Riding a Motorcycle Across Vietnam - My Experience PART 3

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

You can find PART 1 of this story HERE
You can find PART 2 of this story HERE

Today I will pick up where I left off yesterday when we arrived in Hue, Vietnam. This post will cover all of central Vietnam and I will conclude the post tomorrow with the last push and the arrival in Ho Chi Minh City. I hope you enjoy!

IMG_8945.JPG
On the road again!

Untitled.png
The route for today's post, we spent a few days in some of these places so the day numbers are just days driving.

Hue to Danang

This was a short two hour drive to ​Da Nang and it was one of the most beautiful days of the trip. The road to ​Da Nang takes you up and around the outside of a mountain and allows for beautiful views and the smell of salt in the air. I really took my time on this ride and tried to savor every minute. ​Da Nang is very touristic so there are no shortage of hotels in the area. I decided to stay in a nicer hotel here so I opted for the An Hoi Canary Hotel , it was about twice the price as everywhere else but it was really comfortable. I had a friend tell me ​Da Nang is a really great city and to spend some extra time there so I stayed an extra day. I spent the next day checking out the local caves and they were fantastic, its a small mountain outside town filled with caves that are also temples. All in all, it was an okay city, the beach is nice and there are bars everywhere but it is a bit expensive and not really my scene.

IMG_8496.JPG
The road into Danang

IMG_8497.JPG
We had to pull over for this view

IMG_8544.JPG
Kama at the top of the caves in Danang

IMG_8549.JPG
The caves in the center of Danang

P_20170428_134312_LL.jpg
It felt like an Indiana Jones movie in here.

Danang to Hoi An

This was without a doubt the easiest drive of the trip, it was only 25 minutes! I made the drive in the late morning to avoid any traffic and to arrive for check in time in ​Hội An . There are loads of hotels in ​Hội An but I opted for an AirBNB because it was cheaper and closer to the old town. I stayed at Sunny Homestay, which was really just a small hotel but still quite nice. I had decided earlier that I wanted to spend two days in ​Hội An because it is quite famous and I feel like two days is just enough. Much like ​Da Nang, ​Hội An is very touristic and was probably the most packed place I saw in the whole month. However, ​Hội An's old town has loads of charm and the town is really quite beautiful, and it's even better at night. You can take gondola rides in the river or simply walk the boardwalks admiring the architecture and soaking in the colors from the lanterns. This was one place where I didn't mind the tourism so much.

IMG_8595.JPG
The river through Hoi An

IMG_8602.JPG
So many beautiful lanterns for sale here.

IMG_8604.JPG
Breaking in the selfie stick

P_20170428_174230.jpg
Classic Vietnam traffic.

Hoi An to Sa Huynh

Originally I had planned to drive to ​Qui Nhơn from ​Hội An but after a few days off I didn't feel like a ten hour day. After 5 hours on the road I stopped in the little beach town of ​Sa Huỳnh. It is a quiet little town with a couple of hotels and a large resort just outside of town, I stayed at the Binh Minh Hotel which was cheap and had a huge balcony looking at the ocean. There is lots of great food to be found here but it is all pretty much standard Vietnamese fare. I only spent one night here with the intention of driving to ​Nha Trang the next day.

IMG_8675.JPG
Passed the half way point!

IMG_8680.JPG
The view from the hotel, this was a pretty small town

IMG_8684.JPG
A nice dinner of pork and broken rice

Sa Huynh to Nha Trang

This day was by far the worst day of the entire journey for me, I spent 13 hours on the road and had a flat tire and had to walk the bike two kilometers to the next town to get it fixed. It was the hardest day of the trip and I admit I wanted to quit when that tire blew but I pushed on and made it to ​Nha Trang after dark. ​Nha Trang is a bit of strange place, it is almost solely tailored towards Russian tourists, I have never really seen a place like it. There are lots of hotels to choose from and a mind boggling variety of foreign foods. I chose to stay at the Thanh Sang Hotel which was the cheapest I could find and was not very nice. I decided to spend two days here to recover from the long drive and I must say ​Nha Trang is pretty nice. It is very touristic but they had some of the best cafes i saw in all of ​Vietnam and wonderful people too.

IMG_8689.JPG
The beach in Nha Trang

IMG_8698.JPG

IMG_8693.JPG
We really enjoyed the beach here

Tomorrow I will conclude this series with the arrival in Ho Chi Minh City, I really hope you are enjoying them it was a once in a lifetime experience for me and I am glad to be able to share it with you. Click the picture below to see my blog and thanks for reading!

travelstheworld small.gif

Sort:  

Caves in Vietnam are on my to-do list :) Nice post (:

Thanks @best-trip-eva! You should definitely check them out, they are awesome but they are a bit pricy and touristic. If you want to see some great caves for free and less touristy you should check out the systems to the west of Vang Vieng in Laos. I will make a post about them soon.

Thanks for the tip! :) looking forward to your post :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelstheworld
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=riding-a-motorcycle-across-vietnam-my-experience-part-3


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66