Worldtrip! Vang Vieng; the pearl of Laos if you ask us!

in #travel7 years ago

So we were still in Vang Vieng, the planning was to stay there about 3 days but there is so much to do and we had such a great time that we eventually stayed 6 days.

We wanted to visit the famous Blue Lagoon in Vang Vieng and we wanted to go there by our favorite way of transport: a scooter. Because our "great" resort was a bit out of the center, we thought it would be smart to arrange a scooter through the hotel. Overall, no idea what the prices were at the center and so we said yes to the amount of 150,000 KIP (+/- 17 euros). Once we arrived in the center we were shocked because we saw the signs hanging out with the scooter prices. Did we see 50,000 KIP or did they forget the 1? Without a doubt we returned to the hotel again and shoved the scooter back into the owner's face. Don't mess with us! Well, this bastard had ruined our temper and we decided to go to the Blue Lagoon the next day on a scooter of 50,000 KIP 😉

GOPR0511.JPG

The ride was really beautiful and the Blue Lagoon was very blue! Of course, we couldn't miss a climbing session and we went into a cave way up high. At the end we took a swim in the lagoon and watched many different people jump from a high branch into the lagoon. Some just jumped and some at to have the encouragement of all the people there (about 50) to let themselves fall.
So it was a great and beautiful day, and of course we ended this day in the Sakura bar.

GOPR0502.JPG

A few days earlier in Vientiane talked to a Dutch couple during a tuktuk ride. Pim and Esther. 2 fun idiots from Rotterdam who we would definitely meet again in Laos since they were doing the same route. And there they were, in the Sakura bar! First we met in Vientiane, we saw each other again in Vang Vieng and then we also agreed to keep in contact to meet up in Luang Prabang again. After many drinks and dances in the Sakura bar, it was about 12 o'clock so it was time to roll on to the next bar. On the way, Pim yelled suddenly: "I really have to poop!" Our response was, "Yesyes Pim calm down, we're almost at the Fever bar. There you can go to the toilet."
'No way people! I'm not going to clubpoop' and he disappeared into a restaurant.
Well Pim, we have not heard this term ''clubpooping'' often, but we're sure to keep it in!

19126109_10213324722612681_178399273_o.jpg

Then stumble back on your flipflops to the hotel, sleep for a few hours and be worth the next day... Awesome! We really felt like students again.

GOPR0529.JPG

GOPR0517.JPG

GOPR0524.JPG

In spite of our hangover, this day there was something fun on the program, flying over Vang Vieng during sunset! Helmet on, straps fastened, Go Pro in hand, start engine and fly into the air. It was really amazing!

These were our adventures in beautiful Vang Vieng. Curious about our stories in Luang Prabang? You can read that in our next blog!

Sort:  

looks like you're having a blast.

We really are!! And the fun just keeps on going!

I sold everything back at home and started to travel.

I am currently in thailand and I was planning to go to bali after.

Your Laos posts make me reconsider.

Very good decision to start to travel. Proud of you!;-)
Do not skip Laos!! It is definitely worth it. If you need any tips, let us know.
We're gonna finish our world trip on Bali. Just to relax, enjoying the good life and the cocktails of course. That'll be somewhere in august. Enjoy your travels and let us know what you decided!

So awesome. I had a blast in Vang Vieng, but I made the mistake of eating the mushrooms.

20150204_083910.jpg

Ohnoo that is a big mistake! So actually you've been to Vang Vieng but you don't remember anything about it?
Or do you think that Vang Ving has a lot of inhabitant with green monsters, or gnomes or...that everybody is chasing you? LOL What was the effect of the mushrooms with you?
Don't try this at home people!:P
Thanks for your comment!

Well, when I arrived in Vang Vieng the guy at the hotel told me not to eat the mushrooms, and I told myself that I wouldn't try them. Weed is one thing, but psychedelics aren't something to play with. So I had a "happy" pizza (weed pizza) and it didn't seem worth the price.

One night I saw some guys try the mushrooms in a shake. I definitely recognized the effects, and the guys seemed to be having fun. So I started thinking about getting a "magic" pizza. I made a plan to try to limit the danger. I swore to myself that I wouldn't leave my hotel room after they took effect. I was afraid of getting lost or wandering into traffic.

