Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Little Colourful Things in Life' (Part #238)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

'Little Colourful Things in Life'

crta.png

A colourful fruit stand on the side of a grey road catches my attention. Its colourful appearance brings a thought of a fire burning and I almost feel a sense of heat. Enough attraction to make a tired rider stop and take a longer look at this mirage surrounded by white skies.

I park by the stand. It seems that there is no citrus fruit missing from the display. Lemons, oranges, clementines, mandarins. The whole array of varieties is right here in front of me. Even though there is the valley of Neretva river, a place where they grow on large areas, I believe that some of it must be imported.

The lady working at the stand is kind enough to show all that they have. She is smiling and doesn't mind standing in the cold for long hours. People stop occasionally and buy a bag or two of delicious sun-grown oranges that are full of vitamins and taste really good. I cunningly ask which are imported but she declines and says it's all from Croatia. Even the bags with almonds. Nice to know! Guess I got to buy some before I leave.

A jumbo-sized pomegranate. I really love it. When visiting Istanbul a few years back, I saw many street vendors squeezing the juice out of them and serving it instantly. I immediately noted that as awesome idea. My favourite juice, without any doubt. It would be a great business opportunity to start doing that here if one could easily get a street food vendor licence, what's not the case in this business depraved country.

Dried fig is an ancient delicacy, still very much enjoyed today.

Among all sorts of nuts, there is also home-made olive oil. Don't want to come off braggy but southern Croatian home-made pesticide free olive oil quality outranks anything you can find in your local supermarket. I've travelled a lot and never found a match. But to be completely transparent, I'm not saying that the Greek and Italian home-made olive oils cannot fairly compete... :D

I tell the lady to wave for the blog but she surrenders, instead. Must be my biker helmet. :D

Little things, guys, little things. Like a piece of fruit. This is what life really consists of.

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes, daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witness in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I cycling to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

Fresh fruits! Mmm!

Ohhhhh. Yes. There is a 'fruit stand' at a highway intersection about 100 miles from me. I always stop and buy what ever is fresh, and it is sooooo good. I'll go quite a ways out of my way to stop. The entire family works the stand that's run out of a pickup. It's wonderful.

There are now two olive growers in the valley. The first one should have some product this fall. I seriously hope they press their own oil. And the grape grower should have raisins this fall for the first time.

Life is all about the little things. They end up making such a big thing.

ah ... I love shopping from the market.
everything is organic and fresh. and the markets really reflect the cultures of the country. I realized that it was a culture of the market by reading the university outside the city and visiting the village markets in that city one by one. Great to share. You seem to have fun. and take great pictures again! I congratulate you. maybe one day you will have the opportunity to look at my studies .. I think you will like it

Nice

I like your b&w realistic stuff! Classic style but very nice. :) Your steemit account is also not verified and therefore I'm not sure if they are yours or who you are. The amount of cameras and lenses you use is massive.
So did you study photography?

hi guys.greetings yes

Your post reminds me of traditional markets where the meeting place of buyers and sellers in the implementation is still traditional. Bargaining is commonplace until the deal is resolved. Because the price can be agreed upon, then shopping in traditional markets is guaranteed more fitting in the pocket and certainly no less complete when compared with the modern waste center. Unfortunately, now some people are reluctant to spend in traditional markets for various reasons. With the mushrooming of minimarkets around the settlement, traditional market conditions are increasingly marginalized.

Totalmete in agreement with you, I believe that being honest and respecting the ideas, talents of others will make this community a great platform based on respect. To be honest, to have dignity, consideration is the virtue that must characterize us by respect to good morals, to moral principles and to the property of others. in this way, avoid appropriating what belongs to us.
As for your photographs, congratulations it is very good to enjoy the things that we are passionate about and combine them with the beautiful colors of the landscapes that we find on the way, in an hour of ...

Hi @velimir
I'm surprised that in the winter you sell such a large amount of citrus fruit. The photos just glow orange.
Private entrepreneurs will not tell you the truth where they brought their products :) But nevertheless, it looks appetizing.
I saw a video in which similarly made pomegranate juice. This can become a business in many places, because this is an unusual way. The main advantage of this type of business is that the process of obtaining juice from a pomegranate occurs in front of people and this is confirmation of the naturalness of the juice obtained. When you buy juice in a bottle - you do not know how it was received.
I also read about the benefits of olive oil. You can eat natural and "clean" foods there if you want.
It's good in Croatia - to live on one of the many islands, eat natural products, dive and travel :)
Have a nice day

I love how you always tell the story and I am very excited about how many times I read the post

hi velimir , we dont have any issue if you do not able to respond to our comments ,we can understand , but you make your followers happy with your awesome and engaging articles.

wow, amazing pictures and I love the way you used them to tell great stories. I am indeed inspired by this post.I am an upcoming photographer and am looking forward to learning and achieve a lot from your post. thanks for this @velimir

Got to put a go-Pro on your bike or something for recording time-lapses!

Would be cool to see the routes you take and the backcountry and scenery involved.

Thanks for sharing this post, reminds me of when I used to drive thru Lancaster, Pennsylvania everyday for work. Farm stands everywhere, horse and buggies everywhere, long beards and square hats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12