Would You Hike Up an Active Volcano to Ride the Swing at the End of the World?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Today I want to tell you about the time I visited the famed Swing at the End of the World located in the hills surrounding Tungurahua volcano just outside Baños de Agua Santa in Ecuador. The site is called Casa del Arbol and it contains a small treehouse for seismologists to view Tungurahua and keep track of it's activity. Someone along the way noticed that the tree was atop a steep slope and had the great idea to attach a swing to one of the branches so you could swing out over the canyon and enjoy the view. It has since become a major tourist attraction in Baños and there are loads of ways to get there and experience it for yourself.

20170202_114412.jpg

It's a blast!

DSC00477.JPG

The treehouse viewing station

Getting There

There are a few ways to get up to the swing like taxis and buses but I am a glutton for punishment and try to travel as cheap as possible so I decided to make the hike up. Everyone told me it was about a 3 hour hike but only a couple kilometers so I figured I would give it a shot after breakfast my first day there. I quickly understood why they said 3 hours for such a short distance,the trail is steep. It starts out with steep stairs up to a religious statue and then continues by trail up past all the various farms until you reach the entrance to the swing. It was amazing to me all the different types of farm they had up in the mountains, massive greenhouses growing fruit and acres of corn fields.

20170202_094502.jpg

So many corn fields

20170202_110141.jpg

The views along the way were nice, but if you look you can see corn growing right up the slope

Taking a Ride

It took me the better part of two hours to reach the gate to Casa del Arbol but I made it and the place seemed deserted. The cost was $1USD to enter but I have heard they have raised that to $2 since I was there which is still a fair price. When I walked in I was greeted by a large rolling hill of grass and 80m away was the tree with the swings so I headed right over. There was only two other people there and they were taking lots of pictures so I bought a coffee from the only vendor and sat to rest and wait my turn. When they finished I asked if they would take some pictures and they said of course and off I went! It was pretty much what I expected, just a normal swing over a steep hill, but the views you got were amazing and I loved it all.

20170202_114359.jpg

I tried to go as high as I could

20170202_111355.jpg

Another angle

20170202_114427.jpg

It was a beautiful day

RadiantCalmGoldeneye-size_restricted.gif

A first person view courtesy of my GoPro

Ok so I know the title maybe sounds a bit like clickbait but reading titles like that is what made me get there so I figured I would continue the tradition. The swing is not on the edge of a volcano like some would lead you to believe but Tungurahua is active and the last eruption was in 2014 so the potential is there. Honestly, it's not too different from all the other swings I have been on in my life but the view was amazing and the whole idea behind it is just awesome so if you are ever in Ecuador, check it out. Thanks for reading!


Check Out My Recent Posts


Visiting the Famous Hanging Coffins in the Philippines

Let's Go Caving in the Philippines!

Northern Philippines And the Most Beautiful Beach I Have Ever Seen

Visiting Canton Tower in Guangzhou, China

Exploring Don Det and the 4000 Islands in Laos

travelstheworld small.gif

Sort:  

It looks really nice...and scary too considering my fear of heights...haha 😹💕

Yeah it was amazing! There were a few people who came after who were shaking and refused to get on lol

Haaaha...I would be one of those...but I heard one place in China where u need to climb a very steep mountain and when u get to the top, the food at a restaurant is free...its in my list...but maybe I have to really empty first before even trying...haaaha

You mean Huashan Mountain! That's been on my list too I hope to tackle it this year!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

I see what you did there.

oh wow!! I think I saw this on the travel channel somewhere at some point but you're pictures are awesome!

Yeah I had seen something about it on TV as well but when I got to Ecuador one of my old co workers kept posting a picture of the swing on Facebook so I sought it out and ended up spending a week in Banos because it was so awesome there

that is wild! I'm vicariously living through you lol - love your blog! :)

I appreciate the kind words! Your blog looks great as well, followed!

very much appreciated! :)

Your pictures are really awesome.
😊

Must be an amazing view though! We have one in Amsterdam which actually extends a little bit forwards so there's no ground underneath you anymore - never done it but sounds creepy!

It was a spectacular view all through that region, everywhere you went were these beautiful mountains but a lot of them are active volcanoes so its a bit of a different kind of awe. Is the swing in the city of Amsterdam? on a building or something?

Yeah, I can imagine. Hiking a volcano sounds kinda awesome though.

Yeah, it's on top of a building! Here's the link. https://www.adamlookout.com/

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelstheworld
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=would-you-hike-up-an-active-volcano-to-ride-the-swing-at-the-end-of-the-world


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81