I got the pizza, ate half of it and brought the other half back to my room. Everything felt great! I listened to some music and just enjoyed being back in mushroom land, I was ecstatic. Then I thought "Hey, half a pizza feels great, I bet the whole pizza feels twice as good!" Big mistake.

I ate the rest of the pizza and not too long after that I saw the "Don't eat the mushrooms" sign. When I saw the sign the whole room went dark like a storm had blocked out the sun. The entire surface of my body broke out into sweat. It felt like a movie scene where the oblivious protagonist finally realizes that they're being chased by a killer. The entire world seemed to turn dark and malicious in the blink of an eye.

Then I spent the next 2 or 3 hours trying to convince myself that I wasn't poisoned, as I failed over and over trying to induce vomiting. I debated with myself about asking the hotel manager for help, but decided against it. Luckily I never forgot that I was tripping, and I was able to keep repeating the mantra "Don't do anything stupid. You're only tripping. Don't do anything stupid. You're only tripping. Is going outside stupid? Yes, don't do that! Don't do anything stupid...." And luckily I didn't do anything stupid (other than eating the mushrooms in the first place).

Now you're talking to someone who will most likely never use psychedelics again. I don't know if I'll ever forget how terrible those last few hours were. I was convinced that I was facing death and I was going to devastate my family by killing myself in Asia just because I wanted to get high.

In all seriousness, if someone reads this and wants to try the mushrooms in Vang Vieng I'll say where I went wrong. I went wrong by tripping by myself. If I was with a friend and saw that anti-mushroom sign, all I would have had to do is see my friend laughing to realize that we weren't fatally poisoned. Because I was solo, it was too easy for my mind to catch onto something scary and proceed to spiral out of control.

Sorry for the long post. I swear I'm not trying to make blog posts in your comment section. I'm just long winded :D

wow... That sounds like a horrible experience. We've also laughed a little bit about it, but it's always funny afterwards.
Well.. it's been a good eye opener. You learn especially by trying something and you've done that. Thanks for your great and scary story!

You're welcome!

I'm looking forward to hearing about what you get up to in Luang Prabang. Enjoy!

really cool photos and adventures you had! upvoted, followed and resteemed! Please have a look at my travel blog you might like it too and find some new places you want to visit :) Snorkling with Whalesharks or my other blogs :)

Thank you so much! We love your steems as well, followed!

Beautiful!!! Love the photos!

Thank you so much!

Thanks!

Great to read you have met people from my hometown Rotterdam...clubpooping isn't a typical Dutch word as you know by living in Amsterdam but it perfectly makes clear what is meant by it lol. Are they on Steemit as well? Great travel photographs and thanks for sharing your travel story. Also it isn't bad to watch you both eather ;) Enjoy!

They were so great! We've had an awesome time with them and we definitely gonna catch up when we're back home. Going to festivals or a club, maybe to do some clubpooping as well haha.
They are not on Steemit unfortunately.. But we will tell them about the great response we had from all of you!
Pim is becoming famous:P
And thank you of course for your compliments. We appreciate it! ;-)

Maybe we can help them to get on Steemit as well. Tell Pim I said hi ;)

Haha we will! They are back home already :D

Fantastic traveling...Your journey is exciting and enjoyable...the photograph are amazing...

Thank you so much! Many more stories will come about our traveling and the pics keep getting better (if we may say so ourselves) cause we get to keep practicing!

looks like yous are having a great time, I cant wait till my next adventure... gona steemit for sure

Thank you, we really are having an amazing time. Don't worry many more adventures will come. Very glad you enjoy them!

Hey B&B very nice post, i never thought going to Vang Vieng thinking it was only a touristic place with a bunch of drunk people jumping into the river and vomiting everywhere. It seems nicer when i see your post. Enjoy girls ;)

Haha! What you describe is one of the many things you can do but Vang Vieng offers so much more! And the surroundings are so beautiful. We loved it. Thank you!

Good to heard it ;) Did you see my message on the private chat ?
have a lovely day or if you still are in Asia a good night =)

No we don't see the chat yet sorry. We are in Australia now having another amazing day :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41