My Balkan-Roadtrip 2018: Day Trip to Vitosha Mountains [EN/DE]

in #travel6 years ago

20180502_154916.jpg

Hey guys! As promised, I tell you today about my trip from Sofia to the Vitosha Mountains and what an adventurous day it was! I damaged my car, almost witnessed a tragic accident, almost lost my way in the Bulgarian woods and watched a fight on the open road. But let's start from the beginning.

Hallo Leute! Wie versprochen, erzähle ich euch heute von meinem Ausflug von Sofia ins Witoschagebirge. Was war das für ein abenteuerlicher Tag! Ich habe mein Auto beschädigt, wurde fast Zeuge eines tragischen Unglücks, verlief mich fast in den bulgarischen Wäldern und konnte eine Schlägerei auf offener Straße live mitverfolgen. Aber fangen wir von vorne an.

20180502_164914.jpg

First I overslept breakfast and when I parked out of the narrow hotel parking lot it happened. I was inattentive for just a second and immediately I was touching a road sign. You can see the result here. Fortunately, my car is already 10 years old and not worth much anymore. It's not the first scratch either, so although something like that has never happened to me before and I was very annoyed at that moment, I can already see it quite relaxed now.

Es fing schon damit an, dass ich das Frühstück verschlief und beim Ausparken aus dem engen Hotelparkplatz passierte es dann. Ich war für einen kurzen Augenblick unaufmerksam und schon streifte ich ein Straßenschild. Das Ergebnis seht ihr hier. Zum Glück ist mein Auto schon 10 Jahre alt und ohnehin nicht mehr viel wert. Es ist auch nicht der erste Kratzer, also obwohl ich mich in diesem Moment natürlich fürchterlich ärgerte, da mir sowas noch nie passiert ist, sehe ich es jetzt schon recht entspannt.

20180502_130618.jpg

So in a bad mood I started my ride to the Vitosha Mountains. My first stop was the TV tower "Kopitoto", that offers a brillant view of the Bulgarian capital. To my surprise, however, this place is totally abandoned and a bit creepy. I found warning signs in Cyrillic, chained guard dogs and the ruins of a cable car station. Apart from three young guys who secretly drank and smoked there, I was even the only visitor. So after a few shots I went on quickly.

20180502_130207.jpg

Schlecht gelaunt machte ich mich also auf den Weg ins Witoschagebirge. Mein erster Stop war der Fernsehturm "Kopitoto", der eine herrliche Aussicht auf die bulgarische Hauptstadt bietet. Zu meiner Überraschung ist dieser Ort jedoch total verlassen und etwas gruselig. Ich fand Warnhinweise auf kyrillisch, angekettete Wachhunde und die Ruine einer Seilbahnstation vor. Außer drei Jugendlichen, die dort heimlich tranken und rauchten, war ich auch der einzige Besucher. Also ging es nach ein paar Fotos rasch weiter.

20180504_103645.jpg

Have you ever seen a river of stones? The so-called "Golden Bridges" belong to the most famous sights of these mountains. It is hard to believe that this avalanche of huge, rounded boulders originated naturally. I was really impressed.

20180502_133117.jpg

Habt ihr schon mal einen Fluss aus Steinen gesehen? Die sogenannten "Golden Bridges" gehören zu den bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten des Gebirges. Kaum zu glauben, dass diese Lawine aus riesigen, rundgeschliffenen Felsbrocken, natürlich entstanden ist. Ich war wirklich beeindruckt.

20180502_135235.jpg

Lunch was next on the agenda. Fortunately, there was a small hotel and restaurant nearby. After being ignored for 15 minutes as the only guest, I went to the bar and asked if I could order something. The owner was anything but enthusiastic about the fact that I also wanted something to eat and offered me first only a soup. Finally we could agree on a piece of grilled chicken with fries 😉

20180502_144651.jpg

Als nächstes stand das Mittagessen auf dem Programm. Zum Glück gab es in der Nähe ein kleines Hotel mit Restaurant. Nachdem ich als einziger Gast erstmal eine Viertelstunde ignoriert wurde, ging ich zur Theke und fragte, ob ich denn etwas bestellen dürfte. Der Wirt war alles andere als begeistert davon, dass ich auch etwas essen wollte und bot mir zuerst nur eine Suppe an. Schließlich konnten wir uns dann doch auf ein Stück gegrilltes Hühnerfleisch mit Pommes einigen 😉

20180502_151215.jpg

Over bumpy roads, full of potholes I went to the highlight of my trip, the Boyana Waterfall. I knew in advance that you can' t get there by car, but have to follow a hiking trail, but I wasn't aware of how exhausting and steep it is.

Über holprige Straßen, voller Schlaglöcher ging es dann zum Highlight meines Ausflugs, dem Boyana Wasserfall. Ich wußte schon vorab, dass man mit dem Auto nicht ganz hin kommt, sondern einem Wanderweg folgen muss. Wie anstrengend und steil dieser ist, war mir jedoch nich bewusst.

