You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life Without a TV

in #travel7 years ago

I have a TV, but I don't at the same time. I pay the smallest amount I can to get cable/internet and still have the golf channel. I haven't watched a TV show in a long time. I don't turn the thing on except for a big golf tournament, my wife likes the mindlessness of the shopping channel now and again.

In fact it's a true waste of money in our lives. I couldn't tell you who the latest stars are or what show is most popular, I really don't know. Funniest thing about this, being a truth seeker in life, people realize that about you and then start suggesting shows I might like.

People continue to tell me that "House of Cards" sounds like the stuff that I talk about, that I should watch it. I tell them, I'm watching that show, only in the reality of how whacked out the political/world spectrum. I don't need that show to tell me in the MSM fashion of what is really happening, I'm already watching it. smh

Sort:  

Ok, I can see the trend now of people who like the golf channel here haha. And I see that there are people who can control themselves and not let themselves be controlled by the TV. I prefer to stay away from it since I can be out of control sometimes lol.

It's a shame too that I can't tell you the latest stars.

I watch the tournaments on mute. I hate the announcers. The propaganda they spew is reprehensible. I would love an option to watch sports without announcers, crowd noise only.

Glad that you aren't caught up in the TV Brainwash. I can't imagine having guests in my house and having the TV on. If me and my guests couldn't carry a conversation, I wouldn't have them over again.

There are people who like to watch a football game together or something. This thing happens in South America, usually in a sports bar though or some cheap restaurant with TV. But that should be about it. After the show, back to conversation about the result lol.

Hey, I'm hell with a 60-degree wedge; my short game​ is not too shabby, so it's not all about the couch:)
And yeah, muting was something I picked up on when I was young and used to do 6-hours of motor skill guitar practicing. My next openmic upload tomorrow is going to have a cool Coda at the end with the refrain: I've gotten old and gray.
Damn, I'm with wakeupsheeps:)

Ok yeah, I get it. Fine, I'll go find someone to cuddle with in front of a TV (but not for a long time).

PS. I'm done with in defense of TV life.😊

You can't be done with it until you watch, Breaking Bad! Arguably​ the best series ever produced:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 69344.75
ETH 3687.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.27