You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Volcanic Dreams: Survival

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I had to laugh when you mentioned the guides smiling... I have smiled that smile =D

During Elk season (four to seven days), I lose ~20 pounds chasing them up mountains. And then back down, and then back up.. They really try to not die! Then, when you get one, the real work begins, as you have to carry ~500 kilos of meat back to camp.

For traveling food, I found stuffing my pockets with salty nuts, chocolate covered raisins, and other sweet, sweet, dried fruit, kept me fueled up and I didn't have to pack a bunch of stuff for preparing meals. The lighter the better.

Anyway, I smile the smile of those that know how rough country can be, and how awful it is to be out in it and suddenly realize you made a big mistake.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Yeah, I will bring that food you have in your pocket next time.

It is so unforgettable that I could still feel my hunger and my painful feet as I write.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66