Chernomorskoye. West Crimea.

in #travelfeed5 years ago

IMG_3734_resize.jpg

Sunset in the west.

I met this sunset in a place near the westernmost point of the Crimean peninsula. It was evening and I went to watch the sun sink into the sea.

This is a beautiful picture that looks new every time.

From the west, the wind blew and small waves rushed to the shore. They smashed against stones with noise and a cloud of spray.

At first it only made me laugh and added beauty to an already colorful sunset. But then I decided to take pictures of these bursts. In search of a shooting point, I sank lower and lower, until I lay down on stones in the immediate vicinity of the coast.

And only I found the very view that I was hunting for, the evening began to grow stronger and the waves became a little more and splashes from the waves began to fall on me. All would be nothing, I would not mind a small shower after a hot day, but splashes fell on the camera lens. And this is not good at all.

I had to retire.

The sun was almost hidden behind the horizon when I fully enjoyed shooting waves.

This place is called Chernomorskoye. The first inhabitants of this place were the Hellenes, who appeared on the shore of the present bay during the period of Greek colonization. The ancient Greeks founded here the city of Kalos Limen (from ancient Greek - Beautiful Harbor, Happy Harbor). Kalos Limen was one of the important centers of the agricultural district, subordinate to the ancient Greek city-state of Tauric Chersonesos.

All this happened at the turn of the fourth century BC.

During one of my stay in this place, I visited the local museum of local lore. This is a small museum, but it has a lot of different exhibits. Looking at archaeological artifacts, one can imagine that here, in these places, people lived 2000 - 2500 years ago and they also looked at the sunset, as I did.

It is surprising that I was visited by such thoughts in Crimea. Maybe I was so influenced by the bright warm Crimean salty, maybe the salty water of the Black Sea, maybe it was the impact of that same Crimean wine made from grapes grown in the Crimea and possessing all the characteristic signs of terroir wine.
And now, looking at sunset photos in the west of the Crimean peninsula, I continue to think about how much happened in the Crimea and in Russia, how many people were deprived and tragedy, before I could sit quietly and watch the sunset.

IMG_3572_resize.jpg

IMG_3600_resize.jpg

IMG_3692_resize.jpg

IMG_3722_resize.jpg

IMG_3744_resize.jpg

IMG_3753_resize.jpg

IMG_3765_resize.jpg

IMG_3784_resize.jpg

IMG_3816_resize.jpg

IMG_3841_resize.jpg

IMG_3602_resize.jpg

IMG_3584_resize.jpg

IMG_3581_resize.jpg

IMG_3715_resize.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Fantastic! I can certainly see why the ancient Greeks named it Beautiful Harbor. I'd like to think they took the time to appreciate it's beauty as much as we would today.

Thank you :) Glad to hear it :)

Beautiful photograph. Captures the sea and sun so well.

Great set, full of nature dynamic

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=amikphoto
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=chernomorskoye-west-crimea


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33