Top 5 Mysterious Places To Visit In The United States

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

There are mysterious places that challenge our understanding of the world and our history and this is a list of the top 5 mysterious places in the United States that I am dying to visit. 

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)

5. The Devil's Tower

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Not only is the Devil's Tower the first site to be a protected national monument, established in 1906, but it is also a place that has been revered and feared for centuries by Native Americans. On the eastern side of Wyoming rests a tower made of rock that isn't supposed to be there. The formation is radically different from it surroundings and the legends that surround it are fascinating.

4. Oregon Vortex

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The Oregon Vortex located in Gold Hill Oregon, is a ver curious place that has attracted tourists since 1930. Weird things happen at the Vortex. Brooms stand on end. Balls roll up hill and people feel strange sensations. It is one place to check out if you are ever in the North West.

3. Newport Tower

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The Newport Tower located in Newport Rhode Island is a unique building and possibly the best evidence that Europeans visited America before Christopher Columbus. It is an interesting site that is debated by archeologists and historians. Some say it was just a windmill built in the 1700's, but there is a lot of evidence that it could be much, much older.

2. Serpent Mound

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

In the southern part of Ohio on the edge of an ancient meteor crater, there is a mound of earth in the shape of a snake eating an egg. This is a place I really want to visit and you should to.  A huge serpent has been molded and winds across the landscape and can only be fully appreciated from the sky... much like the Nazca Lines.  This place is near the top of my list because of it is telling a story of people that we don't even have in our history books right now. The greatest mystery is who built it?

1. Coral Castle

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

To me, this man-made castle built out of coral rock near Miami Florida is a magical place for me. I am using the story of the Coral Castle in a book I am writing and it tells a fictionalized story of how Ed Leedskalnin came up with the knowledge to move giant stone rock with no major tools and his meager 100 pound frame. The Coral Castle was built by a single man and it is incredible to think he built it all alone over two decades. He said he learned the secrets of the pyramid builders and I believe him. He knew something we don't even understand today. An amazing story, and incredible place and a lost mystery has this as my number 1.


Let me know what places you think are mysterious that you want to visit in the comments below. Have you heard of these or been to any of them? Let me know.


If you liked this post you will probably like this one too... 5 More Mysterious Places To Visit In The United States

To my followers, you are the mystery that keeps me searching.

Sort:  

This was very interesting--I love a good mystery! One place you might want to add to the list is Mystery Hill, New Hampshire, aka America's Stonehenge
http://www.stonehengeusa.com/

Mystery Hill is really cool. I saw it first on some History Channel show. Pretty cool place. I want to go. I'll add it on the next list, good call. You got a new follower.

Thanks so much---following you as well and looking forward to more of your posts and more mysterious places to visit

Working on the next one now. lol. I'll have it up today.

If you state the source of the gif. I will nominate you for @ocd.

Updated. I am sorry, I normally do it all the time. Thanks a lot. You got a new follower too.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I would be honored. You are awesome! I'm a fan of the @ocd and this is really cool. Thank you.

Hi...just read a couple of your articles I found on the internet for Steem Tips. I decided to look you up and came to this post! It was awesome to see you posted Devils Tower as your #1 as we just left there yesterday! Have you been there? It is a sight to see!!!! We just posted more pictures today and yesterday @soulsavers Again, thanks for the tips!

Awesome, thank you for checking it out. I really appreciate it. No, I have not been there. I will check out your pictures for sure. These are the five places that I want to visit. Thank you so much for reading and you got a new follower.

Ahah, good synchronicity!

Haven't heard of any of those. I like learning about cool new places. Thanks!

You are so very welcome. Check out the story behind the Coral Castle, it is amazing. Just incredible. Thanks for reading and the reply, you got a new follower.

I will definitely visit it when I go there! Thank you! Upvoted!

Thank you! Let me know what you think when you visit! Post a blog about it!!! You got a new follower so I can read it one day. Thanks for the reply.

Thank you for follow. I will go there when I have money :))

Interesting post. Cool Stuff. Keep it up!

Thank you so much. I appreciate it.

Looks like some interesting sites... certainly due a visit to the US soon! :)

We'd love to have you.

Those all look like places I'd want to check out.
First stop, Oregon Vortex. Since it's closest.

Thanks!

Please let me know if you go. Thanks for reading. Hope all is well.

We are heading down that way next week. I'll try and get some good photos.

If you have a chance, you should also check out Bishop Castle in Colorado
http://www.bishopcastle.org/
It was built by hand and has some really cool artwork surrounding it

Bishop Castle is awesome! I really want to visit for sure. Thanks for sharing. I appreciate it. You got a new follower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41