Travel to the Farm: What’s in season? ‘Tis the season for fresh strawberries!!!! 🍓🍓🍓

in #travel7 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemians! 

Strawberries are in season now and I’m always super excited to go strawberry picking every summer.  It is one of my favorite fruit, besides mango, banana, cherry, pineapple and watermelon.  The strawberries are so sweet and yummy and it goes great with salads, smoothies, and desserts!  It is packed with lots of Vitamin C and high levels of antioxidants and you can even grow them in your backyard.  

Here’s a picture of my strawberry plant.  

In Canada, strawberry seasons typically starts in mid June to July, so be sure to check your local farmers for dates, bring your family and friends and enjoy some fresh strawberries!! 

When you get to the farm, there's a tractor with a wagon full of hay that people ride on to get to the strawberry field.  You can walk but it will take too long and it's way too hot!  

 

You can see how busy this strawberry farm can be!  See all those people in the background picking strawberries!  

Picking the strawberry is important.  Make sure you pick the ripe and juicy kinds.  

The strawberry is so sweet and juicy! 

You can never have enough strawberries in your life. 

Thanks Pikachu and Eevee for helping me with strawberry picking!!

Once you are home, wash the strawberries, pack them and refrigerate!

There are lots of selection of food and drinks that you can use strawberries for…. like this Strawberry + Blueberry + Walnut Smoothie that I made recently. 

Health Benefits

This strawberry blueberry walnut smoothie has great health benefits which I use personally to boost my immune system.  If anyone hates getting the flu or being sick, consuming this smoothie once a day will help prevent you from being ill.  Don't wanna jinx it but since I started this I haven't come down with the flu in 4 years!  I recommend everyone try it and don't give up and get lazy!!  It will become a habit and during the winter season you will have to settle for frozen strawberries from Costco.

Perfect for the summer!   

What is your favorite fruit? 

Enjoy your Summer! Stay hydrated! 

I hope you enjoy this post! Please Upvote, Resteem and Follow me @xredsoulless

Sort:  

Nice photos. Strawberry picking is always enjoyable. We also have one or two farms in Hong Kong offering this activity but the strawberry there is not good. Can't compare with what you show in the photos.
At first I thought you're doing this in Japan, but then I realized you're in Canada.
Nice weather, good strawberry and I like your Pikachu!!!
Pika Pika!

Hi @guyverckw
Yes, I'm in Canada! Summer has just begun! I couldn't image Hong Kong having a strawberry farm there since the population density is so high. I'm surprised Hong Kong has room for farm but very interesting to know.

Yup, we have a few, probably under 5 so call Strawberry fields in Hong Kong, all of them are located in remote area of Hong Kong, closer to main land China than down town. And you can expect the land of Hong Kong won't give you too good fruit.

nice posts, I want some strawberries now!

Thank you! Actually while writing this post I couldn't help myself but make myself a strawberry smoothie.

Ohh so jealous! I miss berries so much! This seem like heaven to me! Lovely pics btw!

I have lots of berries! I would share some with you, but you're so far away ;p Thank you always for your continuing support @amy-goodrich <3

I know! One day I hope we will be able to meet up! Whether that is with a strawberry feast in Canada or a mango fest in Cambodia ;) Or where ever we are by then! Have a great day!

Great post @xredsoulless !!!

Who doesn´t love strawberries?? Im a BIG fan ! :D
Cool Pokémons you have there to make you company while picking :)

Thanks for sharing!

Thanks! @dontstopmenow. Strawberries are good for you!
Gotta catch 'em all. ;P

Dear X Red Soulless mistress I assume, or maybe mister, but all I can see are photos of a woman with fire.

I'm from a small Forest Grove city in Oregon which had like 20K people or less in the 1990's before I was in high school and the city is around farms and I have been to farms and to the forest and to Hagg Lake and I love camping and farms and green houses and those strawberries and animals.

We should be more independent as humans with more green houses and our plants should produce seeds and we should be legally free to collect rain water and have solar power and water filters for living off the grid and I love your photos here.

I'm 32 years old and have been living in Saigon, Vietnam the past 4 years and I see farms around me here too and Vietnamese love to go back to their hometowns a lot and that is how life was like centuries ago and I love strawberries so much.

thanks for sharing.

Hey @joeyarnoldvn! I'm glad you enjoyed my photos, and I agree with you about trying to live more off the grid but I'm not sure if I'm knowledgable enough to be able to do that on my own. Thanks for sharing your short story with me and by the way I'm the girl in the picture and I've mastered taking selfie's!

Some healthy looking berries you have there. must be doing a good job tending them . Very nice.

Strawberry's are so delicious. One question is that your farm or did you go to strawberry picking place.

Hi @koolkj I went to a Strawberry picking Farm. :)

This is not very much about your own post, but I'm thinking about this every time I see strawberry fields.

Many people who can think they are allergic to strawberries can just get reactions from pesticides etc. which are used on strawberries. There are some local dealers who grow their strawberries without pesticides, as they use "biological" tools (they spread bugs on the fields which eat pest-bugs) and for surprise for many.. no more itching in your mouth when you eat a load of strawberries.

I'm wasing most strawberries I eat, but as it has very thin "skin" you'll never get everything off. It's not dangerous though, but for me it'll cause that annoying itch in the mouth.

I would buy these pesticide free strawberries all the time but they cost so much more.. but maybe, quality before quantity. :)

Nice photos on your post!

very pretty looking strawberries, yummy, gonna raid the fridge now!

Glad my post made you hungry. Thank you for commenting @alexpmorris

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58476.88
ETH 2522.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34