Attempting to Climb a Volcano in Ecuador

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

When I was in Ecuador in early 2017 I met a pair of American medical students who were visiting to attempt to summit Tungurahua Volcano in Baños, Ecuador. I met the two of them in the hostel I was staying at and they were doing a work study in a village hospital about 50km away and in there off time they were going to all the local mountains to train for an attempt to summit Cotopaxi (large volcano) just before they left the country. I was really inspired by their plan and asked if I could tag along and they said I could so we made our plans to leave the next day.

refugio.jpg

The view from the Refugio over the valley.

The Plan

After we were packed we spoke with the owner of the hostel and he agreed to drive us from the hostel to the gate to the park, although he continually told us not to attempt to summit the volcano as it is very dangerous and still active. He also told us of the last eruption that occurred and displaced all the residents of Baños for several months; however this did nothing to deter my new friends so we went on as planned. After we were dropped off we set off into the park following this rough plan:

  • Drive to the gate of the park
  • Hike from the gate to the refugio ( A small building near the summit of the mountain used for camping and allows for an early morning ascent) and spend the night
  • Rise at 6am and attempt to summit the volcano
  • Hike back down and hitchhike back to town

IMG_20170203_110124422_HDR.jpg

The cornfields and the impending bad weather by the gate to the park.

DSC00474.JPG

The summit of Tungurahua

The Hike and a Night on the Volcano

The hike from the gate to the refugio was about 8km and an increase of about 1500m in altitude so it wasn’t insanely difficult but it wasn’t easy either. The trail was muddy and wet and it was constantly raining for the few hours we were hiking but we made our way and arrived at the refugio a few hours later. The weather cleared up and we had a beautiful evening on the side of the volcano. Another pair of hikers showed up in the evening to stay the night and we all ate a nice meal together. They had hiked all the way up from Baños and were just going to spend the night at the refugio and hike back down the following day, they spent the night drinking whiskey and we all told travel stories and about how we all ended up on the side of this volcano on that night.

ImpishAdmirableCowbird-size_restricted.gif

The trail was slippery and muddy.

DSC00483.JPG

The summit was encased in fog when we arrived at the refugio... not a good sign.

The next day, the doctors and I got up and headed out to try and attempt the summit despite the fact that the weather had turned during the night. The start of the hike was slow as we broke the tree line and we tried to find the best route to the top. Once we were out of the trees the visibility was down to a few meters and we were effectively walking blind up the side of the volcano in the fog. We continued up for a few hundred meters and found the old gate house from before the last eruption and it was at this point I decided to turn back while the doctors continued on, I told them I would wait at the refugio until they came down. I made this choice for a very important reason I learned from a friend long ago in the Canadian Rockies:

Getting to the bottom of a mountain is always more important than getting to the top!

16487265_198395500636773_3224364064351061047_o.jpg

Very upset to be turning around.

ForsakenAcrobaticEkaltadeta-size_restricted.gif

I spent a minute warming up in the old gate house, I was soaked and freezing by this point

GOPR0153.JPG

Another shot in the fog.

Visibility was very low and getting worse and I didn’t want to go on and risk getting lost in the fog and not finding the trail back down. I wasn’t happy about it but I made my way back to the refugio and I spent an hour or so having coffee with the other hikers before the doctors turned up too. They went a few hundred meters further and gave up for the same reason I did and they headed back down. We made our way back down the trail and after walking a few kilometers down the road we paid a pickup truck driver to let us hop in the back for $1USD and he drove us back to Baños.
We went back to the hostel and got cleaned up and had a quick meal before we headed our separate ways like travelers do but I will always remember the attempt we made together and the risks we took. I have since learned that when the locals tell you it is not safe to do something, you should always listen and not make foolish decisions. Thanks for reading!

Check Out My Recent Posts

Hiking in the Forests Around Minca, Colombia

Mountain Biking to Devil's Cauldron in Ecuador

Visiting Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre In Borneo

travelstheworld small.gif




Sort:  

Weather is unpredictable in the mountains. Better to go back at the right time than to get in real problems...

Yeah agreed, We were doomed from the start on this hike, it rained the whole way up but the evening was nice weather with new friends in the refugio so it was worth it for me, thanks for reading!

I like your words about getting to the bottom being more important than getting to the top. Glad you made the choice to err on the side of caution. Those photographs capture the conditions so well.

Ya a friend in Canada told me that, I'm pretty sure it's a quote from a famous climber but it's sage advice, people get caught up in the accomplishment of climbing/hiking and their fear takes a backseat. Thank you for the kind words!

Wow, what a location.

Ya it was quite the place to see, I loved it but I wish the weather had been better! Thanks for reading!

That was a wise choice! Better to do it on another day than never!


Upvoted and resteemed by the @Climbing-Trail!

The @Climbing-Trail is an account dedicated to giving climbing, alpinism and hiking a platform here on Steemit. It is curated by @HaTo.

You can upvote this comment if you like to support the @Climbing-Trail and follow if you want to discover quality content like this on a regular basis!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

This was a beautiful post. I have found myself in similar situations, where you feel forced to turn back as you know it's most likely to dangerous!

I am also a part of @ocd and would love to nominate your post there as well, just let me know on here if you accept!

thanks alot! I definitely accept

Wow that seemed like alot of fun even though the weather looked a bit rough

Ya it was a blast! I had never been up a volcano before that, let alone an active one.

Thats awesome. I lived in El Salvador for a bit (im now in Canada) and they have really cool volcanos. I never been up one but if i go back i will go up the volcano

thats awesome, what brought you to el salvador? You should take some time to explore the Rockies if you are in Canada though, I spent loads of time in those mountains and loved every minute

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelstheworld
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=attempting-to-climb-a-volcano-in-ecuador


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50