Striking Mexican Police Officer Saved My Day In Tulum

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

MetuKeliautojas15.JPG

Tulum the most wonderful Mexican beach town. However, even in places like Tulum, you must always remain focused. One time I didn't.

My girlfriend and I were driving bikes all month when we stayed in Tulum. The town was tiny, and the weather was perfect, so it was the most convenient mean of transportation.

Anyway, one day we decided to visit Playa del Carmen, a town nearby. We locked out bikes in the middle of Tulum, took the bus to Playa del Carmen, had some fun there, and came back in the evening... to find out that I have lost the key to the locks. Our bikes were stuck in the middle of Tulum.

Gladly, all the police officers in Tulum were on strike that day, and they happened to strike just by the place where we locked our bikes. I don't know why they didn't say a thing while we were trying to break the lock and take the bikes. I mean, it surely looked like we were thieves. Well, maybe it's because they were striking?

Anyway, after failing to break the lock on our own, we went to ask for some help from the police officers. With little to no Spanish, we explained our situation and ten police officers surrounded our bikes in no time. They tried everything to break the lock, including cutting it with a knife. It wouldn't have been surprising if one of the officers had taken his gun and shot straight through that damn lock. Gladly he didn't. I must remind you that those officers didn't know if the bike was ours. They just didn't give af and wanted to have some fun while striking.

By the time every enthusiastic officer had tried his luck with that lock, an older and shy officer came holding a freaking key from that lock. Apparently, I dropped it on the street after locking the bike in the morning. Gladly, it was him who found the key and saved the day.

Twist Of The Story

At the exact same moment when I lost the key to our bikes, my girlfriend left her credit card at the ATM. Sadly, no police officer came to the rescue, and we lost a decent amount of money. It was sad. Very sad. Extremely f-ing sad. Brooklyn Nets kind of sad. However, how in the world can two people lose something at the exact same time? It still boggles me.

Sort:  

Funny story!! Your GF is the best ahah! After the policeman!

Yeah, it is funny now! At that moment I was not laughing because of lost credit card. But now it is a good story to tell and I am glad about it.

That's so SWEEET! Nothing worse than losing keys lol!

Yeah, it was sweet! I also thought that nothing is worse than losing keys, but then my gf lost her credit card and I lost my wallet full of IDs and cash. So yeah, it can be worse than losing keys haha

That sucks! We don't have credit cards or ID's :D but I feel your pains :(

It was a long time ago :D I already forgot about that. Though, it's a funny story to tell

I just relocated to Cancun and wrote a story about how Mexico is not dangerous and don't believe the bad press. I had a similar experience years ago and although I do speak spanish I had about 10 cops trying to help me out (they weren't on strike). Sorry to hear about the credit card... that definitely sucks especially on vacation.
Glad you wrote about this though and am resteeming.

Oh yeah, Mexico is not dangerous at all if you are behaving normally and don't enter wrong places or have business with wrong people. Media loves to form some silly stereotypes and make money from them. At first, I was a little afraid to travel around Central/South America, but now I know that there is nothing scary about those places.

Surprise ending, lol. My girlfriend and I are heading to Tulum very soon!

It is a wonderful place. Make sure to visit casa cenote. It is a spectacular place!

What a story! It's tough being in a place where most people do not speak your language and you cannot speak theirs! I got a kick out of the "Brooklyn Nets kind of sad".

Tulum is a beautiful place I hope to visit again one day! The Mayan ruins are a must see.

Oh yeah, we spoke a little Spanish by that time, so it was helpful. Tulum is amazing and I would also love to come back there one day and enjoy the beach and ruins again. Oh, and cenotes!

The Mayan ruins there at Tulum are amazing. I like Playa too. Sorry to hear you guys lost your cash, that's tough when you're traveling, especially.

It was quite a while ago, so now it is only a funny memory! I am kind of glad we lost it because I look at it as "buying" a great story to tell.
And yeah, Tulum is fantastic. Everything from the ruins to cenotes to the beach captivated me. I didn't enjoy Playa that much, but I only spent there a day, so maybe I need to give it another shot one day.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.72 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52