You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Update: Why I'm Lovin' Playa del Carmen, Mexico

in #travel7 years ago

Thanks for that info. I always leave a tip anyway, I gues I'm used to other places in Latin America where the culture certainly does not expect a tip. Thank you for correcting me. Is this how all of Mexico is or only because Playa del Carmen is a touristy place, in the vicinity of Cancun...? You obviously have more experience in Mexico than I do. Thanks for you comment! Fish tacos are awesome!

Sort:  

I've never tipped somebody in a restaurant in Mexico that was surprised I was tipping them, from my experience it's just pretty standard all across the board but the percentage amounts may be lower than what is normal in Canada or the USA.

As with tipping anywhere in North America, tips are not generally required, but any amount is greatly appreciated even if it's just 10%. I'm not sure how tips are shared in Mexico... but in Canada and the USA it's pretty normal that the server has to pay 5-7% of their total sales into a tip pool for all the support staff. So in those cases if you only tip your server 10% of the total sales on the bill, they'll only take home less than half of the tip you gave them.

I'm curious if servers in Mexico keep their tips or share them amongst the whole staff or if it changes from restaurant to restaurant.

Thanks for your great response. I'll certainly keep all this in mind next time in Mexico. Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60814.60
ETH 2715.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44