You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Update: Why I'm Lovin' Playa del Carmen, Mexico

in #travel7 years ago

I'm at about 25 dollars a day. Only because I got a nicer place with a swimming pool AC, fridge, free water, common kitchen..... It's back 3 blocks from the highway and a 15 minute walk to the beach, where prices are cheaper. Casaejido, run by a British woman. Great quality place. I was able to negotiate down to 20 dollars a night on 8 nights, 5 dollars a day for food no problem when you go to places like you see above. I mean it's really filling. You can get a burrito there for 3.50 that you can barely finish!

To get an apartment for 350 a month should be no problem, and another 250, for living expenses. Piece of cake. I may likely come here for a month or two in the future. I really like it.

The thing is an unskilled tourist wouldn't have a clue on how to find the deal I got on the hotel, and would likely blow their budget eating every meal on the strip, then dropping 50 dollars at the bar, then souvenirs, expensive tours, and so on. They would probably be staying in 120 dollar a night beachfront resort as well.

Since this is my permanent lifestyle, I simply can't be like that. I'd go broke before I knew it. Fortunately for me I enjoy walking around. Seriously, I'll go on several walks a day. Mingle with the locals and see what I can see. Take some photos, like a walking tour. It's my favorite thing to do. Learn the location, the people, culture, try the street food as well. It's what I enjoy most wherever I go. I analyze everything, being a Virgo to the T, naturally that's what I do best. Now I report on it here on steemit, I enjoy writing, and now getting paid for it. I really feel blessed. I don't need much to be happy.

Thanks for your comment and up-vote!

Sort:  

so you are west of the highway? Yeah, that all makes sense. That actually looks like a pretty nice place to me. Good find.

Yep, nice quiet location. They gave me the kind sweet with private kitchen for 4 days cause the smaller room I wanted was taken. Would have been about 13.5 a night otherwise. I'm 3 blocks from that huge Chandrui "Wal-Mart" type store. I prefer it here over something in the middle of the tourist hub-bub.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60814.60
ETH 2715.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44