500 Nativity Sets/Creches on Display in Dallas - Part 1

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Nearly 500 nativities were used to decorate the DeGolyer House on the grounds of the Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens.
This collection is amazing!
I walked through it 2 separate days(Nov 28th and Dec 2nd) with different family members.
I've been waiting to share some of them until today.


In the Christian church, there are officially 12 days of Christmas beginning with December 25th and ending with on January 5th and then Epiphany is celebrated January 6th.
So with that in mind, here are a few nativity sets or creches as some people call them.


Twelfth Night is also known as Epiphany Eve.
In many countries it's traditional to put the figures of the Wise Men/Three Kings into the Nativity Scene on Epiphany Eve ready to celebrate Epiphany on the 6th January.
It's also traditional to take your Christmas decorations down following Twelfth Night.
source

Nativity1.jpg


Nativity2.jpg


Nativity3.jpg


Nativity4.jpg


This is one of the Fontanini nativities on display in the house.
It is not only the Holy Family and 3 Kings in the stable, but also the whole city of Bethlehem depicted in this nativity!


Nativity5.jpg


Nativity6.jpg


Some of the sets are owned by the Dallas Arboretum, but the majority are on loan from three families.
The nativities are made from a range of materials including clay, porcelain, crystal, corn husks, wood, and pewter.
Throughout the house you will find many recognizable pieces from brands such as Jay Strongwater, Jan Barboglio, Madame Alexander and Waterford Crystal.

The exhibit includes nativities from countries all around the world, including Peru, Argentina, Mexico, Italy, Spain, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Ghana, Germany, Poland, Holland, Paraguay and the Netherlands.


I will be sharing more in the next few days!
No, I did not get a photo of all 500 sets! :)


I hope your Christmas Day was nice and not too busy...
We went to church on Christmas Eve and then on Christmas Day -
I cooked with my son and we ate some great food, opened presents and played UNO Spin and Yahtzee!
Oh yeah, we washed a lot of dishes after all of the cooking and prepping and eating!


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


All original photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus
December 26, 2018

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Ups!
Learn how to power up smart here!

Those are some pretty impressive sets. I particularly like the one with the Spanish-style tiled roof.

Years ago, I worked for Benedictine nuns who had a large collection of nativity sets. People donated them from around the world. When I worked there, I created a pipe cleaner nativity set (boring work day) and added it to their collection ;-)

Haha, @fotosdenada that's funny!

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

We have the same set shown in the first scene. Closest thing to a doll and house I used to play with as a child.

Interesting, I’m surprised you were allowed to play with it!

An interesting post. It must always be remembered lately and reminded. Merry Christmas !

Very cool. I'm liking the mice :)

We were talking the other day about we do not see many Nativities these days and so many of them there thanks for sharing these ones

Thank you for sharing this. They are beautiful. I look forward to seeing the others.

Beautiful! Christmas is a time of rejoicing in family togetherness. How nice to know that you share with your child in such a special and close way. Greetings, Blessings and much Love, @violetmed. Happy holidays!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66086.15
ETH 3548.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58