Your Twenties: A time to Grow, Learn, and Explore

in #travel7 years ago

I lost count of the number of times my mum asked me to take my life slow. I am under this constant pressure to succeed that sometimes I forget I am in my twenties. This got me thinking: what should I use these years for? No kids, no major commitments, done with college (for now)...

If you're like me, let's try use our twenties to explore, learn, and grow. I made a deliberate effort to breath. FYI, you can be alive and not be breathing. Since then, I enjoy learning from my mistakes, learning new skills, meeting people from different cultures...

Studies have shown that most things like languages and certain skills are better off learned early. Your 20s might not be as early as you would like, but it is early enough.

Despite not being the most glamorous period in one's life, be sure to make it count. Learn how to take care of the household and clean around. Once the time comes where other people will rely on you, you will be up for the task. Thankfully, both men and women can now be hands on deck without fear of retribution based on traditional beliefs.

Read, read, and read - make reading a habit when you still have the energy. Reading extensively expands one's thinking and perspective. You will stumble upon countless opportunities and ideas, and you also get to travel to different placed based on authors' words.

Get involved in community work as much as you can - this could mean volunteering at a local project or being active in Church or at the Mosque.

Learn to be alone BUT not lonely - very important. It makes one realize and appreciate their strengths, while working on their weaknesses at the same time.

TRAVEL - Travel near and travel far. Whatever you do, don't stay at the same place. Travel makes you a better version of yourself, by reminding you of the small position you occupy in an extremely diverse world.

Know yourself and be yourself - if you don't do this, you will be swayed left, right, and center by different opinions and stands.

Signed, just another twenty something year old.

Sort:  

Hi, wachera! I just resteemed your post!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot.
If you want to know more about me, read my introduction post.
Good Luck!

Very well said and inspiring. Very, very true! Seems like you are on a journey to a very fulfilled life...what are you currently working on?

I am hoping to create a stable and passive income stream while traveling the world... thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71