Welcome to paradise, Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos- Travel #12

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

11031155_10153583980159133_6162747100724655834_o.jpg

Dear Steemit friends, Gemma here, let me take you on a journey to Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos. A beautiful island paradise in the Caribbean. Grand Turk is the largest and also the capital island of the Turks and Caicos and is located in the Atlantic ocean. Grand Turk is 18 square kilometres/ 6.950 square miles in size and is home to about 3,700 people.

The name Grand Turk is rumoured to have come from a peculiar looking species of cacti on the island, the Turk's Cap Cactus. However, this is not the only rumour as to where the island got it's name from. For centuries pre-dating the 1800s, Islamic pirates attacked ships in the Mediterranean and off the coasts of Africa. These pirates were often referred to as “Turks”. Early historians combined this with the Lucayan word ‘cayo hico’, meaning string of islands and together created Grand Turk as a cryptic way of warning settlers to avoid the pirate infested islands. Lucyans were what the original inhabitants of the island were called, it is believed that they settled here from other islands in the Caribbean around 750AD.

It is clear to see why they chose to settle in Grand Turk, the island is stunning in every way. It is relatively flat, coated in white sand and surrounded by the clearest blue waters. Interestingly enough, even though Grand Turk is a hot tropical paradise, its flag once featured an igloo, that's right a frozen igloo. Using a design sent from the Turks and Caicos, an English flag designer confused the sand mounds for igloos. His geography must of been terrible, how could it be that cold that far south, nonetheless the flag was used for about 100 years. It seems as though Grand Turk is destined to be apart of the cold as the Turks and Caicos Islands have considered becoming a Province of Canada. They have submitted requests to join the nation 3 times, 1917, 1974 and most recently in 2004. So far all 3 requests have been denied, maybe if they had of kept the igloo on their flag they would have a better chance. The new flag features the Union Jack, a conch shell, a lobster and a cactus. The island is officially part of the British West Indies.

To find me, look for my Chihuahua's face

IMG_1905.PNG

Turks and Caicos

IMG_1904.PNG

Grand Turk

IMG_1903.PNG

Beaches sculpted in Paradise

grand turk.jpg

There are two main ways to get to Grand Turk. You can travel to JAGS McCartney International Airport , also known as Grand Turk International Airport with a direct service from destinations in the United States and South America. It is located 1 mile south of Cockburn Town. The airport tragically gets its name from the first Chief Minister Mr James Alexander George Smith McCartney. He passed away in a plane crash in the United States in 1980. Along with the igloo, I'm not sure how appealing it is to have an airport named after someone who passed away in a plane crash.

The other option of course is to travel via cruise liner. As you may have read from my previous travel blogs, always my choice of travel. I just love the sea and everything about being on a cruise ship. My mother tells me all the time that the sea is in my blood from the long line of Royal British navy officers that run in my family's history. You have an array of cruise companies to choose from that offer Grand Turk as a port of call. Companies such as Royal Caribbean, Holland, Princess and of course my favourite and choice every time, Carnival Cruise line. Being so accustomed to large cruise liners, the pier has won the Cruisers' Choice Destination Awards twice in 2016 and 2017. The ships dock on the south-western tip of the island. The pier and it's facilities are owned and operated by Carnival Corporation. There are plenty of duty-free shops offering souvenirs, fragrance, jewellery, alcohol and much more to delight any traveller. The fun on this island starts the moment you step onto that pier as there is a Margaretville right there where you can certainly find many ways to waste your days away.

The overnight voyage to Grand Turk

IMG_0430.JPG

Now that you are on Grand Turk, what is there to do? Well basically live at the Beach! The beaches on Grand Turk are second to none. They are pristine white sandy beaches lined with Tiki bars and restaurants serving up tropical cocktails and Caribbean delights. You could easily spend a week lazing out on a beach chair by the warm water with not a care in the world. This is the island way. If you are more of the adventurous type then there are also plenty of options for you. Shore excursions can be booked through your cruise liner or at the airport information desk. Shore excursions range from ATV safaris to snorkelling to swimming with stingrays to zip-lining. There are so many options, Grand Turk certainly isn't a boring island. You can even book a jet ski ride or tube ride right off the beachside. I must recommend the tube ride, they attach a round float that seats 4 people to a speed boat and you bounce along the water, it is so much fun.

