My Life Today: Meeting @imperfect-one and visiting Gdańsk in Poland

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

On Friday, April 27th 2018, I thanked @katharsisdrill and his family to have welcomed wonderfully, and I left Copenhagen.

I crossed The Bridge between Copenhagen and Malmö in Sweden.
I had learned about this long bridge from the TV series, but I was disappointed to discover that the border was not in the middle of the bridge as can be seen in the TV series, but on the Danish side, several kilometres to the west.

I went to Ystad on the south coast of Sweden. I knew about Ystad from the novels and the TV series about Kurt Wallander.

While I was waiting for the ferry, I visited the city for two hours.


01_gdansk.png
Square in Ystad


02_gdansk.png
An eighteenth century house in Ystad

The ferry left Ystad at 1:30PM.


03_gdansk.png
View of Ystad from the ferry

I arrived at Świnoujście in Poland at 8PM.
What I had not realized was that the center of Świnoujście where my hotel was is an island, and the ferry terminal was not on this island.
So, I had to wait for another free ferry for almost an hour and arrived at my hotel around 10PM.


On Saturday, I left Świnoujście early and took back the free ferry. I did not have to wait long this time


04_gdansk.png
Leaving Świnoujście on the ferry


I had been teaming with a Polish Steemian, @imperfect-one, during Season 4 of the @papa-pepper's survval game Steem-Pocalypse.
So, I have contacted @imperfect-one to see if we could meet face to face. He lives in Wrocław. However, he had told me that during this week-end he would be with his family on vacation in Gdańsk. So, I went to Gdańsk. I arrived at the hotel at around 6PM and we agreed to meet at a bar later that night.


05_gdansk.png
@imperfect-one at the bar

We talked for around an hour and a half, about our lives, Steemit and the crypto market. It was very nice to meet another Steemian face to face.


Following the recommendations of @imperfect-one, on Sunday I went to visit Gdańsk.

I started with the Long Market, one of the most notable tourist attractions of the city.


06_gdansk.png
Long Market in Gdańsk


07_gdansk.png
Long Market in Gdańsk

Near the Long Market I found a restaurant where I could have a vegan meal.


08_gdansk.png
Restaurant "Mon Balzac" in Gdańsk

The name of the restaurant, "Mon Balzac", is very strange, especially in Poland. Balzac refers to the French novelist Honoré de Balzac.

I asked several of the waiters to explain to me the origin of the restaurant name, and I was told that the founder had gone to Paris and had read the novel Le Père Goriot and really liked it. Strange story.


09_gdansk.png
A table in the restaurant "Mon Balzac"


I also visited the National Museum of Gdańsk


10_gdansk.png
National Museum

There, I saw of course triptych The Last Judgment, painted during the fifteen century by Hans Memling in Bruges.


11_gdansk.png
The Last Judgment

This triptych was supposed to go to Italy, but it never did. Instead it arrived in Gdańsk. It later went to France, then Russia, but was finally returned to Gdańsk.


12_gdansk.png
Portrait of a man, by Albert Cuyp


13_gdansk.png
Georges Clemenceau and Marshal Foch, part of a series of painting "The Poloticians", by Bolesław Biegas, a Polish artist who spent most of his life in Paris


The next Steemian I wanted to meet is @fingersik (Matěj Krejčiřík), who lives in Prague.
As the distance between Gdańsk and Prague is too long, @imperfect-one suggested that I stopped for a night in the city where he lives: Wroclaw.

So, on Monday, April 30th, I left Gdańsk in direction of Wroclaw.

Sort:  

@vcelier I have just posted about our meeting in Gdańsk also. I used this other "beer" account of mine that I told you about since I combined it with the bar review. I thought that you may want to take a look :) Cheers!

Its beautiful

I'm also very happy that we could meet face to face :) @vcelier you are the first Steemian outside of Poland I had a chance to meet in person, and I found our meeting very interesting and entertaining. Your stories make me think that my life is very boring compared to yours ;) You inspired me to live my life to the fullest! Thank you once again for this great meeting and I'm waiting for your story about Wroclaw - I'm very curious where did you go :)

Sweeden is a country I've always wanted to visit and this post makes me want to do that even more. Maybe when I do, I'll visit that bridge between Copenhagen and Malmö i too. The pictures are extraordinary

Hey @vcelier, I have come to discover that most things or places we see in TV series aren't exactly like that in real life.
Travelling brings us very close to reality and trust me it's fun when you travel for sight seeing not for strict bussiness.

Great to see that your adventure going on. I will have to go to Gdansk to see those paintings - looks really interesting.

Another wonderful addition to your travel log. I agree. I think it is really amazing that you are getting to meet other steemians face to face. Sitting in a bar and having a pint is a universal language. I'm sure there were some fun stories shared and this itself will be a story you can share as well. I really like the pictures of the square and the town from the ferry. The architecture is gorgeous.

Gdansk is a very beautiful city

Welcome to Macedonia, Poland is our family.

It's very obvious you enjoyed your tour 😀

Yes, I do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81