Travel Pro Eats #13: Civiche de Conchas Negras on the Streets of Mancora Peru! (Video and photos!)

in #travel7 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends. Welcome to the streets of Mancora Peru where we'll be having Civiche Conchas Negras! Or Black Clam Civiche. This is one of my first videos where I'm starting to get comfortable and find a rhythm to filming and being filmed.

Civiche is one of the most popular dishes in Peru. Some compare it to sushi. Some even call it Peruvian Sushi. Basically civiche is raw or slightly cooked seafood, finished in chili, salt, and lime juice. The acid in the lime juice is often referred to as the element that cooks the food as it's highly acidic.

This was my first time having this dish, quite frankly it was absolutely delicious and I ended up having different kinds of civiches in several different restaurants during my stay. They were all excellent. This civiche was only three dollars, or 10 Peruvian Soles. So here in the video you can see how it's made and what it's like ordering on the street. Enjoy! -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -4.107349 lat -81.056346 long d3scr

Sort:  

Dang..your spanish is legit

Thanks bro. I've spent a lot of time south of the border! But I really have to credit the Ecuadorian girlfriend I had. Muy caliente!

@world-travel-pro nice you like to eat good .
I like ceviche any kind from peruvian cuisine.
Hope you enjoyed it. I voted you.

Thank you very much! It was tasty!

Yes I think @world-travel-pro thanks you for support!!

You gonna be in Panama Nicaragua Columbia anytime soon? I thinkin bout a 20 day cruise from San Diego to Boston and there is several port stops. I'm gonna go April 22-May12 if I do it.

Strange. I'm about one year too late. I was in all three of those countries like exactly a year ago! Now my rout is south to Chili, Argentina, and Uruguay! Our paths will cross eventually I'm quite sure of that.

Sounds like an awesome cruise! Enjoy! -Dan

Friend Dan, good video and excellent description. Ceviche is a dish that has spread through many countries in South America, although I think its origin is Asian (I'm not sure about it). I'm glad you liked it, here in Venezuela, in the coastal area, you eat often and, in general, it's made with white meat fish. I will watch your publications. Best regards.

I think you are right about all that. All I know is that it's popular all over the coastal regions of central and South America. Yes a nice clean white fish is best! Thanks for your continued support! -Dan

The civiche looks authentic. We've had it 'recently' (like two months' ago) at a Mexican restaurant. The lime 'cooking' the seafood ensures that the bacteria is killed. This is what the chef/owner told us, but we were not that afraid of eating raw seafood (depends on the seafood). For example, we love sushi, but we have come accustomed to eating decent sushi after a string of bad, cheap and tasteless sushi.
Thanks for giving us a 'taste' of Peruvian cuisine. Roasted Guinea Pig next?

You guys and I have a lot in common including food we like. I have not tried the ginue pig. I heard many foreigners who have tried say it's not very good and very boney. Have you tried it?

Yes we do have a lot in common!

Sam has tried the Guinea Pig - two ways - roasted and on a pizza. He had it in Cusco with his friends before trekking to Macchu Picchu. He didn't like it. Very tough and quite strong in flavour!
✈️👫

EXACTLY! That's what everyone says! So I've never tried. If everyone said it tasted good, like civiche I'd certainly try it. What about Alpaca Steaks? Have you guys tried that?

Nope we haven't tried Alpaca steak. We missed that one out. How was it? Chewy? Tasty? Furry?
✈️👫

The Alpaca is like my new favorite! It's like a cross between steak and pork. It's tender, tasty, not so furry! lol

So, you can have it done your way or is it straight out cooked?

We're glad it wasn't so furry, but a few hairs here and there didn't hurt anyone. lol

✈️👫

Haha. Each restaurant does it their own way. Higher end restaurants do a western style thick steak. Lower end do a thin cut. But it's all good! Going to get more tonight! Peru has great food. I'm impressed.

I have never had a black clam ceviche. Sounds delicious! I hope to try some one day. Thanks!

Thanks for your continued support! It's good. If you even make it to Peru this is the place to try it.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-eats-13-civiche-de-conchas-negras-on-the-streets-of-mancora-peru-video-and-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43