20180502_140547.jpg

Along the mountain stream I found again and again smaller waterfalls and shot some long exposures, which did not become so bad at first sight at all.

Den Gebirgsbach entlang fand ich immer wieder kleinere Wasserfälle und schoss einige Langzeitbelichtungen, die auf den ersten Blick gar nicht mal so schlecht geworden sind.

20180502_153511.jpg

Soon the path became more and more difficult to see and sometimes even fallen trees were in the way.

Bald wurde der Pfad immer schwieriger zu erkennen und es lagen teilweise sogar umgestürzte Bäume im Weg.

20180502_154342.jpg

Finally I arrived at the waterfall, really a beautiful place. Here I immediately noticed a few guys crawling around on the rocks to pose for photos. It came as it had to come, one of them fell into the water and was carried away by the current. Shortly before the cliff, he was able to get to the shore somehow. His friends were already panicking. I can tell you, these were scenes, like from an action movie.

Schießlich kam ich beim Wasserfall an, wirklich ein sehr schöner Ort. Hier fielen mir gleich ein paar Typen auf, die auf den Felsen herumkraxelten um für Fotos zu posieren. Es kam wie es kommen musste, einer von ihnen stürze ins Wasser und wurde von der Strömung mitgerissen. Kurz vor dem Abgrund konnte er sich zum Glück noch irgendwie ans Ufer retten. Seine Freunde gerieten schon in Panik. Ich sags euch, das waren wirklich Szenen, wie aus einem Actionfilm.

20180502_154819.jpg

After this shock, I enjoyed the fantastic view of Sofia, which is even more spectacular here than from the TV tower. Then I made my way back.

Nach diesem Schock, genoß ich noch etwas die traumhafte Aussicht auf Sofia, die hier noch spektakulärer ist, als vom Fernsehturm und machte mich dann auf den Rückweg.

20180502_152357.jpg

The descent was already exhausting, but uphill it was of course something completely different and I almost lost my sense of orientation. There were some turnoffs on the path that I didn't even notice on the way down. From time to time I was already quite disoriented, but in the end I found the right way.

Der Abstieg war ja schon anstrengend, aber bergauf war das natürlich nochmal was ganz anderes. Beinahe hätte mich auch noch mein Orientierungssinn verlassen. Es gab auf dem Pfad einige Abzweigungen, die mir auf dem Hinweg gar nicht auffielen. Zwischendurch stand ich schon ziemlich orientierungslos da, aber schlussendlich fand ich dann doch den richtigen Weg.

20180502_164737.jpg

By the way, a thunderstorm came up and when I reached my car, it was already thundering. On the way back to my hotel then, I got into a traffic jam in the city area. A few meters behind me, three guys suddenly got out of their cars and started to fight. What a weird situation. Well, that was a really exciting day...

Ganz nebenbei zog auch ein Gewitter auf und als ich mein Auto erreichte, donnerte es bereits. Auf dem Rückweg zu meinem Hotel geriet ich dann im Stadtgebiet, in einen Stau. Einige Meter hinter mir stiegen plötzlich drei Typen aus ihren Autos aus und begannen sich zu prügeln. Was für eine kuriose Situation. Tja, das war wirklich ein aufregender Tag...

20180503_164510.jpg

Yesterday I continued my road trip with a 500km drive to Novi Sad in Serbia. Today I start to explore the city and will tell you about it in the next days. See you soon! 🙂

20180503_120812.jpg

Gestern habe ich dann meinen Roadtrip mit der knapp 500km langen Etappe ins serbische Novi Sad fortgesetzt. Heute fange ich an, die Stadt zu erkunden und werde euch in den nächsten Tagen davon berichten. Bis bald! 🙂

Yours/Euer
Stefan

Logopit_1516661822149.jpg

Check out my other recent posts:

My Balkan-Roadtrip 2018: Exploring SOFIA (+ my first Steemit Meeting) [EN/DE]

My Balkan-Roadtrip 2018: Matka Canyon & Mount Vodno [EN/DE]

My Balkan-Roadtrip 2018: Arrival in SKOPJE [EN/DE]

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelshots
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-balkan-roadtrip-2018-day-trip-to-vitosha-mountains-en-de


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

sehr schöne Reisebeschreibung und tolle Fotos, alles gute auf deiner weiteren Reise!

Danke dir! 🙂

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Thank you! 🙂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by travelshots from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Such a beautiful place ! I am from Bulgaria normally and i love the mountains there, they are just so beautiful :))

Yes, I definitely wanna come back to Bulgaria to see more of the beautiful nature there, it's so amazing! 🙂

Hi @travelshots! I am fascinated by all your reports, especially the ones from BG, as I am from there. Thanks for the well done work, keep it up! Upvoted!

Thanks a lot, I'm glad that you like it! 🙂 I really wanna visit Bulgaria again, there is so much to explore!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99