What Does a $12 Per Night Hotel Look Like in Laos?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

As a request post for @fitinfun and @biglipsmama, this is what a $12 per night hotel looks like in Vang Vieng Laos. It's incredible how far your money will go in some parts of the world. Some may find this hard to believe; but the pictures below are of two hotels I've been staying at this week, for only twelve dollars a night!

Traveling on a budget makes it important for me to get the best deal possible, and I always negotiate my room whenever I can. These two hotels wanted $15-20 per night. But all I had to do was ask and let them know I'd be staying for at least three nights, and they had no problem dropping the price to 100,000 Lao Kip, which is 12 dollars US.

The first place I stayed at was fantastic, including great WIFI, flat screen TV, AC, hot water shower, king size bed, and of course the fantastic river front view. I would have been happy to stay there my entire time in Vang Vieng Laos, but they suddenly started construction just below my room. I spent a full day listening to two jackhammers when I decided I had to go. The next place, is the same price, same amenities, no view, but everything was a little nicer, newer, and of better quality.

Photos of the second hotel.

Photos of the first hotel with the great views.

Early Morning View

Late Evening View

Not To be Missed!

Travel Tip #14: Spend Less, Travel More! (and don't sacrifice on quality)

Bangkok Street Food Extravaganza. Inside Look at What's Good! (24 food photos and descriptions)

Travel Tip #13 : Don't Travel With Expensive Stuff!

Walking Tour of Bangkok Thailand and Steemit Meet-Up! (25 photos and historic description)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

The difference in price is extreme between different parts of the world. The last place I worked in Sweden has an all staff conference every four years. Last time every employee got to fly to Ethiopia for a week and that was overall a good bit cheaper than going to a local Swedish conference center.
Nice rooms, and I never cared much for a room with a view since the room is mostly for sleeping anyway.

Wow Etheopia. I know what you mean regarding a room for sleeping, but since working on steemit, I like a nice sitting area with a view. When I look up from my computer it makes me happy, but overall it's one the least important things, just a bonus from time to time!

You're right, if you sit in the room working, a nice view is a bonus.

What an amazing view!! My rent is more than the 12USD per month and I live in a fairly small house.

I believe most people's rent is more than 360 dollars a month in the western world. That doesn't even cover WIFI, utilities, cable, furnished, and room service!

Cant complain about that! Great value for food, travel, and accommodation in Asia :D

You know it! Thanks for the comment! -Dan

Definitely not too shabby at all. It's amazing how affordable your travel can be with a little bit of knowledge and negotiation. Nice photos of the accommodations!

Thanks Kevin. Yes indeed, a little travel know-how goes a long way.

@world-travel-pro Thanks for your work sir.... Love it. Followed

12 bucks a night? Can't complain about that mate! Enjoy yourself there!

I am, thanks for checking in :)

Not too shabby on $12/night - that view! :)

Aaaah you know you're in the tropics when you see humidity damaged wooden chairs on a balcony.

Ha Ha. Very True!

It's amazing what you can get, they are actually really nice rooms, the view on the 1st one is amazing.
Thank you for posting this it's really nice to be able to see how others travel and pricing around the world.

Yes not too shabby! Thanks as always for checking out my work and support us minnows!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52