Lost in Time Project - Part 4

in #photography6 years ago

Hi Steemians! Welcome back to my "Lost in Time" Project! I have been scanning hundreds, yes hundreds, of slides and am now ready to share Part 4 of my project! This was one is rather exciting as it takes us to Hawaii and our favourite location - The Lake District! I hope you enjoy! - Verity x

Here are links to the previous Parts for you to browse :

PART 1
PART 2
PART 3

Part 4

So if some of you are new to this project its all about me scanning in and reveling long lost photographs that I have inherited from mine and my husbands family and also ones that I have been gifted. I just couldn't bare the idea of no one ever seeing these photographs and them going straight to the tip, I have to admit its been a lot of work to digitize all of these slides but it was been so worth it and I am so excited to share what I have found!

The Marshall Islands

When I stated scanning the next batch of slides I noticed that instantly these were from a whole other continent, and have now learned they are in fact from the Marshall Islands near Hawaii! I have always dreamt of going to Hawaii and looking at these old photographs taken on film cameras by our family members years ago just makes me want to go even more! We think that some of these shots must have been taken my my husbands uncle when he was out there with the military. They are absolutely amazing so I can't wait to share them with you all!

Scan-150330-0003.jpg

So you can imagine my excitement when I saw this image above! It looks like paradise doesn't it! A little atoll, floating out in the turquoise sea! The film is not great quality and it has lasted a good 40-60 years so although there is some grain and noise to these images I still love how vibrant the colours are! The beautiful palm trees and the sandy beach look so welcoming, especially because at the moment we are still experiencing winter weather here!

Scan-150331-0002.jpg

The person taking these images obviously has a keen eye for photography, and is very observant, can you see the beautiful piece of wood on the island on the left hand side? Well so did he, as the next photo shows!!

Scan-150331-0007.jpg

How amazing! I loved this shot as soon as I saw it, its the kind of shot I would have on my wall, I maybe will print it out and do it anyway! It was so amazing to come across shots like this, and to think that if I hadn't taken these images in and scanned them no one else could have enjoyed them, what a shame!

I was even more excited to find sunset shots, I love watching sunsets and my husband and I love going out and taking photographs of them, so I think we have now found where he gets his passion for photography from! Sunsets in countries like this are unlike anywhere else, and although the colours may have been altered over time or due to the film type that they were using they still must have been amazing!

2018-04-05-0004.jpg

Again, here you can see there is some damage to the film but the photograph still shine, those colours are just breathtaking! And considering how dark it was the film camera managed really well with the lighting, remember in the old days there was non of this dynamic range adjustments etc to use!

2018-04-05-0005.jpg

The next shot is one of my favourites, but unfortunately also one of the darkest so its not that clear to see whats going on. From what I can see there is a person taking a dip in the sea in the lovely light, its just such a dreamy scene, I absolutely love it, I nearly didn't scan these ones either as they looked so dark as if they didn't have anything on them, and then when I scanned it in I was so glad I did!

2018-04-05-0006.jpg

This amazing scene from across the sea of the sun setting was another great find, I love shots that create star bursts of the sun and expose for the light instead of mid-tones, the orange light looks so warm!

2018-04-05-0001.jpg

Another beautiful shot below, its a shame its not completely in focus but being on a film camera I always think its part of their charm! The beautiful boat in the corner and the yellow blue tones in the sky are breathtaking! Another shot that either of us could have taken! So weird to think that these have been in out family and we are only discovering them now! Its also so amazing to see HOW many photographs both out families took, I guess even without digital they still wanted to take so many memories, and we are so grateful they did.

2018-04-05-0008.jpg

It looks like whoever took these shots was interested in the local going on on the islands and these shots below show some people fishing and gathering some food in the sea. These ones are actually really good quality so its nice to see what they would have been up to years ago! The colour tones in these images have come out really good too!

Scan-150331-0003.jpg

I'm not quite sure what this thing is that this guy is standing next to, but maybe something to do with fishing??

