Northern Philippines And the Most Beautiful Beach I Have Ever Seen

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Earlier today I was sitting in a park near my home and I was thinking about all the places I have traveled in my life and one area really stood out in my memory, Pagudpud and Saud Beach in Northern Luzon, Philippines. In March of last year my girlfriend and I met up in Manila, she was coming from China and I was coming from Peru and we made a plan to visit Northern Luzon (the big island that Manila is on) before flying to Palawan. We made the arrangements and headed by bus up the island making a few stops along the way before terminating in Pagudpud, the northern most town on Luzon. Just a little bit outside of town in the world famous Saud Beach, although you may not have heard of it and neither had we, it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.

IMG_7290.JPG

Just off the beautiful beach

P_20170323_161828.jpg

The beach itself

Pagudpud and Saud Beach

Pagudpud is a very small town and when we got off the bus they dropped us right in the middle and we walked to our hotel. We booked our hotel online and we found that almost all the hotels in the town proper were more like homestays, people just rent out rooms in their house to travelers. The place we stayed was really nice and just off the main highway. We dropped our bags and waved down a tricycle to take us to Saud Beach, about 10km down the road. When we got there we were both blown away by the emerald green waters of Saud Bay and the beautiful white sand, it is truly a paradise. We spent a few hours just walking and swimming and enjoying the picturesque beauty of it all before getting something to eat at the beach side cafes.

IMG_7266.JPG

Paradise

IMG_7349.JPG

Crystal clear water

P_20170323_161836.jpg

The fishing boats

IMG_7264.JPG

It was a fantastic day

IMG_7345.JPG

Going for a swim

The Tricycle Tour

On the next day we decided to take one of the tricycle tours to a few of the other local sites, we opted for the south tour because I really wanted to to see the wind farm and my girlfriend had never seen one. The south tour costs 600PHP and you visit:

  • Bangui Wind Farm
  • Kapurpurawan Rock Formation
  • Cape Bojeador (a local lighthouse)

The tour lasted a few hours but the highlight for me really was the wind farm, I know a lot of people don't like the look of massive windmills but when I see them I see progress and that makes me feel really good about the world. The lighthouse and rock formation were really cool too and I am glad we took the time to go on the tour as I usually try to avoid a lot of tours and such.

DSC00744.jpg

The wind farm, these things were about 80m tall and went all down the beach

DSC00750.jpg

DSC00774.JPG

When we visited the rock formation, a local man insisted on taking our pictures and he took about 40 in different spots all around the area

IMG_7288.JPG

The view from the tricycle of the surrounding areas

IMG_7289.JPG

IMG_7340.JPG

The entry arch to the town proper

IMG_7302.JPG

A shot of the town streets of Pagudpud

To sum it all up, Saud Beach is without a doubt the most beautiful beach I have ever set foot on and the pictures do not do it justice. I am so glad we decided to head north before hitting the usual tourist route through the Philippines and I will never forget the raw beauty that I experienced while there. If you get a chance, please go visit, you won't regret it!


Check Out My Recent Posts

Visiting Canton Tower in Guangzhou, China

Exploring Don Det and the 4000 Islands in Laos

My First Power Up And My Thoughts on Steemit!

Paragliding Adventure in Pokhara, Nepal

Rock Climbing Lava Cliffs in Ecuador

travelstheworld small.gif

Sort:  

Beautiful, thx for sharing.

Absolutely! thanks for reading

That's amazing! I am glad you've liked it here! :)

I have traveled alot and it is definitely one of my favorite places! Are you from around there?

Nope. I am near Boracay. :)

I'm glad you liked my motherland! If you ever get to visit again, hope you get to see my home city, Cebu and go island hopping! I sure love your travel photos.

I really wanted to go to Cebu but my visa wasn't long enough after all the other places I went! I will be making a few more posts about my time there I hope you read them. I didnt know what to expect from the Philippines before I went but I absolutely loved it all, you have a beautiful country!

Thank you so much! I wish I still lived there sometimes. I'm an island girl too damn far from her home, now living in the Midwest. Where are you living these days, if you don't mind my asking?

wow going from the islands to the cold of the midwest, that was probably an interesting transition! I am from Canada but I spent a year traveling and now am living in China for a little while

It was definitely a shock to the system! Not so much culture shock since I grew up completely immersed in Western culture...but the weather outside can be absolutely frightful hahaha.

I know that weather all too well! Before I left Canada I was living in the north and I couldnt stabd the thought of another -30 day. But I do miss the snow

It's pretty cool you are a climber also. I'm a mega newb at it but I keep trying. I've only sporadically climbed outdoors since 2015, so I'm really green. hahah

Thats alright! Getting out there is the biggest part of the battle, I really prefer hiking and scrambling more though

I'm trying to write a blog about ice climbing. I just tried it, and only made it halfway up the wall. ahahah Have you ever tried it? Maybe when you get back to Canada one of these days. Lots of Gnar up in Banff.

I have tried it! A few years ago I took a course in ice climbing and we did a few climbs in Jasper. I look forward to reading your post

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelstheworld
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=northern-philippines-and-the-most-beautiful-beach-i-have-ever-seen


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81