Traveler's reality: oversaturated by my journey

in #travel8 years ago

My economics teacher used to say that the only thing that you cannot get enough of is money. I cannot test this yet as my bank balances are negative.

What I can say, though, is that you can get oversaturated by traveling. Before judging, hear me out.

Before and after the travels

I have so many friends who say that they could travel all their lives without any problems. Before starting my journey I thought the same:

One year will not be enough and I will simply continue traveling until I see every freaking thing.

This thought had 2 flaws:

  1. You simply cannot see everything. Thinking otherwise only corrupts the mind and forces you into thinking about things you didn't do instead of focusing on the ones you did.

  2. People actually get tired of traveling all the time.

So yeah, I am currently on the road for 362 days and I am feeling exhausted. I got oversaturated with all the beautiful nature, modern cities, and living without a permanent place.

I no longer feel the need to see the first wonder of the world. I also don't feel the need to meet a wise man in the jungle. I am not enjoying long bus rides to reach new exciting places. I also feel that all the new places have nothing new to offer.

My words might sound really ignorant. Especially if you haven't tried traveling for a long time. Before I couldn't understand people wanting to go home, but now I only think of home.

Before I thought to end my travels will make me cry of sadness, but I will probably cry of joy.

It does not mean that I am feeling bad or I hate traveling. It's just that I am tired. Everything has to have an end.

What I need now is some rest.

You miss the point of traveling when on the road forever

And in my eyes, traveling should be something exciting. It should fill your soul with happiness and joy. It should teach valuable things and make you a better person. However, what happens when all the capacity of the soul is already filled with travels?

We just start missing the point. I think that my body cannot take it anymore. I am oversaturated. Apparently, if you eat too much of something healthy, you can get sick as well.

So, for me, at this stage of my life, one year is enough of traveling. I took as much as I could ever handle.

So everything that comes into my full body now just crashes and disappears. So what shall I do?

It is time to digest

Well, I think I ate enough of traveler's food, so it is time to relax and digest it all. It is time for me to go back home and think everything through.

I need to empty my body and soul before getting back to other places.

Traveling is a food for your soul. You shall occasionally feed your soul, but never ever oversaturate. Some people might travel for 3 months, some for a year, and some for 10 years, but we all have our limits. We all need time to digest what we learn.


Have a great life!


Sort:  

Hello @writingamigo,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

If you choose not to receive any comments or TRAIL rewards from SteemTrail, you can reply with "Stop" to opt out. Thank you.

Happy TRAIL!

This is great news, @steemtrail! Thank you!

....But the way home is fine too. We have to go back...it is Important to return to where....where there waiting and remember us. Need time to think , to put in order thoughts. Take a look at the knowledge, emotions, experiences that we have gained in long journey.

Oh yes, that is totally true @madlenfox I never felt that I need home so much like at this moment! I cannot wait to get back!
Thank you for your reply!

These are some incredible insights, many people don't learn this lesson until much later on! After a lot of travelling my husband and I said it this way "You need a home base." Travelling is great, when you always have the option to go home and rest your head. But I for one am so glad that you chose this journey at this time, so I got to be a part of it with you! I have to go back and read anything I've missed. And I hope you will continue blogging when you return home, tell us your thoughts! You are a writer now my friend!

Oh yes, I still have couple of weeks left to enjoy and relax before heading back home! I am super glad that you understand what I mean and feel the same way. Also, only now I start to realize how much I have learned and understood throughout the journey. It freaks me out haha.
I will continue blogging for sure. That was my goal of the year and I see no point to quit it now (and hopefuly ever). Thanks for those kind words like always, @dreemit! It means a lot

Our family decided to move into a converted school bus. This has allows us to ALWAYS be home. We stay some places 6 months, other a night or two. We really get to ebb and flow with our heart's desires! Get some rest! You will have the travel bug again soon enough <3

That is so awesome @catherinebleish Are you also homeschooling your kids?
I will try my best to rest when I am back at home! I hope that your journey will be successful! Thanks for your wise words.

I completely understand this, I too felt saturated while traveling. I also think there are good times to travel when we are hungry to experience the new and times that are better at home giving ourselves to stable life.

I agree with you @natureofbeing We have to feel the balance and act the way our bodies require. I have no doubt that after a month or 2 of resting, I will want to be on the way again. However, the resting part is as important as anything else at the moment

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.99 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57730.16
ETH 2445.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34