Eclipse - Glamour StylesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

All the buzz today was the solar eclipse. As the hour of 2:00 PM approached, many of my coworkers in Erie, Pennsylvania were heading towards the break room windows, or, if possible and on a work break, heading to the elevator and downstairs from the sixth floor to the outdoors to look up into the brightness of the sun to witness this natural occurrence. Social media was peppered with advice and caution to avoid looking directly into the sun. Several people ignored that advice and peered into the sun with unprotected eyes and learned how bright this eclipse really is.

As it happened, my scheduled lunch fell on a perfect time to go outside. Stepping outside, I immediately saw the strange phenomena of shadows on a normally bright courtyard. A gentleman I know who works with maintenance had a good idea and was offering a welder's helmet for anyone who wanted to witness the sight as the eclipse progressed. I put the helmet on and the eclipse showed clearly through the protective screen. It was just as I'd seen in books! The eclipse was a little under half way complete.

Eclipse Glamour Style

Ignore the ace bandage on my ankle, please.

I left, and others came to don the helmet and enjoy the sight.

I returned after ten minutes, heading back to my cubicle, but stopped again to view the eclipse. At this point, it was at the half way point.

Ten or fifteen other interested employees waited for the helmet and it was passed from person to person. The gentleman with his helmet enjoying being able to share the event.

Photo Of Eclipse 2017 in Western Pennsylvania

After August 21, 2017 eclipse – the next total eclipse for North America will come on April 8, 2024. Source

The last total solar eclipse viewed from United States was on Feb. 26, 1979. The path passed through the northwestern U.S. states of Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, and Canadian provinces of Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec. Source

Did you get the opportunity to view the eclipse? Nature, in it's magnifcance chooses her own cycles and we are left to admire this wonderful phenomena.

Proud member of the Minnow Support Project on Peace, Abundance & Love Network.
Come join the channel, for uplifting conversation and learn your path on Steemit.

Join Here

logo.jpg
Logo compliments of @KingLeo47

Sort:  

its happened after long time right.

Yes, it did ❤

Well crafted.

I hav use the helmet too to watch the eclipse

there is lot of people have try to see and did get it?

Many at work were able to see the eclipse :)

Congratulations @wandrnrose7! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It was like a hundred million adults got to be kids again for a day. Pretty amusing when you think about it. I'm still waiting for the blind to sue amazon for selling bogus glasses.

I've never heard of someone going blind staring at an eclipse myself...have you Rose?

BTW, I would've completely missed the bandage if you hadn't mentioned it. Hahaha...glad you got a good look. <3

Good morning! No, I've never heard of anyone going blind either. It's very bright and caused temporary vision issues but no more. Thank you for visiting! The ace is just annoying! ❤

So cool of the guy with the helmet to share it for other to see

in Manhattan the streets were packed heading to peak time, many had glasses that looked pretty flimsy, were probably good for looking for a few seconds I am not sure they would be good for looking as long as some of the people were using them for quite long periods

I hope no one hurt their eyes watching it

Some complained about the brightness and being unable to see their monitor after, but I don't think anyone looked too long before realizing the error and stopping their gaze. I saw no one with the glasses you speak of, but a caller advised her employer was selling those flimsy glasses for $30! Thank you for stopping by!

Really great that you all had a chance to enjoy the artistic work of nature. We did not see the eclipse in Sweden this time (I think) but as you say, we can't control nature, which I think is good<3

Thank you for visiting, and no, I prefer not to have a world where man can control nature!

Thankfully my school did an eclipse event and provided glasses for everyone- So cool that someone thought to bring a welder's helmet!

I think it's on the work site, but he was resourceful!! Thank you for visiting. @sunravelme

Great Post, ROSE my Dear! At least you have something to report, my experience was less than "stellar" ;)
Here is my link, I will post your link on my post in the actual article! :D

https://steemit.com/whalepower/@underground/91-total-solar-eclipse-was-a-bomb-here-in-my-ao-lol-pics-included

Thank you, dear. Heading over 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44