Riding a Motorcycle Across Vietnam - My Experience PART 1

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I am going to cover my 3 week drive across Vietnam on a motorcycle over a couple of posts with all the pictures from along the way, I hope you enjoy it!

Riding a motorcycle across ​Vietnam has become a backpackers tradition in the last 30 years for good reason, it's an amazing way to experience the culture while avoiding a lot of the tourist pitfalls. The ride is dangerous, dirty, and utterly exhausting but in all my travels I have never had a more exhilarating adventure and I cannot recommend it enough. The traffic is horrendous and the days can be long and hot but having the ability to stop in small towns and villages along the way and enjoy authentic food and meet the locals is what makes this adventure so unforgettable. With all that being said, let's get into the specifics.

IMG_8729.JPG
One of the many beautiful views along the way.

The Route.PNG
This was the route I took and I will cover all the stops over the next few posts.

Where to Start

There are a few things you will need to take care of before you leave on your journey in order to make sure you stay safe.

  1. International Driving Permit (IDP) - Vietnam does recognize the IDP and if you are caught without one you will be forced to pay off the police.

  2. Travel Insurance for Motorcycles - This is not standard for travel insurance, most do not include motorcycles so make sure to find a good policy

  3. Any Riding Gear - ​Vietnam has extremely lax safety laws when it comes to bikes, the only requirement to ride is a helmet. However there are no safety standards for helmets so the quality of the helmets are very poor. When I bought my bike, it included two bicycle helmets that had chipped foams and no plastic, so bringing one from your home country is definitely a good idea.

IMG_8210.JPG
I had to look for a few hours to find quality helmets in Hanoi but they turned out pretty well

Buying the Bike

Buying a motorcycle in ​Vietnam as a foreigner has become an incredibly simple process in recent years and there is a whole industry devoted to just this type of trip. You have three options:

  1. Take a Tour - There are many agencies that will lead you on a guided trip across the country or just for small trips around the tourist hot spots. It's a bit expensive but definitely a safer alternative to jumping into traffic yourself. In ​Da Nang I also saw people taking rides on the back of a big motorcycle through the mountains which I am sure would be fun as well.

  2. Rent a bike - There are a lot of companies that will rent a bike in ​Ho Chi Minh City to be returned in ​Hanoi. The price is higher but the bikes are new and less likely to need repairs.

  3. Buy a new bike - You can also buy a brand new bike for around $1000USD and have the same assurances as renting but as soon as you leave the resale value drops fast.

  4. Buy a used bike - This is what I did and I really recommend it, I bought my bike from a shop in Hanoi with luggage racks, phone holder, bungee cords etc... for only $225USD after negotiation. I spent a few more dollars on repairs along the way but the value of the bike remains and you will be able to sell it for near the same price. You can also buy a bike from another backpacker, there are a lot for sale outside every hostel.

The Bike.JPG
The used Honda Win I picked up after a few days of looking in Hanoi.

When you buy the bike be sure to take a good look top to bottom to check for any obvious damage and make sure the bike comes with a blue card. This is the registration card and if you don't have it you cannot resell the bike later. Okay, enough of the planning, let's get to the trip.

IMG_8186.JPG
The mad traffic of Hanoi, it looks crazy but there is a method to the madness, I promise.

Day 1 - Hanoi to Mai Chau

The classic route starts in ​Ho Chi Minh City and ends in ​Hanoi, but I was traveling near the beginning of rainy season in the north so I opted to get out of the north before it came. The ride to ​Mai Châu started off completely terrifying! Hanoi has some of the most insane traffic I have ever experienced but once you get out of the city the ride is quiet and beautiful. It takes about 4 hours to get there on a really smooth road through some small mountains. ​Mai Châu is a quiet little farming village that is really quite beautiful, you can spend your time walking through the village and seeing the beautiful sites that surround the village. ​Mai Châu has a few hotels but the main draw there is home stays, I stayed at the Mai Chau Family Home stay, the food was amazing and the family treated me like one of their own.

IMG_8242.JPG
The rice fields of Mai Chau.

IMG_8235.JPG
A market in between all the homestays in Mai Chau.

IMG_8244.JPG
The dinner we had at the homestay in Mai Chau.

IMG_8272.JPG
We stopped at a waterfall for a swim on the way out of town the next day, it was beautiful and the water was just right.

I will continue the journey in the next post and will complete the whole trip in 3 or 4 posts total so if it's something you are interested in then watch over the next few days. If you like this type of post then check out my other posts @travelstheworld and thanks for reading!

DQmWGd6YRPh2M3rdUSnthQMcGWLUHPsCE5bnRg6zpJBz5Gn.gif

Sort:  

its really amazing to see you travel my beloved country on a motorbike. As a Vietnamese, I personally think the best way to explore my country is on motorbike. Hopefully you have a good time in Vietnam :)

@nguyenhavy My girlfriend and I were just talking about how Vietnam was by far our favorite place to travel. Spending three weeks on a motorbike exploring it is the most rewarding experience I have. Thanks for reading!

happy that you enjoyed it :) I read some negative comments from foreign travellers about my country. But i believe when people go beyond tourist track by motorbike, they will see real beautiful Vietnam :)

Yes I heard quite a few negative stories as well but I hope I can change some minds in my future posts because Vietnam really is an amazing country.

Thank you. I will follow every your travel around the world ;)

It's really amazing to drive thought Vietnam on a motorbike 🛵. Good job

Awesome post @travelstheworld, you've got a lot of good info here. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Thanks! Ok I have added it to the map, I will try to add all my posts from now on, thanks for the info!

Awesome. Your posts are an asset to the map!

Amazing!! Hoping to do this shortly after we tour Thailand, Laos and Cambodia, and will follow you closely! We hope to buy one bike each, and drive through Vietnam just like your map!
Good luck with your travels and stay safe!!

Well you definitely should make the trip! I have traveled in a lot of countries and traveling by motorcycle is absolutely the best way to do it, it allows you to see so many places you would normally miss. Thanks for reading!

Sounds like a great trip! The traffic at those large crossings in the cities really looks crazy. How does that work without signs and traffic lights?

It was a great trip! Honestly, I was so nervous to get into that mess but the guy who sold me the bike told me "Be careful but NEVER stop completely, just slow down and work your way through, stopping is death, you will never get going again" and it was the best advice I got. Everyone just watches everyone else and just goes in a completely organic way, it all just works, but that being said it took me the better part of a week driving before I stopped sweating and got comfortable. The Vietnamese are amazing drivers.

Well selection, great deals. Carry on. Best of luck.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelstheworld
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=riding-a-motorcycle-across-vietnam-my-experience-part-1


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04