Don't mess with Singapore border police ! Our travel story

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

You have already read about the incident on the border check in Singapore. Well, this was not the first time I had a problem with their authority. Yes, a few years ago, when I was in Singapore for a week I had a close encounter with them. Back then I was leaving the country and they kept me on the border because my picture in the passport was different than I was in reality. Sure, I had lost a few pounds. However, if you had paid just a little attention you could have seen that you were looking at the same person. Well, in the interrogation room I was in a company of two very strange looking guys and a lady who was hiding in a truck wheel. After some questions, where I had been and where I was headed, in addition to five different photos of me and a few documents, such as the driver’s license and some other cards, they released me. Not to mention, I almost missed my bus because the driver refused to wait a little bit longer. In his story, I was a drug trafficker and my life was over right there… Anyway, I left the country and that was it at the time.

Singapore night 1.jpg

gardens by the bay.jpg

So, in my book Singapore is for sure very strict country and their residents are controlled. However, I think this is not bad. My experience with Singaporeans is that they aren’t very smart and they need to be controlled. To be clear, I was in touch mostly with those behind the counters, services, restaurants, bars, and shops. You need to explain everything three times. And it is not a language difference. It’s just too much data to process. For example: in a restaurant, you order a dish without any sauce added. The first response will be: “O.K., let me check it for you, Sir”. And then the waiter goes to the supervisor who says: ”O.K., we can do that.” After a few minutes, your order is ready to go. That is why it’s not uncommon to see a white guy as a manager and a bunch of Singaporeans performing the service. And when I say a bunch I really mean it. There is one for bringing you water, another one for taking your order and the third one for the service. Sometimes, there is another one for bringing you the bill. Anyway, they are extremely nice. I haven’t met more polite nation than Singaporeans. Well, yeah, sometimes you will lose your nerves with your order. However, they will soften you with a smile. I also noticed they are very paranoid. You will get the feeling, they are preparing for a world war or something. Every new condo must have a bomb shelter. You will see a lot of military activity and jets are flying on the daily basis. All over the city, there are billboards about terroristic attacks and how to respond. A friend of mine also said they have a lot of drills in case of an attack, catastrophe, etc.

DSC08401-1.jpg

DSC08630-1.jpg

What I love in Singapore are their green surfaces. You are in the crowded and modern city, but you won’t have that feeling. Everywhere around you is greenery. They are including the greenery in their architecture which is amazing. And for a photographer, that is more than amazing. You know, that huge contrast – greenery and concrete. Because of trees and good public transport, the air in the city is of a high quality. What I don’t like there are the shopping malls. Oh my god, even if you don’t want to visit one, you must if you will take MRT (their subway system). Their subway systems are mostly crossed in shopping malls and the links are right through it. But O.K. This is a minor disadvantage. So, Singapore in my eyes has a high rate, and I can imagine myself living in this country.

Singapore (8).jpg

Singapore (3).jpg

Sort:  

Good info about the MRT mall connection - when we visit next year I will have to have a strategy to keep brightonbonnie distracted whenever we have to make a connection!

He he. Yes exactly. Prepare your wallet mister

When we left for our 90-day roadtrip to Tahiti-Oz-NZ 2 years ago brightonbonnie was just recovering from a respiratory issue so I'd booked assistance for our first few flights. It made things a lot easier getting to the gate, or between gates - particularly given a very short connection in Los Angeles. We breezed through the unexpectedly large indoor mall in our departure terminal on an oversize golf cart - if we hadn't done that I'm convinced we might still be there shopping. I wonder if I can arrange the same thing with MRT? Thoughts?

I guess not. But you can use rather taxi it will get you cheaper in this case. And just made up a story about attacking rats on the subways.

Awesome idea - she hates rats! And snakes. And spiders. Lots of possibilities...

Great story ive never visited Singapore but would love too one day. I love your explanation of the simpleness and warmth of love of the Singaporeans too. 😊 wishing you a wonderful day

I am glad you like it. Thank you very much for stoping by. I wish you too a nice day.

The beauty of traveling, always makes you richer with experience. Thank you for your story. It was a good read.

Yes. I couldn't agree more. It is my pleasure. Thank you for stopping

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wnfdiary
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=don-t-mess-with-singapore-border-police-our-travel-story


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

nice story, yes they normally check everything. specially for drug and cigarette.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58