Perfect View of the Ships docked right off the beach

IMG_2035.JPG

Tropical paradise

IMG_2036.JPG

Beach fun

IMG_2032.GIF

I couldn't decide what I wanted to do so I did a variety of activities during my time on the island. The first thing I decided on apart from the adrenaline tube ride was to go swimming with wild stingrays. I love stingrays and have been swimming with wild stingrays once before and it was an experience I loved. I am a huge animal lover and I take any chance I can get to interact with animals. This can sometimes be very challenging as I refuse to support any organisation that exploits animals for profit or exploits them for anything in fact. These stingrays are native to the region and are super friendly, they are not trained or contained. They are in every essence wild and free, much like myself. These majestic prehistoric animals are beautiful and friendly, just like ocean puppies. If at anytime you get the opportunity to interact with a stingray in this setting, I recommend you do. Of all the experiences I've had in my life, interacting with wild stingrays in the open ocean is at the top of my list of favourites. For this particular excursion, we boarded a boat from the main pier and travelled for about 15 minutes to a neighbouring uninhabited sand dune island.

Top of a sand dune just before getting in the water with the stingrays

11892291_10153570443594133_4674231357655833217_o.jpg

Will and I

IMG_2024.JPG

Stingray Kisses

11958238_10153583977049133_2146122704762703739_o.jpg

Such amazing creatures

11885778_10153583976464133_2770569749661074265_o.jpg

After spending about 45 minutes interacting with the stingrays we boarded our boat and headed out to sea, about 5-10 minutes off the coast to do some deep sea snorkelling. The corals were vibrant and diverse and the marine life was bustling with energy. Parrotfish, angelfish, squirrelfish, grouper and snapper like to swim amongst the corals. You can also see the larger variety of life such as barracudas, turtles, stingrays and even sharks. Don't worry nurse sharks, they are completely harmless and actually fairly friendly. However, when swimming out in any ocean without a guide, please do keep your distance from the wildlife.

Snorkelling fun

11031155_10153583980159133_6162747100724655834_o.jpgjj.jpg

After building up quite the appetite, I bet you are wondering where the best meal and drinks can be found. The answer, Jack's Shack. The hands down best beachside bar and restaurant this side of the world. Jack's Shack is the place to be. It is located only a 500 metre walk north of the main pier. Before opening Jack's shack, Jack had an extremely successful career in waterfront construction. His last project in fact was the Grand Turk Cruise port. He met Janet during his time on the island and never left. Oh how love can change one's whole life. They set up the tiki hut on a spacious deck with a fully served bar, shop, kitchen, DJ booth, beach volleyball to create the perfect island atmosphere. The main attraction for me and many others at Jack's Shack is Topher. He is a bundle of love, joy and digging, that's right, Topher digs and digs and digs some more. The menu offers a variety of local beers, tropical cocktails and local cusine made right on the spot fresh in front of you. Jack, Janet and Topher have certainly created my favourite hangout in the Caribbean.

