I travel Asia part 2 ( Indonesia ) A trek to Mount Rinjani, the head in the clouds

in #travel8 years ago

After a short stay in Sakura , here we are on the way to Lombok , neighboring Bali, for a trek to Mount Rinjani then rest to Gili Air .

Mount Rinjani

Mount Rinjani , considered one of the toughest treks volcanic world . It must be said that the summit of the volcano rises to 3726 meters. What have sore calves before starting to climb.

Following the testimony of a friend he met on a trip, we hesitated between making this trek in two or three days ... or not do it at all. I must say that my friend did not pull any punches: "  This trek is super dangerous ", "  There are deaths every year ", "  Ca slips ", "  Ca quail ", "  It shows us that as a health walk ", etc. ! Ahem. A little Internet research is needed. The travel bloggers who have made ​​this trek are unanimous: this is a very difficult trek. But doable. And above all it is worth.

Finding trek

Some will tell you to go there to find the trek of your dreams. Others choose a tour among the agencies or "touts". We opted for the third option. By laziness, I admit.

We barely get off the boat that took us to Lombok, an agency accosts us to sell us this famous trek to Mount Rinjani! After many discussions and negotiations, we have come to accept a trek to 1.2 million rupees (€ 80) for two days , the ride to the starting village, a hotel night and the ride (taxi and boat ) to Gili Air. Knowing that Mr. agency offered us 2 million at the start, we're good outings. However, be aware that it is easier to negotiate discounts with a three-day trek.

Physically I do not feel able to do three days. That is to say: climb 2000 vertical meters. Sleeping on top of the crater. Walking down the crater and sleep there. Go to the top at night. Then down the whole. We therefore opted for a two-day trek: one climbs to the crater. We sleep there and we go back down the next day. It was good enough for me!

The trek: between physical torture and pleasure

The climb starts hard and immediately! Both in France, the hiking trails up, down a little, tournicotent ... So to Mount Rinjani, you climb continuously for 8 hours straight. If at the beginning, one of our comrades said "  It's in the head girls! ", 3 hours later, I find myself waiting while others are making great strides in front of us or in small steps behind us. 

We spend our morning walk in the forest. But once we began the second part, we discover beautiful landscapes worthy of the Lord of the Rings . We finally arrive at the volcano's crater. We are above the clouds. Gradually, they cover the sky like a rising tide.

On the other side, the volcano's crater is there. Blue and majestic. (Despite a slightly hazy picture.) We see a little smoke. The top of the volcano seems, meanwhile, unattainable. I observed from a distance. As if taunting me. But no, I do not have the strength to go to the top. 

 We sit down to admire the most beautiful sunset I have had the opportunity to see. Magical moment. It's a real daydream.  That day, I really had ... head in the clouds. 

 (The distance you can see Mount Agun Bali) 

While we admire the sun disappear over the horizon, our guides and porters pitch tents. Actually, no, they were already installed when I arrived. They prepare us a meal worthy of the name. We just have to put your feet under the table ... or sit down and eat.

 

At 19 h 30, everyone took to bed. It must be said that it is cold at 3000 meters altitude. The night is relaxing for anyone ... At 6 pm, everyone is standing almost. Breakfast is ready. Our porters and guides enjoy a break to capture the satellite football match of the World Cup! Around 7 pm, my girlfriend and I descend accompanied by a Quebec too ill to continue and a carrier as a guide.

The descent is just as difficult as the climb: it's slippery, it's steep and it is long! Finally, we come down after 6 hours of walking. Fortunately, because my legs would carry me!

A car picks us up to take us to the hotel. We take our meals in waiting for the taxi that will take us to the port for our boat to Gili Air! Synchronization is a bit chaotic. We take the last boat while another traveler misses his for another Gili.

It was the hardest hike I've got to do. But the landscape, the volcano and the sunset well worth the pains I had the following three days ... 

 

The holders, these heroes!

 It does mention that little ... yet. It's them that carry 30 kilos of food and materials to enable us to be in a light trek. In talking with them, we understand that it becomes unbearable for the body. But what can they do? Nothing. The guides are not outdone. Their bag is loaded and they make the path several times a month. The knees wear out. The back weakens. All for a pittance ... 

 Practical information :

Do not underestimate your physical abilities or the difficulty of the trek.  No need to be a great athlete to do the trek, perhaps. But being in shape physically seems essential, especially if you do three days.A couple of my group arrived three hours after us in the dark. In total, only 5 members of my group went to the top.

Equip yourself! If you do not have equipment of a professional, consider getting a fleece, light gloves, windproof and above all, good shoes! If you can find hiking sticks, they will be your best friends.

Educate yourself before leaving  : bargain overnight stay in one of two villages near the start: Senaru or Sembalun Lawang. Otherwise you have to get up at 5 am to join your group. Do not hesitate to question the agency in question to ensure its seriousness or for anything that goes through your head.
 

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for this great post, i'm going to Indonesia in the fall, and Gili & Lombock in my travel list too. Very useful information)

Excellent. like to visit onece

travel around Asia is one of my wishes

I believe in Steemit, I believe in You!
Good afternoon, I want to invite you to support my post dedicated to my dream and development and good advertizing of community of Steemit! I want to make the balloon on which I am going to visit many large cities and to place the logo and the slogan Steemit on it.
Support me and I will support you!
URDL : https://steemit.com/steem/@vdoh/rise-steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48