Street Art At It's Best - Maboneng, SAsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey there Steemit buddies,
IMG_2629.JPG

Walter here, back again with a new post.
First and foremost, I wanna thank you guys for all the support on my last post. You guys rock!
This time I am once again exploring SA, more precisely Johannesburg, down at Maboneng.
Which is a part of town popularly known for it's amazing street art. The art is everywhere here, from painted walls, to painted buildings, bridges, unique restaurants, and much more.

I got to know this place by being a curious and adventurous little boy. I signed up for an account at meetup.com and searched for activities to do in Johannesburg, couldn't find much at the time, but there was this one about Maboneng, to be honest I had never heard of Maboneng before, as you might remember I'm from Maputo, Mozambique. So on a Saturday morning, I took a train from Sandton Station straight to Park Station and walked my way to the Maboneng Precint.
Sandton to Park Station.PNG
And let me tell you that it was quite a walk, I did not expect to be walking that much at 10am in the morning with that sun heating hard on my face.
The walk wasn't quite pleasing, I felt somewhat unsafe, too many people on the streets, with veeery dubious appearances, I wouldn't advice anyone to walk by himself around here.
Park Station to Maboneng.PNG
And so, after 20 to 30 minutes walking, and being so late I found the group. - "I am sorry guys." - If you ever get the chance to read this.

Here are some shots:

Right at the start
IMG_2498.JPG IMG_2502.JPG
In case you are thinking that's OBAMA, nope it is not! I later also realised that it's MABONENG, and I just got a piece of the word and it is read from back to front.

IMG_2513.JPG IMG_2517.JPG

IMG_2520.JPG
Arts on main is a well known place where artists get to display and sell their artistry. On Sundays there's usually an open street market right in front of the place. Unfortunately it was Saturday, and there wasn't as much stuff as on the rocking Sundays, even inside the building the market and galleries were closed.

The "Before I die" wall
IMG_2524.JPG

IMG_2525.JPG

IMG_2528.JPG
The popular Maboneng suspended letters!

IMG_2531.JPG IMG_2557.JPG
I love that Stop sign!

Remember me talking about unique restaurants?
IMG_2549.JPG IMG_2577.JPG

IMG_2564.JPG

The Gate to Art Town!
IMG_2615.JPG

Well, this is interesting
IMG_2613.JPG

Container buildings hamn!
IMG_2601.JPG IMG_2655.JPG

IMG_2664.JPG

Well, that is all from me!
See you in the next one!
Peace and Love!

Sort:  

Congratulations @walterxp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=walterxp
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-art-at-it-s-best-maboneng-sa


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Hi @walterxp. Cool place. I like street art. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64863.39
ETH 3196.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53