MAJESTIC MYANMAR PART 1

in #travel6 years ago

As a solo female traveler, one of my all time favorite destination is Myanmar. Not only was Myanmar breathtakingly beautiful, safe and convenient to get around, the people were also friendly and welcoming. One will easily be able survive in this unique country armed with either English or Mandarin Chinese.

My journey began in Mandalay. I flew into Mandalay via Air Asia and stayed for several days before taking a local bus with air-conditioning to Nyaung Shwe, the closest gateway town to access Inle Lake. Similarly, I stayed in Nyaung Shwe for several days and again took a local long distance bus to Bagan. After spending some leisurely time exploring Inle Lake and it's surrounding attractions, I was ready to take on the dusty as well as humid ancient capital city. While in Bagan, I also did a half a day sightseeing trip to Mount Popa. The longest bus ride was from Bagan to Yangon which took approximately 12 hours.

Myanmar_Map1.jpg

I love the weather in Mandalay especially during winter. It was cool and dry. Perfect for obtaining crisp photographs. The same evening I arrived in Mandalay, I only had time to take a brief walk around the outer periphery of the royal palace. The next three days were spent exploring Mandalay Hill, Mahamuni Temple, Sagaing, Mingun and U-bein bridge. I even met a kind lady nearby the royal palace who brought me to a local restaurant to try a local delicacy known as tea leaf salad. We exchanged contacts and still kept in touch via WeChat.

Mandalay1.jpg

Mandalay2.jpg

Mandalay3.JPG

Sagaing3.jpg

Mingun_Bell.jpg

Sagaing.jpg

U-bein.jpg

Nyaung Shwe was the most relaxing destination throughout the entire trip. Observing the acrobatic mobility of Intha fishermen while waiting for sunset in Inle Lake was the most amazing sight never to be missed out. The calming and serene waters had a therapeutic effect on me. It felt like more of a vacation than travelling. Another awesome place to visit while in Nyaung Shwe is Red Mountain Winery. Since I was there on a Saturday, I had the opportunity to visit the weekly marketplace. I got there by tailing the local ladies carrying colorful grocery bags like a stalker. The Saturday market was bustling with an array of smell, sound and sights. There were an overwhelming assortment of fruits, vegetables, wild herbs, betel nuts, chickpea tofu, rice crackers and etc.

Inle1.jpg

Intha.jpg

Intha2.jpg

Intha4.jpg

Red_Mountain.jpg

Red_Mountain2.jpg

Inle2.jpg

Inle7.JPG

To be continued...

Sort:  

Nice i can't wait to see the remaining post

Thank you for reading my post :-)

Thanks......expecting more

ဓာတ္ပုံေတကလွတယ္ image

i upvoted it and resteemit it to my 30,500 followers. will you upvote this? @a-0-0

Congratulations @wittywheat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61258.65
ETH 3372.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53