Jack's Shack

IMG_1983.JPG

Martin and I

11850620_10153491819404133_2814872136016665838_o.jpg

The view

IMG_1982.JPG

The beers

IMG_1980.JPG

Topher doing what Topher does best..... DIG

IMG_1981.JPG

Playing with Topher makes for the perfect day

IMG_1979.JPG

Jakob and I relaxing in the water

12095325_10156221717050088_5533041376493363438_o.jpg

Alright enough relaxing and time for more adventure. Zip-lining was next on my list of things to do. I hopped on a tour out to the lighthouse. At the lighthouse, Chukka Shipwreck adventure offers an adrenaline ropes course. The lighthouse is about 15 minutes away by taxi or coach. If you want to experience the rush of excitement as you make your way through the Adrenaline High Wire Challenge and Zip line then this is the place for you. The Grand Turk lighthouse. You get to navigate your way along rope ladders, swinging bridges, spider webs and zip lines. All whilst elevated at the highest point in Grand Turk. That's right, this whole course is set at the highest point on the entire island. Scary, no way, sounds like fun to me. Not only is this excursion thrilling but it also allows for the perfect vantage point to see stingrays, turtles, sharks, dolphins and sometimes even whales. I mean that is reason enough for me to check it out. Let me tell you, an adrenaline rush whilst taking in views of paradise is ace.

Deserted beach on the way to the Lighthouse

IMG_2020.JPG

IMG_0435.JPG

The ship disappearing into the background

IMG_0434.JPG

Emily and I ready to conquer the course

DSC07906.JPG

The ropes course

DSC07902.JPG

The views are worth it alone

DSC07903.JPG

DSC07904.JPG

After spending my time here in Grand Turk with the perfect mixture of relaxation and adventure, it's time to move on to my next destination. Whatever you end up doing on your next holiday or vacation, I do hope Grand Turk is at the top of your list of places to visit. Especially after Hurricane Irma came through destroying much of what the locals had created, I urge you to help them the best way you can and that is by visiting this incredible island. Their livelihood depends on tourism, Thank you. I hope you have enjoyed my blog on Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos, thank you for reading and I look forward to sharing more adventures with you, until next time, Vegoutt Everybody!!

Bon Voyage and onto the next destination

IMG_2026.JPG

Sort:  

well shared... pictures are very amazing.
you are also beautiful :)

:) <3

Good job! Thanks to @spectrumecons you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14481.01. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

It is really sad, when I see those big ships near that beautiful nature place. Anyway, great post. Me and my Vivi are also on our around the world tour. I will follow you for some interesting advice. Please check me sometimes, maybe you will find something interesting. Keep it up All best

@wnfdiary I know what you mean, luckily in Grand Turk there are no natural coral reefs where the ships dock so they aren’t interfering with the nature too much and also there are very strict maritime laws prohibiting cruise liners from dumping anything into the oceans. Thank you so much. Wow that’s amazing!!! I hope you have the best time. Of course you are more than welcome to ask me any advise and I am happy to help. Thank you, all the best to you

This post has received gratitude of 2.89 % from @appreciator thanks to: @vegoutt-travel.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=vegoutt-travel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=welcome-to-paradise-grand-turk-turks-and-caicos-travel-12


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Wahh that stringray kiss 😍 Would love to do that. I have personally never been visiting the Caribbean's, closest I've been to is Costa Rica for surfing. But reading your post is another indicator that it's probably to pack my bags and head over there soon ;)

Overall very good photos and flow in your article, I think you are a compelling writer.

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, vlogs, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around! 😄

@williamwest thank you very much, I appreciate your kind words. I have checked out your channel and am following. I haven’t made it to Costa Rica yet but it is certainly on my list. You have to go to the Caribbean, there are so many islands and so beautiful!! Stingray kisses are the best! Next up I’m covering the Bahamas 🇧🇸

Bahamas 😍 I'll stay tuned!

Beautiful sea view, just as beautiful as you!
I will give the vote to you, Please vote and follow me.

nice article! beautiful pics and amazing experience with the sting ray.. I thought that was dangerous lol.

Thank you @magicmonk the stingrays are so gentle and playful. They are such misunderstood creatures

Enjoyed reading this post! iam impressed how those huge cruise ships dock on this robinson crusoe beach :D

Thank you @ivansnz I know its so convenient and it doesn't damage the environment because there isn't a reef off the near coast.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @vegoutt-travel to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63