Stoke's Bay Tamarac Island Bruce Peninsula Ontario Canada

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends, It was the weekend of June 15, 2018, we headed up to my father's birthplace Stoke's Bay Ontario.
This small fishing community is located on the Bruce Peninsula a beautiful part of Ontario. Within this community is a small island where there are some cottages,homes and these cool resort with 6 unit motel and a nice little 4 person cabin. Here is a series of photos I shot of the area that we stayed at.
sbtisign.JPG
The small beautiful little cabin we stayed in from the front.
sbticabinfrt.JPG
Another frontal view of the ruins of the Tamarac Mills beside it.
sbticabin4.JPG
Some other views of the ruins.
sbtiruins.JPG

sbtiruins1.JPG
This is the back of the small cabin. It comes with free firewood and use of a great deck and a barbeque.
sbticabin1.JPG
Views from the deck of the small cabin when you look to the right you see...
sbtiview.JPG
Then you look to the left and down the river, someone has a tiny house.
sbtirivcab.JPG
When you stand on the front yard of the tiny cabin you see this to the right. This is the old Inn or boarding house on the property. It is currently under a major renovation.
sbticabininnv.JPG
If you look straight up the hill from the front deck of the cabin you see the 6 unit motel of the resort.
sbticabins.JPG
If you stand on the hill beside the motel you see their dock which has full use for the guest of the resort.
sbtiveiw2.JPG
When you stand on the end of the dock and use a telephoto lens you can take a great picture of the Lyal Island lighthouse.
sbtilhv.JPG
Heading back up the hill this is a photo of the Tamarac road crossing the causeway.
sbtiveiw3.JPG
Here is a photo of the cabin from the causeway crossing.
sbticabin3.JPG
The last photo is of a Blue Heron that was hanging around the resort.
sbtibird.JPG
I hope you enjoyed my photos of the Tamarac Island I sure enjoyed taking them.
Thank You for viewing my post.
#travel
#photography
#blog
#stokesbay
#ontario
#canada
#photo

Sort:  

Great photos. thank you.

Thank You for the support!

Looks like some really pretty landscape, nice houses as well. Would be a nice place to visit.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-03T00:03:03
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 182.00/200.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your photo-stoty! Beautiful pics from a nice place. I like Canada.

Thank you for your support and for viewing my post I am happy you enjoyed.

You're bringing back memories of childhood camping trips. My dad's first cottage was just outside of Tobermory and it burned down when I was a week old. Every summer holiday was a camping trip until I was in my teens and we bought property on Manitoulin Island.

I so glad to hear that. :) I have a few childhood memories from the area also it's my Dads family rooted here in the 1800's from Scotland. I love the area I have been pondering on whether I should move there.

I was thinking of that just looking at your photos. Ontario is so beautiful in the summer.

I will have to ask my Mom if we ever camped there. I remember camping at a few other places like Dorcas Bay and Cypress Lake, renting a cottage at Miller Lake, hiking the Bruce trail at Pretty Cove and a few other places. We also stopped for smokies (smoked Herring) in Wiarton and saw Wiarton Willy there on one occasion.

You have been to more places than me on the Bruce. You were lucky my family really wasn't into camping. I like camping though.

Manitoulin is similar but without rattlesnakes.

Right on! My cousin and Aunt would love that. :)

My Mom too. They nicknamed a rocky point near the Tobermory cottage as Rattlesnake Point. She used to walk out there and scream!

Yes it is beautiful I don't even mind a short winter ;)

I am so envious! That looks like the perfect place for a vacation...or to spend the summer! I miss Ontario summers! Tip!

I love it there as you can probably tell. People are so friendly and it is quite. Thank You for the tip!!! :)

Hi @waterfordguy! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: What?? Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94