Come With Me to Kyoto, Japan

in #travel7 years ago

If you could visit Japan, where would you go? Most people would say Tokyo, but this is why you should go to Kyoto instead.

05.jpg

Tokyo is modern Japan at it's best. It has all of the energy, technology, and quirky style that Japan is famous for. But I wanted to get to know the rich culture of Japans past. Many people don't know that Kyoto was the capital of Japan before it was moved to Tokyo in the 19th century. Since Kyoto served as Japan's capital at one point, there are many palaces, temples, shrines and other historical sites that have been preserved from those times.

Kyoto is no small city by any means. With a population of about 1.4 million, it has all the amenities of a modern city while maintaining its traditional roots. There's nothing I love more than the juxtaposition of a 30 story building next to a 400 year old temple.

03.jpg

  • First let's talk transportation ...
    Kyoto does have a great subway and bus system, though I found it a tad confusing at first. Maybe it was just where I was located, but there was very little English on the ticket machines. So, after walking around like a turkey in the rain for some time, I finally decided to ask a local for some help. And boy are the people in Kyoto helpful. Every conversation I had with a local was always very pleasant. Compared to Korea, the English level of the locals was much higher. I downloaded the Arukumachi Kyoto transportation app and after learning how to use it, it was a breeze to get around. I always try to avoid taxis at all costs. I just feel like they don't provide me with the local experience I try to get when visiting a new country. But taxis in Kyoto (and the rest of Japan I believe) are amazing.
    12049190_10153751645928534_3314870370755057162_n.jpg
    Don't let the old fashioned look fool you! Most of these taxis have doors that open automatically for you.
    taxi.jpg

  • Don't forget to try the ramen!
    The two most popular dishes in Japan are, of course, ramen and sushi. I'm sure I don't need to persuade anyone to give them a try while in Japan. Sushi shops are everywhere and you really can't go wrong when picking one. Don't expect any American style rolls though. You're not going to find them here!

If you're looking for an AMAZING ramen shop in Kyoto, check out "Ippudo."
ramen.jpg

sushi 2.jpg

sushi.jpg

Okay, maybe you weren't expecting a picture of ice cream here. But can I just say how much i LOVED the green tea soft serves!!
You can find a stand just about everywhere. I think I had at least one every day I was in Kyoto. I'm sure I tried all of the flavors. ~~~~drum roll please...... the green tea and vanilla swirl one was the winner ;)

green tea.jpg

  • Arashiyama is great for a day trip.
    If you're looking for souvenirs, this is the place to go. Arashiyama features tons of shops full of cute trinkets for everyone in your family. Here you can also visit the beautiful bamboo groves and Tenryuji Temple. If you happen to visit when the weather is good, you can even take a boat ride through the mountains. Unfortunately for me, it started raining just as I was planning to take a ride on the boats :( . For the full experience, you can also find shops where you can rent kimonos. I saw countless people, both Japanese and foreign, walking down the street in gorgeous kimonos.

kimono.jpg

temple.jpg

temple 2.jpg

statues.jpg

boat.jpg

I hope this picture does justice to the size of these fish. They were HUGE.

fish.jpg

bamboo.jpg

bamboo 2.jpg

12045403_10153751640918534_1081655749896857322_o.jpg

  • Fushimi Inari-taisha is a must see!

Okay, I will admit, once you've seen one shrine, you've pretty much seen them all. The style and colors were pretty consistent everywhere that I visited. But, if you could only pick one, go to Fushimi Inari-taisha. This shrine features a hiking trail covered in torii gates. These gates come in various sizes, but even the small ones are a sight to see. I noticed that most of the gates had writing on the posts. Curious as to why, I found out that the gates are donations given to the shrine by regular people or companies. And boy, they are NOT cheap. Prices can go as high as 1 million yen for a large gate. The name of the donor is placed on the gate after it is made.

gates 1.jpg

This hiking trail is always packed with people, so If you want to get a picture without anyone in the shot, get ready to wait for quite some time!

gates 3.jpg

gates 2.jpg

  • Kinkaku-ji is a photographers dream

Seriously, how many places feature a golden pavilion?? What more can I say about this except bring a nice camera ;). (I just had a crappy point and shoot...but I think the pictures still came out pretty good :D )

golden temple.jpg

golden temple 2.jpg

  • Nijō Castle

Nijo castle may be a bit too touristy for most, but give it a chance. Aside from being beautiful, the castle has a pretty good tour available that teaches you a lot about the history of the castle and royal family. I don't think you need to be a history buff to enjoy it at all. The castle is full of special rooms that each served a unique purpose in the past. Pictures were not allowed inside of the castle, but the outside was still great for some quick snaps.

nijo1.jpg

nijo2.jpg

nijo 3.jpg


If you've been reading, I'm sure you've noticed the absence of anything about Geisha in this post. But, I feel like the story about the Geisha's requires it's own blog post. So I'm going to save that for another day. I've got some great pictures and videos to share with you!

geisha.jpg

So here's my question for you: Have you been to Kyoto? If yes, what was your favorite part. If no, which attraction do you most want to see?

If you found this post interesting and want to see more, don't forget to follow~

Wishing you a great day,
Jay ~

Sort:  

Hey Jay. Great review and photos. Very entertaining read.
I stayed in Ginza for a couple of days before a work meeting but Kyoto looks more my kinda place.
Thanks for sharing.

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it :).
Kyoto is definitely the place to visit if you enjoy a slower lifestyle and beautiful scenery.

I have just posted about Shibuya in Tokyo. Although there is great, I definitely wish to visit Kyoto one day! The golden castle looks so shiny. I've seen it a couple of times on the internet.
I definitely want to visit Hokkaido too! Hakodate, Sapporo... They all seem very interesting. Please visit my post and leave a comment! Thank you in advance! I will keep an eye on your profile!

Kyoto is a really nice change from the crazy city life of Tokyo. If you ever get the chance, it's definitely worth 2 or 3 days of exploring :) . I'll check out your blogs as well ~ Thank you for commenting!

Kyoto is a nice place in japan😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51