Naples is a scary placesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Dear diary,

To be honest, I'm afraid to walk down the street and look for a good pizza place. This city is dirty and full of homeless people: a lot of them allegedly emigrated from Africa. I've read that the mafia has a major influence in the town and that here their laws apply. Holes made by bullets in a shop window or in an entrance door are not a rare sight. Just like security or police located close to ATM machines to make sure that your money withdrawal really stays yours. But what I miss the most is that there is no greenery. I haven't seen a single green park where I could go jogging. Every now and then I ask myself: “Where am I wandering?” I’ve surprised myself because I’m not locked in an apartment, all scared and hiding under the blanket. Well, even though nothing happened to me, it's still a horrible feeling. When panic hits me, I just look at Ian. His calmness instantly affects me. We decided to visit a nearby castle, so I could see a nicer side of this city. A view from the top of the castle opened up widely. Silently, I watched this big city and the majestic Mount Vesuvius in the background. He explained to me that Vesuvius is still alive and an eruption considered as a threat. That made me think about the connection Naples-Vesuvius and I can say that the city radiates the energy of the volcano. Here, the people live in uncertainty. They don't know if evacuation will happen in their lifetime, or it will be a part of the next generation. It may also never happen. No one knows. Volcano aside, each one of us has an uncertain future: what matters is how you handle the present. What if someone went on a journey and lost everything due to the eruption? How would he accept this fate and the hint of the gods? Would he become angry and devastated or would he realize that he is the lucky one because his life has been spared?

Napoli (2).jpg

Exploring the streets has become great fun and I’ve got rid of the unjustified fear. What if we somehow influence bad things happening to us just by thinking about them? The best way to comfort my soul when I host my own pity party is a good dessert: it always has been and it always will be. Some things just don't change. There is nothing that a gourmet dessert can't fix. And here, I can choose from a wide variety of sweets. The streets are full of pastry shops: everything looks yummy and it's hard to decide which one to pick. However, what about the famous pizza?

Napoli (4).jpg
We were wandering in a small street and looking for a good place, where you get that real Italian pizza. In some restaurants, you can see pictures of famous persons, who were eating there. However, our attention was drawn to a pizza place with a long waiting line. Well, if everybody’s waiting just to get some pizza, it must be good! And it really was. There, I ate the best pizza of my life. The crusty and soft dough, and, at the same time, just a few tasty fresh ingredients on the top. Oh, the place was called Gino Sorbillo.

Napoli (1).jpg

Buildings are something special in here

Napoli (5).jpg

Vivi is observing this architectural achievement

Napoli (7).jpg

Graffiti at its finest

Sort:  

I'm more than sorry that you have such a bad experience with Naples since this is one of my favorites cities in Europe. Maybe you read too much Roberto Saviano and haven't done deeper research? To me, Naples is the capital of the Mediterraneo: from Phoenicians to Great Greece to Romans, Byzantium and Swabian, Aragonese and Anjou through Murat and Napoleon until the Bourbon domination. The kingdom since 1285 extended until Baghdad and Jerusalem. The city loved by Virgil, Stendhal, Goethe, Melville, Sminck van Pitloo, Marlowe, Baškirceva, Strutt ...Mozart, Giordano Bruno, Caravaggio, Croce, Fanzago Cosimo, Loren Sophia, Pasolini, Salvator Rosa, Torquato Tasso until Andy Warhol, Maradona, John Turturro and even Bill Clinton ;). I wish me and my friends, Napolitans could be your guide, maybe you would have changed your opinion. By the way, this is me, 2 weeks ago in Naples. In one piece, healthy and happy after hours roaming around the city :) What you see behind me, is Gaiola. Check it out :)
26941059_10211434848483288_109034801_n.jpg

Hello @agniese,

if you read it carefully you would see we get a better picture later. At first sight it was scary, but when you get used to it is better. Yes it is port city and there is a lot of immigrants , poverty and criminal. Those factors are critical for bad situation. Also there is still present Mafia and corruption. Funny, but I never saw a sign "don't trust anyone and talk only with officially staff" when I was purchasing my first bus ticket . Also I newer saw that much (actually it is rare to see it at all) those locks on car steering wheels :) Al those signs makes you crazy... But however, experience was ok. We will visit Naples again and we can meet, so you an show us some cool places.

All well

DSC00587.jpg

It's been a long time since i was in Naples. Almost 20 years if I think about it. I remember it by crazy drivers ignoring red lights and honking. And there was a big dispute around the waste dumps and the waste was everywhere.

But the city itself was amazing for me. Security wasn't an issue back than at all :) I remember we went swimming at 23:00 O'Clock and the volcanic sand (dark color) was something i never saw before.

Vesuvius was even more impressive to me.

Yes scenery is amazing there for sure. Well I think back in time it was much safer city. Today are immigrants and homeless people in big numbers there. Their unemployed rate is high... But anyway. Food, city itself and Vesuvius with sea are TOP

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61812.63
ETH 2432.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63