Trip to Point Reyes National Seashore, California - Must visit places!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This was a trip my family and I made last winter.
point-shipwreck.jpgImage source

On our trip, we were first headed to the famous Point Reyes lighthouse.
pintreyes1.jpg
Image source

The drive towards the lighthouse itself provided diverse views, we passed tall redwoods and crossed beautiful hilly grasslands that looked like Shire in Lord of the Rings or the Teletubbies land. The hills had herds of cattle and many ruggedly handsome cowboys.
point.jpg

We reached the lighthouse early and had to wait awhile for the gates to open. Once we entered, it was a 300 steps descent to the lighthouse. Here is a snap of us posing at the lighthouse.
pointus.jpg

Pointers for a trip to Point Reyes - Where else to go - What we missed

Here is a list of other beautiful destinations you could visit on a trip to Point Reyes. We missed these as we were headed to Mendocino after visiting the Point Reyes Lighthouse.

Chimney Rock
This is a 1.8 mile roundtrip hiking trail with great coastal views, lots of wildflowers and elephant seals.
point-chimneyrock.jpgImage source

Cypress Tree Tunnel
I only found out about this picturesque loveland lately. There is not a more ideal location for a great couple photo. From all that I have heard, this tree tunnel won't disappoint you.
point-cypress tree ave.jpgImage source

Shipwreck at Point Reyes
The rusting wreck of an approx. 40 ft boat is a must go for photo buffs visiting Point Reyes. You could reach here if you take little detour to the little town called Inverness. The shipwreck is at the shoreline of Tomales Bay. You can even get on it and explore inside.
point-shipwreck at twilight.jpgImage source

Here's a video taken by Ian Schwartz that I found under Reusable Google Images. That was a hike along the Bear Valley to Kelham Beach. Chimney Rock trail and Limantour Beach are also shown.

P.S. Not all the pictures posted here are by me. I was blown away by the beauty of the place that I forgot to take pictures most of the time.

Thanks for reading!

Upvote and Resteem to all travel lovers!
Sort:  

Liked and followed :)

Thankyou @frag.. I appreciate it :)

it's a fishing boat and closer to 38ft than 380 ft. Otherwise, nice article

Oops,, Sorry about that.
Thank you so much for the correction @life-of-al :)
I didn't visit this boat... I read that in an article..
Will update the post right now.

You'll have to revisit Varna and capture your own impressions of what appears to be such an interesting place.

A friend of mine who is an amazing photographer of birds often stays in a selected environment for days before photographing. Just absorbing the energy and her feelings for the place ~ Which then becomes evident in her work. 🐋🌾🐋

I know I should.. During this trip, I missed so many great places there, and I took very few photoes.
Sometimes when the place is too beautiful, you just forget about the camera..
Also, this trip was before I came on Steemit..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64940.81
ETH 3553.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33