Scan-150331-0004.jpg

Scan-150331-0001.jpg

There are military looking vehicles in the next few shots, something that looks like a tank and also some amazing large boats! No one seems to know what exactly was going on and hopefully it was all training! But it all looks very impressive non the less!

Scan-150330-0001.jpg

Scan-150331-0010.jpg

Scan-150331-0012.jpg

Obviously on the islands a few days as there are plenty of images that are from different times etc, this next shot is a photograph from another epic sunset, one that was very red indeed! How beautiful these colours and clouds are!

Scan-150331-0011.jpg

This place looks so idyllic. It is quite popular with divers and is well known for the ship graveyard after the Second Word War. I googled the Marshall Islands to find out more and see some more photographs of this place and was amazed at how small the islands are, hardly islands at all! If you have a look yourself here you can see what I mean! These next few image show golden beaches and palm trees, just as you would expect from a desert island!

2018-04-05-0019.jpg

2018-04-05-0020.jpg

2018-04-05-0015.jpg

How I found that they were in the Marshall Islands was by the next photo, pretty obvious really and useful for me to see where they were, these ones weren't labelled like the others! There's something really cool about the shot below, I love how they have framed people on either side of the plane, its got an almost movie look to it!! I am not so keen on flying and this plane does look a little on the small side for me, which usually means its more bumpy! I doubt the airport was that big either!

2018-04-05-0014.jpg

This next shot is unfortunately the last from the Marshall Islands, and is completely out of focus, but I love it! I'm not sure if it was an accidental shot or one that was planned, but I love how there is a shadow and objects in the shot that allow us as viewers to ask questions! I thought it was a good way to end this section!

2018-04-05-0010.jpg

Back in time to the Lake Distrcit, UK

I'm sure my regular readers will know how much I love the Lake District so you can imagine how excited I was to see that there was a large collection of slides from our families trips there! They are actually some of the best photographs I have come across since doing this project so I really hope you enjoy them! They weren't labelled again so I am going to do my best with our Lakes knowledge and try and pin point a few locations! It looks like they went in Autumn as the colours of the leaves have turned and the light during the day looks so lovely!

2018-04-05-0082.jpg

I really love the portrait aspect ratio of these shots! The framing is great too, the tree on the right just looks so pretty with their orange and yellow leaves, the perfect time to take photographs with the sun just dipping in the valley.

2018-04-05-0080.jpg

There isn't really enough in these shots to properly work out where they are taken which is a shame as I would love to go back to this spot and try and find the exact location to get some myself! The next shot has some pretty jetty posts in the lake which adds some interest. The light again was so amazing!! I bet they were definitely feeling excited about shooting when they were there too!

2018-04-05-0081.jpg

The next shot has lots more leaves which creates lovely light rays from the sun, all the water is glittering behind the leaves too! One of the qualities that makes the Lakes so popular!

2018-04-05-0084.jpg

Autumn is always one of my favourite times to shoot and I think this guy thought the same too! These amazing shots to follow show gorgeous stone walled lanes with trees with autumn leaves lining each side. What I love most about these ones is the exposure, the shadows must have really captured their creativity and I love how the shadows are creating patterns on the paths!

2018-04-05-0086.jpg

Typically English looking these lanes are all over the place in the Lakes, its a nearly untouched part of the UK still and since its World Heritage Status announcement last year I am hoping it will forever stay this way for generations to come to enjoy this special place.

2018-04-05-0083.jpg

These next shots I happen to know where they were taken as we have been there too! And actually stood in the same place, without knowing it! Its crazy isn't it! This place is called Surprise View located near Keswick to Borrowdale road near Ashesss Pier. We had gone in winter so the long climb up the hill was done very quickly as we were cold! But I imagine in nicer weather it must be amazing to take it all in and especially nice when you come across this stunning view!

2018-04-05-0087.jpg

The houses that you can see from all the way up here must be so peaceful, what an amazing view they have! These photographs are so good, I just love all the colours and it looks like they must have had a choice of lenses with them as these shots seem to be closer in of a view that was in the first shot! Well prepared!

