Travel Tip #6: Don't Book Your Hotel in AdvancesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Most people when they travel like to know exactly where they'll be staying before they get on the plane. This makes sense to most people; after all you have bought yourself a little security. However this is often the best way to get trapped in the worst deal!

Never travel with fear it will always cost you!

Never worry about where you'll sleep, there is always a place!

As an experienced traveler it does make sense to look up an area of town and compare prices on sites like Agoda and Google Maps. I usually write down a few names and addresses of places I'm interested in. I try to get to my destination as early as possible and visit the areas and hotels on my researched list as well as other places in the area.

I see first hand what they have and what their competition is offering. I meet the management. I quickly learn the market. I then negotiate a price for about a week or longer for the best value. I may be wandering the streets with my backpack for an hour or two, maybe even longer; but I'll save a lot of money and I'll know I have a good deal at a good place.

This strategy has never failed me. Normally I find myself paying about half as much as fellow travelers that book ahead. Booking ahead online is locking yourself into a deal without inspecting the place. You have no bargaining power once paid and better options that come along are just lost opportunities. The only time I would ever book ahead online is if it's a holiday and the whole area is likely to get sold out or you want to stay at a specific resort for your vacation.

Travel Tip #5: What is a Chicken Bus? When to Take One?


World Travel Report: Costa Rica

Don't forget to Follow, Up-Vote, and Resteem. It's greatly appreciated!

Thank you,

@World-Travel-Pro

Sort:  

good post @world-travel-pro
upvote me pleace

I am Groot! :D

Interesting tip. I've been doing something similar but you've added more useful information. Thanks and keep it up! Very useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46