Beyond the Arctic circle (Russia): WintersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Soon will come December 22-the shortest daylight hours of the year. I don't know how it is in other countries of the world, but here in Russia it is the darkest time. In St. Petersburg on December 22, the day will be only 5 hours 53 minutes.

This time would still more, than there, where now polar night. I'll tell you about the polar night because I saw it. My daughter and I went beyond the Arctic circle. There are several Russian cities, one of which is home to my sister.

Last winter we went to the Kola Peninsula, to the shore of the Barents sea. There is one of the most Northern cities of Russia - Murmansk.

20160102_123717_2.jpg

line.png

The region north of Arctic circle is known as the Arctic. Look at the map. On it you can see which countries also have Northern areas.

via

I really wanted to understand what the polar night looks like and how dark it is at this time. It turned out that there is a small period of time when it is light outside. It's 11: 00 to 13: 00 in the morning. In this case, the sun does not rise above the horizon, but its rays illuminate for some time. On clear days, beautiful yellow sun rays can be seen on the horizon.

It looks like sunset or sunrise, like my first photo. This photo was taken around 13: 00

The rest of the time it's dark outside. It's a little weird and funny. I felt the feeling of very long evenings. And in the morning it was so dark that I had to look at the clock to understand that it was 10:00

20160104_134012.jpg

line.png

In the North, it is also very cold in winter. There are often temperatures of minus 30 degrees Celsius. We brought a suitcase full of warm clothes. And caught a cold of -30!!! This weather continued for several days. It was impossible to be outside. It's good that we went with relatives by car.

20160105_131619.jpg

line.png

The terrain there is hilly, with low mountains. The roads twisted like the serpentine.

20160102_123005.jpg

line.png

There are no forests with large trees. The trees there grow low because of the cold climate. We drove a lot, and I looked out the window. In winter, there is absolutely naked and deserted area. But in the summer these hills are covered with thickets of berries and mushrooms.

20160104_123111_5.jpg

line.png

One day we were driving on the highway, and my sister pointed to the sky. "Look, it's Aurora!"

I looked up at the sky and saw clouds and the Milky Way. But my sister showed one "cloud" and said that Aurora, which is poorly seen. I couldn't photograph it because it was dark, but now I tell everyone that I saw Aurora.

20160104_125314_2.jpg

line.png

My sister came up with the idea that we should be treated to local delicacies. We ate different kinds of fish, crabs and scallops . All these species are found in the Barents sea.

20160105_120740_2.jpg

line.png

Since this is the Barents sea coast, it is very developed fishing and shipping. This lighthouse is designed to keep ships from getting lost. The lighthouse is painted in bright orange to be clearly visible.

20160105_122437.jpg

line.png

This is the view from the small mountains on the frozen Bay. It was very cold that day.

20160105_131258.jpg

line.png

And here the small trees were covered with snow.

20160105_131009.jpg

line.png

I really liked the sculpture I saw in Murmansk. The sculpture is a woman who looks at the sea and waves her hand. There is an inscription "Those who wait". The sculpture shows the sailor's wife waiting for him at home while he is at sea.
That's very touching!

pam.jpg

line.png

We came for the Arctic circle in the summer, and saw a very different nature and scenery. I'll show it in one of the next posts.

Сheers

Veta

veta.png

SB_new.png

Sort:  

It looks amazing, but too cold for me

it's too cold, I agree! )) In the summer there are very nice)

That blue and white... it looks very cold where you are. I really like looking at your post because you present them in such a good looking format, both the writing and the photos are gorgeous, Veta :).

I am glad that my posts you like travel @scrawly :) I love to travel and love to tell and show photos ) I think it can be interesting to people who live in other parts of the world)

Thank you for sharing this, since I am having such a strong wish to see those lands of constant ice and minus temperature. I think it's just my imagination giving some mystery and lovely shades since on -5 we are having this days I am already dying @veta-less.

@jungwatercolor I'm glad you liked my post! Yes, it is very cold and windy there, and snow can remain until summer. People spend time at home in winter.

December 22-the shortest daylight hours of the year

it's like that here too- on the plus side this means more daylight occurs every day thereafter.

Thank you for telling me about it @goldendawne ! I usually rejoice when the snow falls at this time, because it becomes lighter on the street :) and, I am very happy when the day begins to lengthen)

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 11.02% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=veta-less
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=beyond-the-arctic-circle-russia-winter


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Just the name "Russia" makes me feel cold. And those photos with snow didn't help either lol

Haha, well, Russia is big, there are places with a warm climate:) unfortunately I do not live there))

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Veta-less from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57929.49
ETH 2354.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44