Bald Eagle With Nest and Ospreys Too - Land Between the Lakes - Kentucky

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


Posted May 17, 2018

April 30, 2018

Click on image above and see the video.

It took me 60+ years to see my first bald eagle. I finally saw one yesterday, on a hike, near the road that leads to the Smith Bay Campground located in the Land Between the Lakes National Forest. I couldn't get a good video on my first sighting, so I came back the next morning and was successful. I guess not the best video, considering it was taken with my smartphone.

If you want to see it for yourself, below is a map showing where the eagle nest is located. Just search for Birmingham Ferry Campground on Google Maps and use it to find the general location. Find Road 116, take first right, then first forest road to the right and when you reach a steep incline look up and listen. You have walked too far if you reach a cemetary at the top, where the road ends. You can drive your vehicle and park on the forest road, but you should walk the rest of the way so you don't disturb the eagle. Be very quite and you might see it perched in or by the nest.

Screenshot_20180517-135318.png

I also discovered two osprey nests, on two different hikes, during my stay in the woods here. The first, occupied by a pair, was located near a trail in a dead tree, along the shore of Lake Barkley. It is easy walking distance from Nickkel Branch Campground. The second, with only one osprey, was near a picnic area off a scenic road. The nest is perched on a man made platform in the water near the shore of Lake Kentucky. It was really exciting to see these majestic birds so close up.

Ospreys feed only on fish, pair up for life and return to the same nest in early spring to raise their chicks.

20180426_133019.jpg

On some of my future blogs, I’ll tell you about some of the animals I’ve seen and how to identify some wild edible plants. I’m a permanent traveler, with an insatiable wanderlust. I’ve been traveling now for four years and four months. Here is my story, so follow if you are interested.

https://steemit.com/travel/@wanderingagorist/hi-i-m-the-wandering-voluntaryist-chris-greyson


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74