decoration but there are many cathedrals in Italy full of golden details. Beautiful!

You are right! The fountain really was nice. I haven't been to Trier before and I was surprised by what you can see there. I expected it to be much smaller than it actually is.

It's a pity that I couldn't take any photos from Luxembourg last week. I'm sure you would like them too!

Have a great weekend! Talk to you soon!

howdy again delishtreats! Well perhaps someday Europe will be invaded by me and I can tour the joint. Shouldn't take long, maybe a week or two.
Well Luxembourg is one of your regular places to visit isn't it? So you can pick it up on another trip right? Does it have cathedrals and castles?

Today I've become a champion in petanque! Never played it before but it was so much fun! I guess I had a lot of beginners luck! :) We're going now for dinner with friends but I wanted to get back to you first..

We might go there in a year or two, will see.. yes, there are many castles and a very nice cathedral so I'm sure you'll be happy to see the posts! :)

Have a great Saturday!

howdy back delishtreats! I know you are busy and all so don't worry about getting back to me today but I just wanted to ask before I forgot..what in the world is petanque? Never heard of it. Does it have something to do with pets or animals? lol.

It looks nice. I got lost in Germany once while hitch-hiking to Greece and a kindly old couple looked at my map that was 5 inches big and said I needed a bigger map to find my way, I agreed with them and carried on walking in Germany somewhere...

Hahaha! Germans are very helpful and rational. They can state the facts like you didn't know it before. Did anybody else help you or you find your way on your own?

It was a very long time ago, around 1972 I think, so I can't remember much about it now. I went to Hamburg 20 years ago and can't remember much about that either now. I went there for an event with 10000 others, but I've done so many events and travelled so much it's all become one now

Dear @delishtreats,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41