Saint Kitts, where the Atlantic Ocean meets the Caribbean Sea - Travel #9

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

DSC07793.JPG

Dear Steemit friends, Gemma here, let me take you on a journey to where the Atlantic Ocean meets the Caribbean Sea, to Saint Kitts. Saint Kitts is an island in the Caribbean British West Indies, formally known as Saint Christopher Island. This unique island hugs the Caribbean Sea on the western side and embraces the Atlantic Ocean on the eastern side. Saint Kitts and the neighbouring island of Nevis constitute one country, the Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis. Saint Kitts was actually the first island to be colonized by the British and French in the mid 1620s. Saint Kitts and Nevis only gained independence on September 19, 1983.

To find me, look for my Chihuahua's face

IMG_1632.PNG

Saint Kitts and neighbouring Nevis

IMG_1633.PNG

Saint Kitts

IMG_1634.PNG

This gorgeous island is known for its lush green rainforests, mountain ranges, crater lakes and beaches of white, grey, and black sands. However, the stunning scenery is dominated by the dormant volcano Mount Liamuiga. Dating back centuries, the island was lined with sugar plantations and over the years the plantations, no longer in operation, have been converted into inns or have just been left as ruins. Each island in the Caribbean is unique, some have a strong American influence while others either have a British or a European influence. In Saint Kitts, they drive on the left side of the road and that isn't the only tell-tale sign of British influence, the island boasts an admirable education system. The enrolment rate is 97.6% for children aged between 5 and 16 years.

University of Medicine and Health sciences

DSC07778.JPG

Lush Rainforest

DSC07779.JPG

Abandoned Sugar plantation now a ruin

DSC07780.JPG

Endless greenery

DSC07781.JPG

When you think of a tropical island in the Caribbean, first thoughts are, beaches, fruity cocktails, snorkelling and diving. Basically to spend the entire course of your visit by the sea, but by which one, the Caribbean Sea or the Atlantic Ocean. Maybe it's just me but when I think of the Caribbean Sea, I picture warm, blue waters and with the Atlantic Ocean, I picture, cold, grey water with Penguins. Obviously this cannot be the case when on this stunning hot tropical island, you can visit both in the same day. As I have been travelling around a lot of Caribbean Islands and spending endless days at the beach, I thought I would explore something more historic to feed the history buff in me.

Wingfield is one of the island's oldest sugar estates, founded in 1625 and in operation until all cane processing was centralized in Basseterre in the 1920s. As you stroll through the salt and pepper stones of the partly restored mill, you can indulge in the scenery of the heritage protected gardens. The estate was unearthed by its current owner, Maurice Widdowson. He was originally from Yorkshire and he owns the adjacent Romney Manor, home of the Caribelle Batik shop.

Wingfield Estate

DSC07782.JPG

My friend Sarah and I

DSC07784.JPG

Here I am enjoying the view and the tropical weather

DSC07785.JPG

Huge Trees protected in the gardens

DSC07787.JPG

Abandoned Sugar Mill Tower

DSC07788.JPG

The architecture is stunning

DSC07790.JPG

The capital of Saint Kitts is Basseterre and this is where my cruise ship docked, the Carnival Sunshine. Personally, my choice of transportation while travelling is by cruise ship, I always have accommodation, it's safe for a female travelling alone and I never have to unpack more than once. There is of course an international airport with services and connections from the United States and South America. Robert L. Bradshaw International Airport, formerly known as Golden Rock Airport, is located just northeast of the capital, Basseterre.

The number one thing I recommend anyone visiting Saint Kitts is to head to the lookout at Timothy Hill. Words cannot describe the jaw- dropping view from this lookout point and photographs do it no justice. Timothy Hill lookout is about a 20 minute scenic car ride from the cruise ship port. If you are travelling by cruise ship then your shore excursions desk will be sure to offer tours to the lookout and if you are staying in town, various local tour companies offer trips up.

This lookout is incredibly stunning as it is the only place on earth you can see both the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean at the same time. This has to be one of my favourite places on earth and I am sure you can see why.

Lookout at Timothy Hill

DSC07791.JPG

I'm in love with this view

DSC07799.JPG

The view from the other side of Timothy Hill

DSC07800.JPG

Resorts set among rolling hills

DSC07801.JPG

locals cooking roadside

DSC07802.JPG

Donkey resting

DSC07794.JPG

Sarah and I

12088112_10153798996394714_3055073292123922564_n.jpg

12079498_10153798997189714_4968089080330206464_n.jpg

After spending a few hours at Timothy Hill lookout, it was time to leave. Even a few hours didn't seem long enough, the view just captivates you and for me, made me feel so grateful for the life I live. Timothy Hill was definitely reflection hill for me and I 'm sure for many others as well. At the lookout there are a few souvenir stands and stands to get food and drinks so not to worry, however, I always recommend bringing a bottle of water with you when travelling.

Once Sarah and I were back at the cruise ship docks, we decided to enjoy some almond milk bubble tea, it was so delicious and completely dairy-free. At the docks itself, you can find a large variety of restaurants, cafes, souvenir shops and name brand outlets. There is something for everyone.

Enjoying Delicious Almond Milk Bubble Tea

12063307_10153798997604714_5139100138949930250_n.jpg

The locals in Saint Kitts just like on most of the Caribbean Islands, are very friendly and welcoming. What you might notice is that on this island, there are as many monkeys as there are people. The African green monkeys have lived on Saint Kitts for over 300 years. Estimates vary widely, but today there are thousands of free-roaming monkeys on the island. Most of the monkeys live in the forests, however, due to population expansion, many are living in the city streets. Unfortunately, due to the attraction and profits from tourists, a few locals have captured the monkeys and are using them as street performers to gain a quick buck. This not only is cruel but also can be stopped by not supporting the trade.

I met a local man by the name of RJ, at first I was hesitant to talk to him as I saw he had monkeys. I didn't want to support the slavery of these gorgeous monkeys. As I read the sign he was holding, I became curious. He actually had rescued over 25 monkeys from a travelling circus. He asked for no money and offered for me to hold his monkeys. They were tame, friendly and obviously well fed with no chains or leashes on them. RJ was hanging around the dock to raise awareness to tourists about the nasty trade of kidnapping wild monkeys. He was giving out pamphlets about his monkey rehabilitation sanctuary, I thought this was wonderful. It also reminded me to not judge a book by its cover as for first thoughts, I believed he was one of these kidnappers.

A local, RJ and his 3 Monkeys

11807451_10153510623889133_6448626456472470303_o.jpg

These little creatures are truly wonderful and cheeky might I add

11817059_10153100437373004_5172061505753125102_n.jpg

This brings me to the end of my time here, I hope you have enjoyed my blog on St. Kitts in the Caribbean British West Indies, thank you for reading and I look forward to sharing more adventures with you, until next time, Vegoutt Everybody!!

Sort:  

In the middle of the Caribbean...

Thank you for sharing your impressions.

Have a great time there,
Thomas

Thank you Thomas

10_n.jpg

welcome my friend

Hey :) are you coming to the Brisbane meetup on the 30th?

beautiful place and photography

Nice post @vegoutt-travel I hope to travel places in years to come. Keep up the good work.

@adetola thank you. Travelling is amazing

The monkeys are so cute 😊

This post has received a 5.27 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @vegoutt-travel. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Very nice pictures and interesting post! :)

I love St. Kitts!! I took the scenic railway tour and had a blast. Just so sad that they had to close all the sugar plants.

@r00sj3 wow I can imagine the railway tour would have been amazing. It is very sad that the sugar plantations are gone

love the view form timothy hill.

@pinkayesh it is one of my favourite views

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31