CROSSING THROUGH BROOKLYN BRIDGE / CRUZANDO EL PUENTE DE BROOKLYN

in #travelfeed4 years ago (edited)

Winter arrived at Brooklyn Bridge.

El invierno llegó en el puente de Brooklyn.

The Brooklyn Bridge was built between 1869 and 1883 with numerous adversities in between. The engineer who was carrying out the work, John Augustus Roebling, died at the beginning of the construction of the bridge, and his son was left in charge, who also had an accident during the work, and had to take charge of the building observing with a binocular.

El Puente de Brooklyn fue construído entre 1869 y 1883 con numerosas adversidades en el medio. El ingeniero que estaba llevando a cabo la obra, John Augustus Roebling, murió al comienzo de la construcción del puente, y quedó a cargo su hijo, quien tuveo un accidente también durante la obra, y debió hacerse cargo de la edificación observando con un prismático.

Source: Britannica.com

I decided to cross by walking the Brooklyn Bridge, so as I wanted to visit that city, I went to it by subway, and spend some hours in Dumbo.
Decidí cruzar caminando por el Puente de Brooklyn, así que como quería visitar esa ciudad, aproveché y fui en metro hasta Dumbo, un sector bastante conocido de Brooklyn.

I wanted to find the big sign that said “DUMBO”, but sadly, I didn’t have so many times to be there, because that same day I wanted to go to Natural History Museum, which closed at 5 pm.
Quería encontrar el enorme cartel que dice “DUMBO”, pero lamentablemente, no tuve tanto tiempo para estar allí, porque ese mismo día quería ir al Museo de Historia Natural, que cierra a las 5 de la tarde.

Once in Dumbo, the target was going back to Manhattan by walking, but… spring became in autumn (or Winter, I don’t really know), but from been wearing a simple T-Shirt, I had to run to the first place that I saw to buy an umbrella, and thank God I had a coat in my backpack.
Una vez en Dumbo, el objetivo era volver a Manhattan caminando, pero ... la primavera se convirtió en otoño (o invierno, no sé), pero de haber estado usando una simple camiseta, tuve que correr al primer lugar que vi para comprarme un paraguas, y por suerte tenía un abrigo en mi mochila.

From having my hair free as the wind, I had to make a tail in my hair (I wish this was the right Word in English, it's a kind of hairstyle).
De tener mi cabello libre como el viento, tuve que atármelo.

Here posing divinely./Acá posando divinamente.

Here avoiding the hair swirl./Acá evitando el remolino de pelo.

From being ready to have lunch in the park next to Manhattan bridge, I had to eat under another umbrella, in a table, near to a guy that was sheltering from the rain as I was doing the same.

De estar lista para almorzar en el parque junto al puente de Manhattan, tuve que comer bajo una sombrilla, en una mesa, cerca de un chico que se estaba resguardando de la lluvia, igual que yo.

Where I ended up having lunch./ Donde terminé almorzando.

Empire Fulton Ferry Park, where I had planned to have lunch./El Empire Fulton Ferry Park, donde había planeado almorzar.

Should I cross the Bridge anyway?? / Debería cruzar el puente de todas maneras?

It didn’t seem like it was stopping raining, so I decided to go anyway through the bridge.
No parecía que fuera a dejar de llover, así que decidí pasar de todos modos por el puente.

Luckily, once up on the bridge, the rain stopped, but the wind was very cold.
Por suerte, una vez en el puente, dejó de llover, pero el viento era muy frío.

Of course It didn’t matter to me, I was going to live a short adventure by crossing one of the most popular bridges in the world.
Por supuesto que no me importaba, iba a vivir una aventura cruzando uno de los puentes más populares del mundo.

So I did it.
Así que lo hice.

People had told me that it was possible to see Liberty Statue from the bridge, and it was true!! Although it was very cloudy to distinguish it, I did see it.
La gente me había dicho que era posible ver la Estatua de la Libertad desde el puente, y era verdad! Y aunque estaba muy nublado para distinguirlo, la pude ver.

The Bridge/ El Puente

The bridge is majestic. It caught my attention, for the better, that there was a well-defined place for the passage of bicycles and another for pedestrians. In fact, I'm going to correct myself: I didn't realize it spontaneously, but rather a cyclist honked at me and pointed to the ground. Then, I discovered that I was wandering the bridge, stunned by its immensity, and had no idea that I was invading the space intended for the passage of bikes.
El puente es majestuoso. Me llamó mucho la atención, para bien, que hubiese un lugar bien delimitado para el paso de las bicicletas y otro para los peatones. De hecho, me voy a corregir: No me dí cuenta espontáneamente, sino que un ciclista me tocó bocina y me señaló el suelo. Entonces, decubrí que yo iba vagando por el puente, atontada por su inmensidad, y no tenía idea de que estaba invadiendo el espacio destinado al paso de las bicis.

This is the original picture of the one that is in the top of this post, which one I’m participating in the B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST, organized by @worldofxpilar and @axeman. / Esta es la foto original de la que está al principio de esta publicación, con la que estoy participando en el concursoorganizado por @worldofxpilar y @axeman.

IMG_1542.JPG

In the direction of Brooklyn to Manhattan, you can see on the right, the Manhattan Bridge, and on the left, the Island of Liberty.
En dirección de Brooklyn a Manhattan, podés ver a la derecha, el puente de Manhattan, y a la izquierda, la Isla de la Libertad.

Right side (North), Manhattan Bridge./ Lado derecho (Norte), el Puente de Manhattan.

Left side (South), Liberty Island./ Lado izquierdo (Sur), la Isla de la Libertad.

A short video / Un breve video

DTube belenguerra

One of the things that caught my attention the most was the size of the strings that help all the structures to stand, in addition to looking very aesthetically beautiful.
Una de las cosas que más me llamó la atención fue el tamaño de las cuerdas que colaboran para que todas las estructuras se mantengan en pie, además, de verse muy bellas. estéticamente.

IMG_1520.JPG

Please, I invite to @theunion and @steemcurator01 to help me with this post if you like it.

I hope you’ve enjoyed it!! Thank you very much for Reading me.

Camera/ CámaraDate / FechaPhotographer / Fotógrafa
iPhone 8 Plus2018, October@belenguerra

This is me


I’m the author of the writing and of all the pictures. The information given about the Brookly Bridge, has its source correctly cited and I shared its link for you to be able to take a look and read a Little bit more about this amazing Bridge. If you need to verify or to use this material, please let me know. Thank you very much!!


Soy la autora de lo escrito y de todas las fotos. La información correspondiente al Puente de Brooklyn, ha sido citada y he dejado el enlace para que puedan acceder a ella y leer un poco más sobre este gran puente. Si necesitas verificar o utilizar este material, por favor ponete en contacto conmigo. Muchas gracias!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59