2018-04-05-0090.jpg

I like how these are little detail shots, little isolated photographs of beautiful islands in the Lake. The green grass is a nice sight, I can't wait to go back here myself in the summer so that I can see this view with all the leaves on the trees like this! The film photographs here are such good quality, really really nice to see the bright colours and clean slides!

2018-04-05-0091.jpg

Another shot of this amazing view!

2018-04-05-0088.jpg

I really like how this next shot has got people in it! Without the people these shots could be from any era, but clothing and outfits can really add age to a shot and these people definitely don't look like they are wearing modern clothes! Really cool compostion though!

2018-04-05-0085.jpg

The next few shots to me look like they are from the Langdales, although I can't be certain! Again the amazing colours of Autumn are so clear here, the lovely rolling hills of orange colours. The Lakes are renowned for all their pretty Lakes and I think we now have been to them all! But we aren't quite sure!

2018-04-05-0051.jpg

My husband @skiesandsports really loves taking photographs of waterfalls and moving water and it was so nice to see these examples that his relative took, obviously the love of photography has passed down the generations to him! This waterfall looks so pretty with the leaves cascading either side of the waterfall.

2018-04-05-0053.jpg

This next shot looks like such a nice valley, all the heather and plants growing on the sides of the hills!

2018-04-05-0054.jpg

The light in the next shot is AMAZING, and I am so glad they chose to shoot it with this exposure to make the most of the lovely light coming down the valley. You can just make out in the shadows all the little lanes and paths.

2018-04-05-0059.jpg

As there are lots of Lakes and rivers in the Lakes there are obviously lots of pretty little bridges, and this one is really nice! Film photography really does give a whole new look to things and I think it really makes this bridge look good!

2018-04-05-0057.jpg

So that wraps up Part 4 of this project but I hope you have all enjoyed these photographs and I am so glad that they now can shine for everyone to see instead of ending up in the bin! I look forward to sharing the next installment very soon!

Untitled-1.jpg

- Verity x
Photography all copyrighted.
Please UPVOTE / RESTEEM / FOLLOW to support my work on Steemit - Thank you!

Sort:  

Thank you! I really am enjoying doing them!

Hi vtravels, thank you very very much for your very beautiful post with very beautiful photographs.

Thank you for your comment!

Yay, more of the series! Lake district is so beautiful! The people taking the pictures really traveled a lot or? I guess now you can do the “then and now” photo comparison of the places you’ve recognized! Looking forward to the mext batch already, thanks for sharing again :)

Thank you ! Yes exactly, I can definitely try and re-create some of these!! Look forward to sharing more soon!

Wow nice photos,great post !

This series is amazing! Discovering all these great photos after decades of them being lost must feel great. It reminds of Vivian Maier story. :)
The red sunset photo is my favorite but all of them make me fall in love with film photography even more. :)

Thank you so much! It really is so rewarding scanning in each one, I never know what I am going to find! Yes Vivian Maier was amazing, I can only wish to find something like that one day! Its made me love film photography more too, I can't wait to scan in more negatives each week!

I enjoyed your photos @vtravels. I love the vintage feel and the background story. Many of the landscape shots remind me of an oil painting - you gave this series a perfect title - Lost in Time.

I loved so many - too numerous for me to name - but I felt your excitement about having been able to bring them back to life.

I'm playing catch up with some posts and I missed this one!! Beautiful!

Awww so glad you enjoyed them! Your right some of them do have an oil painting quality to them!
Its so fun to scan them in, I never really know what I am going to find and am so glad I have somewhere to share these!

I really love this series! always look forward to the adventure! The Marshall Islands are gorgeous and those skies...to die for! The Lake District was fun to see in film, so very charming! Wonderful Verity! More reasons to be a fan! xo

Yes me too, so glad I started it! I was really shocked to see how amazing some of these are, I guess we found where Chris gets his talent from though as they are all shots from his family! xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69345.27
ETH 3816.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67